We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Decent location. Facilities standard. However the service is very bad. Very slow in coming to you, then they didn't seem to know what they're doing.
I complained about the creaky bed, woke me up every time we moved, and there was no recognition or care that this had happened. They didn't even look at me on reception, and this was the duty manager!
I would advise going somewhere else from a service point of view. All other facilities were standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tildenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 2,776 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to stay at the Hilton Grosvenor for my first trip to Edinburgh. It was £270 for 2 nights.

We arrived at 10pm on the friday and went to the bar for a late night snack. We ordered a sandwich and a side of onion rings...which took over 50 mins to arrive. After 40 mins of waiting, the server apologised for the wait and said it was due to a big function the hotel was holding. However, they did give us 2 complimentary drinks to compensate the long wait.

The room smelled musty and the twin beds pushed together were like camper beds with wheels, which kept rolling apart when we moved in our sleep. The room was very hot with no air conditioning, and we didn't want to open the window as there were very loud people outside on their nights out.

After a disruptive sleep, we explored Edinburgh the next morning and came back at about 6pm to have a quick rest in our room before going out for dinner. When we arrived to our room, our key cards wouldn't let us in, so we had to go back down to the lobby to rectify it, to which the receptionist apologised for and said "don't know why that's happened"

All in all, for the price we paid, and expecting better from the Hilton brand...this Hilton grosvenor hotel was the only downside to our otherwise perfect weekend in Edinburgh. The only upside to this hotel that is worth mentioning is that all the staff we dealt we're with polite and welcoming.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone and will avoid other Hilton hotels from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Two nights of a string of unpleasant experiences and observations:
Check-in is not until 15:00 and so if one arrives at 14:15 the room really isn’t ready! Hanging around in the lobby bar area after an exhausting trip, trying to catch the attention of a lifeless, totally uninterested waiter who serves an ordered sandwich about 20 minutes later. Furniture uncomfortable, ugly and ancient. A horrid atmosphere.
The room, probably an upgrade due to Silver tier HHonors status (thank god!), has one great feature: It has breathing space. Other rooms (of colleagues) are tiny. Spacious desk space and a working wireless LAN connection that causes no headache during the entire stay.
Heating provided by three plug-in electric radiators without built-in thermostats. The one that does have a thermostat doesn’t work. In October, turning on only one radiator overheats the room quickly. Leaving it turned off, it quickly becomes chilly. Air-conditioning? None.
Queen-size bed, clean and comfortable, but mattress makes squeaky noise at the slightest move. Carpeted floor leaves the impression it is best for one’s feet not to have them touch it.
Bathroom is small but manageable, worthy of a so-so three-star property. Water pressure in the shower/bathtub is intentionally reduced to barely more than a mere trickle. Sink sports the ridiculous antiquated British concept of two faucets that seem to be a foot apart: One is almost burning hot, the other one ice cold. Never heard of mixing bathroom fixtures? (They’ve had those on the continent since the 1970s…)
Due to the fact that my room faced the rear of the building (permitting the view of a really green jungle whose leaves generously covered most of the debris lying about on the ground) I could sleep like a god. My colleague facing the front was awakened at 06:00 by loud construction noise.
Breakfast was the worst ever experienced in any three-or-more-star lodging establishment: Except for one pleasant and helpful young female waitress who kept giggling at all the things she observed were driving guests up the wall, all other staff seemed to suffer the worst day of their lives all together on the same day. At 09:20(!) it was discovered, at the request of a guest, that no margarine, jam or honey had been put out that day. Somebody was always dropping (and breaking) plates and cups by dropping them on the floor. No yoghurt was ever made available; the only dairy product visible was milk.
Ordering a cappuccino drew the warning that “this will take quite a while ‘coz I have to get it from way over there” – and it did. Lovers of English breakfasts probably felt comfortable, at least as far as that range was concerned. But any other breakfast preference was bitterly disappointed. – Although prepaid, the second morning I rather went hungry than to sit in that stress-filled unpleasant hole again!
In all fairness, I should mention that almost all of the front desk staff where efficient, friendly and helpful, all sprinkled with a nice sense of humor.
Would I stay again in this hotel? Only if nothing else were available. I should have shelled out 30 or 40 pounds more and stayed somewhere decent. The Edinburgh Grosvenor Hilton leaves quite a bitter aftertaste – and it can be stated already during the experience. Going through this alone is one thing and can be handled by a weathered business traveler. But something like a romantic weekend or a vacation? Hell, no!

Room Tip: Even first floor (= one up from street level) is fine, but be sure it is is to the back of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paquisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Less that i expected from a hilton hotel.
Next to the Edinburgh-Haymarket train station, but not close to city center (Royal mile).
Surrounding noisy due to construction woks. Room was nothing special. Quite expensive

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My old home town of Edinburgh looked grand in the Autumn Sun, if you ignored the ever present tram works. The airport bus from the Airport to Haymarket was surprisingly easy and cheap, forget the taxi in future and see more from the upstairs seats.

The walk from the Haymarket bus stop, dodging the work barriers, was no more than 5 mins so very handy and the hotel was easy to find,

There for a conference the Hilton "does was it says on the tin" but not much besides. The staff are friendly and deliver the service but the general surroundings are drab and the food poor by the standards of the modern taste. Breakfast is the best by far and the enjoyment is complete by having proper porridge and haggis on the buffet.

I demanded to change rooms due to the first room being over the kitchen ventillation system but that was just me, no actual fault in the room.

Overall a bland uninspiring hotel and certainly not one that lives up to the Hilton brand.

Given the bland food and cafe style of the restaurant I ate out with my brother, who recommended the Indian Cavalry Club around the corner. An excellent spicy meal with lots of variety, I recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't like the one given ask to move. There is an annexe in the "Tower" which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbiejo4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 3D2N and don't really enjoy the hotel stay provider it name is Hilton. The room is so cramp with so big tv cabinet & no window for outside view. Very disappointed with the shower pressure, take very long time to finish a bath. We only enjoy the breakfast very much. Location not so convenience cause of the tram construction going on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank NPC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

classic style hotel, well-suited for business but also for vacation/sightseeing, very close to the Edinburgh-haymarket train station (and surrounding pubs) and also in 5-10 min walking distance to the Edinburgh conference center. During my stay the haymarket region was confusing due to major construction work, but within the hotel everything was nicely quiet. The room had a very large desk, comfortable furniture, and a well-equipped bathroom (except one thing: why does Britain still stick to separate hot and cold water taps, that's so ineffective...). Breakfast was excellent. The service at the reception was a bit varying between some very friendly and some not so helpful people. Internet at the room was quite expensive and even then not working properly. Apart from that, it was a very nice stay for an excellent price (compared with surrounding hotels).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#81 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Hampton by Hilton Edinburgh West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $80 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing