We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far NOT Hilton standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“By far NOT Hilton standard”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The room in the "townhouse" was never the Hilton standard one is used as their member. The Internet did not work during the whole stay. The bathroom was still dirty and the window even all closed had a gap where the street noise could be heard and wind blew thru it to move the heavy black-out curtains. We turned on the heaters but the radiator valves made such a terrible noise after a while that we had to switch them off again. When checking out, the fellow sent me across the road to the main lobby. Why? He was busy reading sports news on the Internet..... This hotel has great potential. Good location, nice environment but management and rooms / facilities need drastic improvement to reach Hilton levels

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefan_Hutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you were disappointed with your room allocation, the Townhouse building recently undergone a full £1.3 million refurbishment, and boasts some of the best rooms in the hotel.

Internet connectivity throughout the whole hotel has been upgraded to Wi-Fi in all areas.

You were asked to checkout in the main building, as the person in the Townhouse reception was covering and not trained on this procedure, I am sorry this was not communicated to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    840
    657
    338
    210
See reviews for
257
1,001
181
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Having stayed in a lot of hotels across Edinburgh whilst traveling on business, I can confidently say this is the worst one I have ever stayed in.

On previous stays I have been stuck in the 'clubhouse' accommodation which is truly awful. The rooms are dark, dated an very small. Having vowed never to stay again after this experience, I found myself stuck in the hotel once again because of the festival and a shortage of space elsewhere.

Given my experience previously I paid extra to upgrade to one of the deluxe rooms (taking the price to over £200 a night room only)however when I checked in I wasn't told the hotel was over-booked and only standard rooms were available. When I complained the next day the situation was explained but there was no offer of a refund for the extra money the room cost. I was told that because it was booked through BA I would have to follow it up myself and all the could do was offer me another room for the 3rd night.

Overall: rooms very small, decor looks dated, front desk staff not helpful and basic facilities like the lift don't work properly. The food in the bar is however very good. Wouldn't recommend to anyone traveling on business.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n_denn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for your review.

The club building has undergone a full £1.3 million refurbishment and is now the Townhouse. The Townhouse has the best rooms in the hotel.

As with all hotels in Edinburgh during the Festival, rates are higher.

I am sorry we were not able to refund at the time of your stay, our procedure is that we only refund to the card used as payment, as the payment was made via a 3rd party, this is where the refund must be processed from, I am sorry if this was not explained at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed for a wedding reception being held in the hotel. The rooms were tired the bathroom small with fitting loose on the wall.the food for the reception was very good.I paid top dollar as it was the Festival time in Edinburgh but was annoyed when aced for £10 for 24 hrs wifi in the lobby. I went to Mc Donalds where it was free. The staff were apologetic! I stayed in room 106.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomfcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your review.

I have taken onboard your comments regarding room size; our room sizes do vary, due to the property originally being townhouses when built in 1860.

I was delighted to read your feedback on your dining experience, our Food and Beverage teams work really hard to ensure guest are always satisfied.

We are currently in the process of upgrading our internet service, and will be moving to Wi-Fi connection in the later part of the year.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We loved this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly, the room was incredible (high ceilings, lots of detail/character, nice set of amenities), the service was impeccable. It was in a quiet elegant area but an easy walk to the center of things. Breakfast was included and was great. Nice bar with friendly staff. Front desk staff was helpful, knowledgeable, clearly proud to work there, and very engaged. The only caveat is if you don't like to walk, this is probably not the place for you since it is about a mile to the center of town. But we like walking and it was perfect for us. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your review.

It was wonderful to read your comments; being a Georgian property we have bags of character and our location is ideal for transport links and tourist attractions alike.

The Hilton breakfast is a great start to anyone’s day, and our staff go above and beyond on a daily basis to make your stay memorable.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night for business travel and it was lovely and at 73 pound a bargain..and the inlcuded breakfast was to die for. I felt very 'upmarket' staying here...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlelegsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
2,316 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 972 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights during the Edinburgh festival. Originally we were shown to room 317. Unfortunately this was the smallest room I have ever seen. It did not even have a full size double bed and the space was so small that there was only about 5 inches between the edge of the bed and the sharp corner of the desk so at night I could forsee lots of bruises on my legs trying to get to the toilet. We complained and were switched to a room along the corridor which was still fairly small but at least we could move around ok. As the building is listed and we were on the top floor which I assume was where the servants live we only had widows at the top third of the wall. The room was clean and had a full size bath and was in good decorative order. The breakfast was excellent and all of the staff could not do enough to help. We paid £83 per night including breakfast so even though the room was small it was good value for the location and time of year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

As the hotel was originally a series of terraced townhouses when built in 1860, all of our rooms vary in size and are unique in their own style, but are all of Hilton standard. Being a townhouse property, windows do get smaller the higher up the building you are. The hotel does not have ‘servants’ accommodation on any of the floors.

I was delighted to read your comments regarding breakfast and our staff; I never tire of reading the positive feedback.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my husband as it was our 20th wedding anniversary and we wanted to do something special. We arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a very moody receptionist who wasn't helpful and felt like they just wanted to get us out the way as quickly as possible despite the reception not being busy. We were left to struggle over the road to their sister hotel in the poaring rain and when we asked for someone help with our bags we were simply told no one was available.

The hotel over the road was beautifully decorated but the reception staff didn't seem friendly and just sent us to our room.

The room was also decorated nicely but was very very dirty and dusty. The shower screen was covered in water marks with what seemed like left over soap stains on the shower base. The toilet had urine stains on the seat and one of the towels had a large orange stain on it. My husband phoned housekeeping to get the towel replaced which took an hour and when it finally did there was no apology and so much for service with a smile, so far every member of staff has made us feel very unwelcome!! As for the rest of the room it was very dusty and had a damp smell but I suppose the dampness can't be helped although for the money we were paying I would of expected the rooms to be free of damp!

Over all very dissapointed, would certainly not recommend this to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky_gavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for your review.

I am truly sorry for the disappointment caused on your special occasion. I must assure you that this is not our normal service standards; our staff regularly receive high praise for their friendliness and service, we also offer assistance to guests with their luggage as part of the check-in procedure, I am sorry this was not evident during your visit.

Thank you for your comments regarding our Townhouse annexe, this has just undergone a full £1.3 million refurbishment and looks stunning, I have taken onboard your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room, and have discussed these with the Housekeeping team to ensure more care is taken in the future, to ensure the Townhouse remains stunning.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
601 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#47 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing