We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great little find of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Recently stayed one night in this small(ish) Portman hotel in Clermiston Road, above Corstorphine Main Street. Only one side of the road is built up - the side that the hotel is on - the other is woodland. Hotel is on a bus route, easy for taxis and also very simple to find with a private car.
We had a large modern en-suite room on a good rate. There were twin beds, all the things you would expect from a good hotel, tea, coffee, with lots of hot water and clean towels.
Our room was very clean, tidy and comfortable, as was the bathroom.
Noticed that some more luxury items were available on an upgrade basis for an additional £20.
Our room was on the road-side of the hotel, which was rather noisy with the windows open and on a future occasion, would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. There was no air conditioning at the hotel, so it was necessary to have the windows open and hence the traffic noise.
The breakfast was superb, with a huge buffet selection and was most enjoyable. Dominika was extremely helpful in providing a table for four persons, at short notice.
Adele was extremely welcoming and helpful at check-in and check-out and everything was accomplished very smoothly. In fact, we found all the staff we had contact with, very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a large car park on three sides of the hotel, with a fitness centre accessible from the rear of the hotel, as well as through the hotel itself.
We did not use the spa but it certainly looked very well equipped, as did the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear TankermanScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located right next to Corstorphine Hill nature reserve, the largest in Edinburgh and is a very pleasant green space to enjoy. We have ample car parking on site and the very regular number 26 bus service make all parts of the city easily accessible.

Many thanks for commenting upon the comfort and standard of your room and our great Scottish breakfast. Dominika and Adele both sincerely appreciate being given you recognition, it was kind of you to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for a night, to rooms--2 adults, 3 kids. Service at desk was excellent. Also at pool. Indoor pool is quite large, enough to do lap exercise. Bus ride = 25 mins into town for one pound fifty adults, 70 pence for kids. Rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear NEWYORKPROF,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. Our location is very well served by the number 26 bus service which does make us a great choice for getting out and about exploring the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Easy to find hotel with free parking.
Location was great being close to airpor
Staff gave a warm welcome & were friendly.
Good sized room, very clean & tidy. No air conditioning, made room very hot.
Bathroom good size and also very clean.
Enjoyed our stay here.
Happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear RussellKane,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

I am delighted to read that your review. Our leafy suburb location is a great choice for leisure and business travellers alike, all parts of the city are easily accessible. We are very well served by the number 26 bus service. Thank you for commenting upon the friendliness of our staff. The Housekeeping team are best pleased to learn that you appreciated the standard and cleanliness of your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I hate having to give this place a bad review since the staff is so friendly and the rooms are actually nice, clean, and big (minus the fact there is no A/C). I was already annoyed when I arrived that it was so far from the city centre but that's my own fault for not researching properly. The real nail in the coffin were the two fire alarms that went off, one at 330am and another at 7am. Normally I would chalk this up to my bad luck and timing but during evacuation another guest mentioned this has happened frequently in the 2 weeks he's been there! 2 weeks?!? They couldn't get it sorted in 2 weeks?? I couldn't fall back asleep after the first alarm so when the second one went off, I had just fallen back asleep. The result was that I slept in and missed precious hours of touring the city during my short stay. Also, my room card kept demagnetizing and so after every evacuation and every time I left my room, I had to get it redone. It happened about 5 times in my 18 hour stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear ADesai90024,

Naturally I am a little disappointed to read some of your comments. We place fire safety very high on our agenda and take our obligations very seriously. It is the hotel policy to evacuate the building when the alarm sounds in order to implement our emergency procedures and checks. I am sure we can all agree it is always better to be safe than sorry. I fully appreciate that a fire alarm at any time of the day is not convenient and of course wish to offer my apologies.

You state that another guest told you that the fire alarm has been activated frequently in the past two weeks. This is factually incorrect. I do wish that I had been given the opportunity to discuss personally any concerns that you may have had prior to your departure. I would have gladly shared our fire safety management records with you which would confirm this is not the case and any random or erroneous alarm activations are few and far between. Most certainly it is regrettable that there were two activations during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the Capital during my daughters graduation weekend when a Hotel was hard to find. This turned out to be a very enjoyable stay in a very good Hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff, nice clean rooms and excellent leisure facilities .We upgraded for £20 and were surprised at what we got for this. Nice bottle of wine ,chocolates, Dressing gowns and a very nice toilet bag with plentiful supplies. Grounds are well maintained. Bus service into town is very frequent and Bus Stop is only 100 yards from Hotel. Would recommend day tickets for bus ( £3 for adults ). Ate at the Hotel a couple of times and food very good and reasonably priced. Would definitely go back to this Hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear graham h,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would visit us again and recommend the hotel to others, many thanks indeed. Our chefs are also very pleased to read you enjoyed their cooking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A 2 night stay booked at a great offer price through bookings.com earlier in the year. We booked a twin room and received great service from all the staff that we came across. One unfortunate thing was that on the arrival day, it was 28C and we were booked into a relatively small twin room on the first floor to the rear of the hotel. These rooms are above the indoor swimming pool and in the late evening / night we realised that it wasn't going to cool down. Frankly speaking it was unbearably warm, so we had a pretty bad night. We spoke with Ashok on reception and he arranged for us to move room for the second night to a front facing room, which was larger, airier and cooler! The hotel sorted everything without fuss and we couldn't have been happier. Both rooms and bathrooms were both modern, well appointed and clean. We ate 2 buffet breakfasts which were very nice and ate dinner in the restaurant on one occasion. The menu was simple and the food mid-priced. Restaurant staff were very attentive and the food was good. All in all a good experience and if you book well in advance there are opportunities for great value bookings. Would avoid the rooms above the pool in summer months though!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Emguzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Emguzo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. I was most pleased to read that Ashok was able to help you with an alternative room move, I have no doubt he will be best pleased to receive your recognition.

Many thanks for commenting upon the cleanliness and standard of your bedroom and the overall friendliness of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Needed a hotel in Edinburgh during our trip to The British Open Golf. I'm very glad that I booked this one.

Room-spacious, clean and comfy bed.

Food-breakfast is excellent, lovely coffee.

Service-very good. Always willing to help and do the extra.

Recommendations for improvement - ensure that there are newspapers early in the morning for the customers. Also, we stayed in room 58 which is down on the lower level and very last room next to a fire exit. Sort the door out as it makes a noise when staff use it or tell them to be quiet when using it. This door was annoying in the early hours.

Overall, very happy with the stay. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Mr S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at. The team will be best pleased to receive your recognition

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room and our great Scottish breakfast. I do take on board your other comments and will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#111 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,189 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $69 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing