We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #71 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average budget hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is an average budget hotel. If you don't mind hearing your neighbors voices and door shutting fairly loudly and if you don't mind some very light stains in your linen, this is the right place for you. It is very conveniently located: close to North Bridge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    453
    196
    77
    63
See reviews for
164
446
166
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel provides a 4/5 star quality accomodation at 2/3 star hotel rates. Hotel is located at the edge of the historic city center (and that is its major drawback), is a residential neighborhood.

Rooms size is excellent, as is room and bathroom cleanliness and attentive service of the desk personnel. As an added bonus, hotel arranged for local pick up for our day trips of Scoltland.

Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarekJarmola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice and charming hotel. The staff was friendy and helpful. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The restaurant near the hotel offered very good Indian food. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Charmant hôtel. Les employés étaient sympathiques et aimables. leschambres sont grandes, propres et comfortables. Le restaurant de l'hôtel offrait de la très bonne nourriture indienne. Nous resterions à nouveau dans cet hôtel sans hésitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Although my friends had booked this hotel, I had checked their website which showed a variety of bedrooms and considered it to be a suitable budget choice for our needs. Our room was inferior in size and style to any of the pictures. It is, in fact, a shabby, dated hotel and I feel that an up-grade is long overdue. Whilst the bathroom was clean on arrival (except for some object which had been left on the floor and which remained there, not picked up for three days), I also noticed that the bath had not been cleaned after our first night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

just spent 2 nights at this very well located hotel, 1st of all its a bit tired and dated, staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the room we were in was in need of a lick of paint but clean, the bathroom was clean smelling and plenty of toiletries. the bed linen was clean, though slightly aged.
the continental breakfast was a little short of variety but decent enough.
overall for what we paid it was good value and would use it again.

Room Tip: great for playhouse area/leith side although a 10 minute walk to rose street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimb061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Began Scotland tour here and ended one week later here. First impression was poor. Room was of low quality. Dirty carpets, terrible bathroom. Bathroom sink had a bad leak. One week later there was improvement. The second visit we stayed in a room with a remodeled bathroom. It was a big improvement. The carpet was a bit better and the room seemed a bit cleaner overall. I would rate the first room poor and the second one average. However, I must admit that we probably got a good deal on the price since we were located in city center within easy walking distance of everything. The food was plentiful and adequate and the staff was friendly enough. Decent bar and lounge. This is the kind of hotel that you could grow to enjoy if you are budget conscious. However, if you are looking for a 4 or 5 star in Edinburgh this is not the place. But you will pay much much more for those properties then the Cairn.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Booked this hotel initially because I wanted somewhere within easy reach of Princes St and the surrounding attractions, and many of the more expensive hotels were fully booked.
As I knew myself and my friends would be out all day and most of the evenings, all we needed was a base to sleep and shower etc - so we took a chance!
It paid off. The public areas of the hotel ARE shabby and the carpet in my single room was pretty ropey looking but the bathroom was spotless and the bed linen was lovely and fresh. The room was serviced each day and fresh towels and bathmat were laid out. Basic toiletries were also provided (shampoo, shower gel, small soap, shower cap and shoe-shine sponge)
The girls who did the rooms were lovely.

We didn't have the £5 breakfast but a couple of friends who did - it was included in their booking - said it was pretty rubbish. For the same price you can get a good breakfast at Frankie & Benny's in the Omni 5 mins walk away.
The hotel is only 10 mins or so from Princes St/Waverly Station.
Taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced - we used them a lot as the weather was awful and sometimes the rthought of even a short walk was too much to contemplate!

All in all we (the 10 of us who stayed) felt it was good value for money especially if all you want is a place to sleep and freshen up. My room, a single, was pretty small but the family rooms - which a couple who travelled with us had - was huge with a double and two single beds.

If you can ignore the lack of TLC and the shabbyness of some parts of the hotel, then I would say stay here. I will certainly use it as a base for an Edinburgh visit in the future.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the breakfast here - go to a coffee shop etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corsicacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#76 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing