We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving all the time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've stayed at the Hilton Grosvenor several times over the last two years and it has expanded to include the "Townhouse" rooms across the street from the main hotel. The new rooms are clean and well turned out, but on the smaller side i.e. mainly single rooms with a single/double bed - not a problem if you are in/out on business and work in the rooms (always had enough sockets for my laptop and various gadgets), and although they all have internet, they do not support wifi - This is only supported in the main hotel block.

Rooms in the main hotel are clean, but are in need of a sprucing up - small things like creaky floorboards ruin an otherwise pleasant stay. Never had an issue with the showers (like some other reviewers have reported) and I have always found them to have good water pressure and easy to control the temperature. My last stay was in the main hotel block (room 333 - large room with huge bathroom with skylight), and previous stays have been a mix of Townhouse (singles) and main block (doubles) rooms.

I have especially enjoyed some of the larger rooms on the third (top) floor, some of which boast a nice view, but you really need decent weather to benefit from this. The main areas of the hotel are well presented and modern - especially the bar, reception and the restaurant areas. Breakfasts are the usual Hilton fare, albeit with some local specialities, e.g. haggis sausage. A friendly chef is available to cook your eggs to order too.

Service is key to my choosing a hotel again, and the service here is impeccable. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Location is also well placed - close enough to the town centre (5-10 mins walk) with a train station (Haymarket) across the street. I've preferred staying here rather than the hotels close to Princes St as the traffic there is disrupted due to the new tram works, so it is easier to get in/out without the traffic disruptions.

I feel this hotel is a work in progress, and the expansion and investment in the Townhouse section is looking to capture more of the corporate market. Unfortunately, without a corresponding investment in the main hotel block, this will just be a layover stop rather than a destination itself. Pricing is very competitive compared to other hotels near the town centre. I would not recommend this hotel as a romantic getaway for couples, much preferring the local boutique hotels for character (even though they are considerably more expensive).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Townhouse; the Townhouse has always been a part of the hotel facilities and had just undergone a full £1.3 million refurbishment in April 2011. All rooms throughout the hotel vary in size, due to the building originally being townhouses.

Since January 2012, we offer free Wi-Fi access in the public areas of the hotel. Wi-Fi service is available in the bedrooms this is complimentary to our diamond and Gold Hilton Honours members.

I was delighted to read your comments regarding our team here at the Grosvenor, they pride themselves on offering the very best service and I am always glad to see this acknowledged.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,231 - 2,237 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

stayed 25/11/11 for 2 nights room 322, cold bathroom, rubbish shower,grey net curtains ,decor in need of upgrading,windows draughty will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I was here on my own for work and my comments may not apply to guests in couples in double rooms.
There were some nice things about the hotel. the receptionist was welcoming and the buffet. breakfast was surprisingly good even to the extent of having an egg chef frying to order. The sausages were good quality.
The bedroom was dreadful. It was number 10 down a flight of stairs from the ground floor with litle day light. Usually when I book a single room I get a twin or double but this hotel has genuine single rooms. The bed was narrow and very uncomfortable. There was no bed table but I could reach out to a shelf over the pipes. The only method that that could keep the window open was propping it up with the provided bible supplied for this. There was neither light nor light switch over the bed. There was a bottle of warm water provided as an optional extra of £3.95.
Worse than all this was the tiny bathroom. There was a very small shower cubicle with insufficient space to wash properly. The rings of taps were confusing and when trying to adjust the flow I had scalding water all over me. I would have thought Health and Safety should have seen to this. There were no warnings. A couple of good things were that there was free WiFi in the bedroom and an adequate range of toiletries in the bathroom. The value was fair at £84 b&b a night but for a Hilton the quality was just not good enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

It is my second stay at this Hilton Hotel in Edinburgh. Staff at the reception were very nice and helpfull. We were given a room in the premises across the road. Since my last visit, these rooms have been refurbished. There is a lift to get to the different floors, however, for some of the rooms you have to get up another smaller stair before you are in your room.

The room I was in had a king bed and a new shower.

I had breakfast in the main building, when I returned, I noted that there were other hotel guests in a room on the groundfloor eating breakfast.

When we arrived I was given a voucher for a glas of wine or a beer a the bar.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bariloche-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here for one night, after a function in the hotel. Our room ( no.121) was very small and dull with a horrible "view" of the roof and air vents from the kitchens. Storage was limited to one wardrobe and the desk drawers ( would be a worse problem for a longer stay ). There was a radiator and a convector heater in the room, but neither seemed to work. Lighting was poor in the room and bathroom. We were next to the lift, so it was quite noisy. The meal at the function was not great. One member of our party did not receive her main course until about 20 mins after the rest of us. My meal was stone cold on arrival. Breakfast looked nice enough, but the grapefruit was so sour we believed it was off. The waiter did not seem bothered by this when we told him.
All this and the fairly hefty price tag aside, the bed was comfy and this hotel is in an excellent location. 5 mins from Waverly station and about 10 mins stroll from Princes Street. Would have liked more from a Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shkc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review.

The hotel does have varying sizes of rooms due to it being originally townhouses when built in 1860. All rooms are unique in their own style but all are Hilton standard. We do not advertise views, being a city centre hotel we are limited in regards to this. I am sorry you were not truly satisfied with your room allocation, had you made a member of our team aware of this at the time, we would have offer you an alternative room. I have personally been to room 121; both radiators are fully working, I am sorry this may not have been the case at the time of your stay.

We cater for functions all year round and generally receive high praise for the food and service alike, I have taken onboard your comments regarding the experience you encountered an can only but apologise profusely, I can assure you that this is not our normal standard.

I am glad overall that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Had a lovely stay here with my boyfriend for a romantic break. Right away the staff were very helpful and gave us a map and showed us were to go. The room was beautiful with a very comfy bed. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel, both were very good.

I would definetly return

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanzaroteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review.

It was wonderful to read your comments. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Check in excellent, really helpful.
Got a room upgrade due to Gold HHonors which you could tell had been half done the bathroom was new and shiny and clean, the furniture was a mixture of new and old, the bed was massive and comfortable. View from the room was woeful but to be honest didnt matter as it's seems to be always dark in November.
breakfast was good, nice range, had to wait a little to get seated.
it was there 1st day of wi-fi so whilst they were happy to give me the codes and encourage me to use it, the service didnt exist, so hard wired in the bedrooms, hope they iron out the issues.
check out was good and professional.
There is a great restaurant at the end of the road which I ate it, cant remember its name though.
It really is 2 minutes from Haymarket across the road from the station.
I will stay here again if staying in Edinburgh, might not be for those people who want to be in the city centre though

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrogateGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your review.

I am glad we had the availability to upgrade you. We do not advertise views as such, being a city centre hotel we are somewhat limited in this respect.

I am sorry you experienced delays for breakfast; generally guests are seated on arrival, but on occasion when guests come down all at the one time, this can cause slight delays.

I am delighted to say that Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel is up and running and working better than ever, obviously at the time of your stay we suffered teething problems, I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
978 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#81 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Hampton by Hilton Edinburgh West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $77 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing