We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet overnight stay in ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #122 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here as a bed for the night after the One Direction concert at Murrayfield. Literally arrived half an hour before having to leave again, then slept and left before breakfast to catch the early train back in time for school, so can't comment on the food!
However, the staff were very accommodating and ensured the room we had was easily accessible for me on crutches. The hotel has some rooms across the road from the main body of the hotel, and this was where we stayed. It was peaceful overnight, and a lovely modern room, whilst retaining some features of a beautiful old building. The beds were clean and comfortable and the room spacious. The modern bathroom didn't leave much space for personal items, not a problem overnight though, and was spotless. The bedroom however, did have a noticeable layer of dust around the television and picture frames, giving the impression only the obvious places had been cleaned properly; not quite the standard I'd expect from a Hilton.
The location is excellent, just a few hundred yards from Waverley and the tram stop, yet in a fairly quiet street. It would be an ideal base for a city break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchie_family7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Ritchie_family7,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and highlighted the team as being friendly and helpful.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again on your next Edinburgh visit.

Kind Regards,

Ash Singh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my 6 year old daughter on the night of the One Direction Concert and could not fault it. Our room was lovely, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the dinner and breakfast were superb. Would love to stay in this lovely hotel again. Very handy for Edinburgh city centre and across the road from Haymarket station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColetteO182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear ColetteO182
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that the location of our property met your needs and you enjoyed the breakfast served.
I will ensure your review is shared with the team.

Best Wishes,

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel whilst attending a conference there and were very happy indeed with the standard of accommodation. The room was comfortable and the streets were very quiet. Easy access to transport, only a short walk from Haymarket Station and buses and trams running all the time at the top of the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that your stay was enjoyable and our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.
Our endeavour is to ensure each guest can count on us for 100 % satisfaction during their stay and I am glad to see we have been able to achieve it .
As you captured beautifully, the team at the hotel is always striving to personalize guest experiences and I am certain your feedback will further motivate them further to continue on this journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Ash Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We took a chance on the "secret hotel" and got the Hilton Grosvenor for the weekend. £236 for 3 nights.
We stayed over the road from the main hotel in room 51. Although it is below the road by 10 feet or so the room was very large with good natural lighting.
The staff, especially Evia on reception were excellent. The location is great as it's only a flat 10 minute walk to the main shops and castle.
Two things to note. There is very limited street car parking and the main car park is a good 10 minute walk away. It costs £24:10 for 24 hours. The hotel does offer a free taxi to pick you up or drop you off to the car. Secondly there is no sky sports in the rooms, but it is shown in the bar! Beware!!

Room Tip: Stay across the road as main hotel may be a bit noises over the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am pleased that you found our location suitable to your travel needs and enjoyed the experience with us.
I also take great pride when I read individual team members being mentioned in these reviews as it shows they have made a lasting impression for our guests, and I will ensure your review is shared with the team who will be delighted to read it.

I hope you choose Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor for your next trip to city.

Best Wishes
Ash Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel is in a fantastic location is a 2 minute walk from Haymarket station and a 10 minute walk from Edinburgh Castle and Grass market. We had a very nice room, however as the hotel is quite old the rooms didnt have individual air conditioning units which meant our hotel was extremely hot all night long. We kept the window open but this meant we got the street noise, which could be a little noisy as there was a wedding going on downstairs. Overall we had a good stay and I would happily stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tarra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We sincerely appreciate you for taking out time to write this review.

Entire team is ecstatic to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation will definitely inspire the team to continue to deliver their best.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

very welcoming, professional and quiet location. very enjoyable experience. would definately recommend for a quite weekend away. Free Wi-Fi in room, we were on the second floor. Iron and ironing board, premium on demand films if you want to pay for them. overall very good, close to town although parking £24 for 24 hours and 10 mins walk from hotel although free car pick from hotel is a good service

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.
I am deighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I will ensure your review is shared with the team here.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were a little concerned about staying here after reading a couple of tripadvisor reviews, but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff upgraded us for free to a large corner suite, which was nice. It did have a bit of an odd smell but not enough to make a difference (it's an old and quirky building, which lends to its charm in our view). When one of the rooms we had reserved had one bed instead of the two we requested, the staff immediately rectified the situation, then sent up a lovely tray of cookies, chocolate, and strawberries with an apology. The delicious, abundant breakfast is complimentary for Hilton Honors members. The staff was excellent, and truly made the difference in our experience: friendly, helpful front desk personnel, and attentive, well-trained wait staff in the restaurant. Good location, just a short walk to the city center. I would recommend that guests request one of the larger rooms to avoid the issues mentioned in previous reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyfulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear beckyfulcher ,

We sincerely appreciate you for taking out time to write this review. Entire team is delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your kind words of appreciation will definitely inspire the team to continue to deliver their best.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

Best Regards,

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 151 in Edinburgh
851 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing