We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay in newly refurbished townhouse.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay in newly refurbished townhouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the new townhouse section of Hilton Edinburgh. The townhouse is just a short walk across the road from the main reception and well worth it for the original Georgian features of the building. Executive single bedroom was spacious with everything needed for a single traveller including an excellent shower. Breakfast is available in the townhouse but I chose to walk over to the main hotel to enjoy the full breakfast selection including a range of complimentary newspapers and delicious muffins. This hotel is a stones throw from Haymarket station which was ideal for travelling through from Glasgow for a conference. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    796
    628
    323
    196
See reviews for
232
957
177
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

really wonderful hotel
good location in town in grovenor street
secluded and private yet close to action location to visit town restaurant and bars
close to sightseeing such as pubs and castle is not far away to see
great breakfast menu
rooms are comfortable
hotel met high hilton standards in every aspect

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Espergaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for a conference,so in terms of location it was very good. Rooms very small and not enough space to be comfortable. The room also had quite a strange odour which I could not identify. Staff were okay on front desk some more friendly than others. I am not sure whether I would stay there again, perhaps book a better room but price I paid was for a single deluxe was rather expensive. No Internet in rooms unless you paid.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms if you can afford to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 4 night. Found this hotel as part of a deal (flight + hotel). Could not have been better. Nice and clean rooms. Comfertable bed. More than enough choice during breakfast. Perfecly located, walking distance, to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28blackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked this hotel to use our tesco vouchers as we couldnt get hilton in glasgow or the marriott in glasgow which were our first choice and our dates were limited. Having read some reports on trip advisor I was a bit worried so decided to upgrade to a double deluxe. Room was spacious, clean, quiet, bathroom was spacious and lovely, more traditional than ultra modern but lovely. Breakfast was excellent although typical of some buffet style breakfasts in that the food could have been slightly warmer. All hotel staff were friendly, warm and helpful. Noted one comment about no free water in rooms, we had large bottle when we first arrived in room and this was replaced by two smaller bottles the following morning. All in all a lovely weekend in a lovely hotel, Only gripe, we were on 3rd floor and water pressure for having a shower wasnt great, however lovely hot water for a relaxing soak in the bath!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here one evening for a company function. The hotel is a quaint Georgian style building, although it's actually set across 2 separate buildings on opposite sides of the street.
Overall, I found the decor a bit tired and in need of some TLC. The staff were all friendly and the service is good. The price of drinks are a little steep, but not outrageous for an Edinburgh hotel.

One thing of concern was the smell in the room. The room was by no means grubby, but there was a very strong odour which we managed to track to the curtains. It's very noticeable when you first enter the room, but it fades from your senses after 5 minutes. Had we been staying longer, I would likely have asked for another room, but conversations with colleagues leads me to believe that other rooms have a similar odour. But like I said, definietly not dirty.

The shower had a good water pressure with well stocked toiletries and the Hilton breakfast is always impressive.

The hotel location is on the west side of the city centre, practically right across the street from Haymarket train station and just a 10 minute walk to Prince Street, so it's well located.

It's a decent hotel for a weekend city break in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here in a standard room which overlooked back gardens and was very peaceful. I was in the Town House and apart from the inconvenience of crossing the road in the rain (it never stopped!) I thought it was very good. Having continental breakfast in the Townhouse as an option as well as the full English in the main hotel was useful. The rooms are spacious although I agree the bathroom is a little small and I don't see the appeal of these bowl like basins! All very modern, comfortable and clean. The functions rooms were fit for purpose. My main memory is the guy serving the cooked breakfast. When I said I was vegetarian he went off to get freshly cooked veggie sausages from the kitchen. Service with a smile. All the staff were eager to please. This is a corporate chain hotel but it's not impersonal. A great base to see this fantastic city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmatisse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing