We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We didn't want to spend a lot over a weekend in Edinburgh as we knew we would be out and about and not spend much time in the room. The location is good - short walk to Waverly St and Princes St and the area is safe (I've lived in Edinburgh before). The rooms were clean, the shower had good pressure and the beds were comfy. There is tea/coffee and yummy short bread in the room and it also had a flat screen TV. It is a really good choice if you are looking for a budget hotel in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shodo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
There are newer reviews for Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We visited Scotland in 2007 and I must say that we chose a very bad hotel in all respects
Hotel looks nice from the outside, but everything is exactly inside a hotel naopak.This would prefer renamed the hostel because the quality of accommodation is very poor.
Prevails whether Polish community there and obviously you do what does contemporary man prefer
definitely will visit this city again, but this hotel NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Yes, as reviewed by others the rooms are extremely tiny, however, our rooms 209 and 319 (stayed on different occasions) were clean and bright. The bedding is pristine and the window can be opened although we had to wedge it up.......well, sash windows, eh? Bathroom is very small but there again very clean and with good lighting. Our ground floor room was quieter than upper floor but this room was slightly larger. Overall very good value for money, in a super location in a wonderful city. Didn't take breakfast.

Room Tip: I asked if all rooms were same size and reply was 'yes'. But our upper floor room was defin...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is in a great location at the bottom of Calton Hill and is about 15-20mins walking distance to the Palace at Holyrood House and The Royal Mile. It was clean and the staff were friendly enough, however the hotel decor could use a serious overhaul and our first room on the ground floor was very small and smelt rather mouldy (we were able to change rooms and the second room had no such smell). There are no safes in any of the rooms, and when we inquired about a safe place to store our laptops and passports the front desk staff advised us that they could hold our passports for us but that if we had a lock on one of our suitcases we should just store our other valuables in that case in our room which we weren't all that happy about. I think the price is ok for what you get, although it generally doesn't include breakfast, and my husband and I ended up changing accommodations after a couple of nights to a B&B as I felt that for a small increase in price we got much better accommodations that also included breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our room was comfortable and spacious and a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekend_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good value for money. Breakfast was nice and plentiful, easy walk to princes st and main attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison18jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel was easy to walk to from the train station. Staff were friendly and reception manned 24/7. We booked a double and stayed in a large triple room (double + single), room was clean and the bathroom was very modern with a powerful shower. Decor in the bedroom slightly outdated with a few crack, but nothing major. Perfect for a budget city break. Pre-booked the continental breakfast, at £2 each, nothing fancy but wouldn't have expected anything else

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
838 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,994 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $79 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing