We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expect from a Hilton property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #118 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bavaria, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not what we expect from a Hilton property”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. The location is good. Across from the train station and a 2 minute walk from the airport bus. The hotel is a refurbished old building and our room 130 had an odd odor which we could not pinpoint. This required we leave the window open which was fine as the temperatures were mild. The room was clean, bed very comfortable, good quality linens, and down pillows. The water pressure was poor and the bathroom had a leaking toilet.
Staff were all friendly and courteous. Breakfast was very good with a large selection and reasonable price. We had a street facing room but due to construction there was minimal automobile traffic so sound was not an issue.

We stayed at another Hilton property in Dublin during this trip that was the same price and the Dublin facility was far superior in every way

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you experienced the ‘odd odour’ in room, unfortunately this was emitted from the curtains, after investigation, along with the curtain manufacturer, we have found that once washed the material of the curtains reacts with the detergent used thus causing the odour. We are currently rectifying this issue by re-laundering all curtains once more – I’m sorry this was not corrected before your stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the offerings at breakfast; we take great pride in assuring guests have a large and varied selection to set them up for their day ahead!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    855
    675
    347
    217
See reviews for
265
1,030
183
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our initial booking was in the Townhouse but the room was extremely small with no heating apart from a plug in electric heater and a step ladder was needed to see out of the window. The towel rail was not working and the base of the bed made enough noise to keep most of the hotel up all night.
We were moved into the main hotel but the room was tired and not very clean and the small heater on the wall did not work and was loose and the shower was very poor.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great for accessing the main centre.
Having stayed in many Hilton's before we would think twice before staying again and will not return to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I have taken onboard your comments regarding the heating in the Townhouse annexe; this has baffled me as the townhouse is heated by gas central heating throughout and is always well heated, I am sorry for any discomfort you experienced. I am delighted we had the availability to find you an alternative room.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor for 4 nights over Hogmanay Dec 2012 - Jan 2013. We booked on an advance rate about a year before staying...we expected a good hotel for a 4* Hilton. Unfortunately we were left a little disappointed...when we return to Edinburgh (and we will!) we will definitely look to stay elsewhere.

The location was pretty good - we got the Airlink bus from the Airport to Haymarket - the Haymarket bus stop is a two minute walk around the corner from the hotel...you really can't go wrong! The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the end of Princes Street/Rose Street which we couldn't complain about! As other reviewers have said, the reception area was really nice and the costa coffee/bar area was pleasant (although pricey). The staff on reception were attentive and courteous. Check in time is 2pm although our room was ready when we arrived at approx 11am...great! (Although our friends' room wasn't, so think we were just lucky...or not...)....

...When we went up to our room on the first floor we were both immediately hit by an awful smell which can only be described as smelling like a sewer or blocked drain...it really wasn't nice! We left our bags in the room and then went out for lunch hoping the smell might have subsided when we returned...4 hours later and the smell was still there. We went to reception to complain and were given keys to another room on the second floor which was a little smaller but no smell (no assistance offered to help us move rooms though which would have been appreciated!). To the Receptionist's credit we were given complimentary wifi access throughout the hotel because of the inconvenience with the room (wifi is only free in the reception area) - not bad considering it costs nearly £15 a day! Both rooms were decorated quite simply but had everything you would expect...a little more attention to dusting around the TV would have been good! The bathroom was quite sizeable although starting to look a little tired. The heater in the bedroom didn't work so there was a little portable heater in the room which was quite efficient.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the quality of the food/restaurant. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel/on the way into the centre...we never found finding something to eat at a reasonable price a problem!

One of the main reasons for booking this hotel for us was because it supposedly had access to the leisure facilities/swimming pool at the other Hilton Hotel. However, when we asked about this at reception (as we wanted to relax on New Years' Day) we were told that we could try but as the other hotel was now a Waldorf Astoria it was frowned upon for guests of the Hilton Grosvenor to go there...the Receptionist advised that others had been turned away (despite the hotel still being owned by the Hilton group!)...No apology for this, just a bit of a 'that's how it is'!...Brilliant...we would have stayed elsewhere had we known this!

An overpriced 4* hotel - a 3* at best for us...we would definitely choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.

I am sorry that your stay was not as you expected. Thank you for your comments regarding our reception team. I am delighted you were able to check in earlier that the normal time of 3pm.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you experienced the ‘odd odour’ in room, unfortunately this was emitted from the curtains, after investigation, along with the curtain manufacturer, we have found that once washed the material of the curtains reacts with the detergent used thus causing the odour. We are in the process of laundering all sets of curtains once more as we have found an alternative detergent that does not react in this way.

Unfortunately since the re-brand of the Caledonian to a Waldorf property, guests of the Grosvenor can no longer have access to the leisure facilities, I am sorry for any disappointment experience due to this.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was very nice the reception area smart, bar and restaurant nice also however our room was very tired, dated and dirty. The room was dusty and somewhat unclean, the bathroom was very old and of a poor standard, peeling dirty grout, leaking shower and dirty corners. Not at all what you would expect from a 4 star hotel especially a Hilton in a vibrant city. Then to be charged twice upon our return home made matters worse.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.

I am sorry for the disappointment you experienced during your recent visit. I am glad you found the public areas to give pleasant ambience, I am sorry that the room was not as you expected. I must assure you that this is not our normal standards. If I were to offer you reasons for the shortfall in our standards they would merely be excuses and frankly I am not prepared to do that. We are in a people industry and regretfully from time to time things do go wrong, albeit not often here. I am sorry that we let you down.

I also note your comment regarding billing; I am sorry for the inconvenience caused, I will discuss your feedback with the Front Office team to ensure there is no recurrence.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

No doubt there is a bigger and better Hilton up the road but for a more reasonably priced stay this Hilton is worth a look. I have often wondered what the Grosvenor was like and thought it might be a bit down at heel but was pleasantly surprised.

I booked a very budget single room for a night before flying. (Airport Hilton had some laughable room rate). I was very very pleased with my single room which while smaller was more than ok. It had a double bed for a start.

All the linen and toiletries were usual Hilton top quality.

I thought location was good too. Close to the centre. Right by Haymarket Rail station and once /if??? the eight wonder of the world - the Airport Tram is finished it is ideal for that too. This is quite a nice part of the city. The hotel is a stones throw from the cathedral and situated in a nice street.

My only negative was the checking which was being done by one poor girl with many people all wanting to check in.

I'd definitely stay here again. I often see it has reasonable rates. It works for the airport too. A Taxi cost £18 in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I was delighted to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry for any delay you experience during check in, but glad this did not compromise your stay too much.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for all the Hogmanay attractions, within walking distance from Rose Street and George Street which have plenty of bars and a stones throw away from the Princess Street, street party. The staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to help you. As mentioned in earlier reviews the rooms are a little tired but we found them to be very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. We can also recommend the Haymarket Pub across the road, which serves great food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireTresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your New Year celebrations! Thank you for your comments pertaining to our team, they always give 100% when it comes to customer service.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the offerings of our Hilton breakfast – this certainly does set our guests up for their day ahead!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice hotel, heating worked well, was nice and toasty, bed was comfortable, but shower was not brilliant. Not far from Princes Street and the Castle.
Will be better once the tramworks are finished in about a years time as there was noise from 7.00am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekP1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, sorry for any disruption caused to your stay by the Tram works; there is an agreement in place that states any works are to be carried out within set times so that there is minimum disruption to residents around the Haymarket area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
693 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#75 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
574 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing