We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed one night on a visit to Edinburgh. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Easy to get into Edinburgh by public transport - only £3.50 for a day pass (£1.50 other than that). Room was big, king sized comfortable bed, view from window was beautiful - we were on 3rd floor. Leisure facilities are excellent, pool, steam room, sauna were great - didn't use the gym - not that energetic! Breakfast was good too, good assortment of foods. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValC1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ValC1006,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel and sharing with us.

We are highly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others. There is no better recommendation than that from a satisfied customer, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    482
    183
    56
    35
See reviews for
255
467
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel is not far from the airport and is about a 12 pound cab ride. It is a good twenty to thirty minute bus ride to the city center depending on traffic and there was road construction going on. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The gym is very nice but should stay open later or open earlier on weekends. The breakfast buffet was just o.k. was not too impressed and even though it was included, opted to eat out for a better variety, however the dinner was very good. Room we had was remodeled but the hallways were a bit outdated and smelled a bit musty. The floors definitely creaked and squeaked as other reviews had said and you could hear people walking by outside the doors and even above you. Beds were very comfortable in my opinion but had to ask for another towel-only one supplied for two of us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBoss29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear SBoss29,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are happy to read that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I do take on board your other comments and will be sure to share these with the team. We would sincerely wish to learn and improve from your valuable feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed over Easter weekend for wedding. Very impressed. Wedding very professionally run. Meal lovely. Rooms very impressive. Very spacious for areasonably priced hotel.Surprised that it really was as central as it had said. Staff helpful, cheerful and friendly. Well done!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Caroline B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

It is most pleasing to read your comments. It sounds like you had a great time celebrating at the wedding. It is also reassuring to find that you were impressed by our hotel, thank you ever so much for your compliments. The team too will be delighted to have had your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St. Annes, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Three miles outside the city and right on the bus route to the heart of Edinburgh. You can't go wrong with this hotel, rooms are huge. The most space we have ever had in a budget hotel with a very comfortable king sized bed and large bathroom. Trouser press and tea and coffee making tray and great views from the large windows. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful. We had dinner too at £12.95 pp for three courses. It was ok not haute cuisine, but perfectly acceptable and good value. Staff were polite and the entire building was very clean and well appointed. We spent three days here in March and had only one issue, the small bedroom safe malfunctioned and wouldn't open. Since our iPad was locked inside, we had to ask for help. The hotel manager couldn't fix it, so they had to call out an engineer. Problem was solved very quickly. A comfortable and pleasurable stay, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: You can't choose a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holistic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear holistic55,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are best pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at. I also note that you would recommend our hotel to others - thank you very much indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed last weekend for 1 night. We had a triple room and it was spacious , very clean and the double bed was massive and really comfortable. The lady (maria) who took my initial booking was very helpful and check-in was prompt and informative. We had the 2 course early bird menu in the restaurant and it was great value for money - food was lovely. Only a minor gripe .. maybe a couple more choices per course. Great value house wine and the staff were really good. ( ive been in hotel management so not always easily pleased !) Great location and bus was only £1.50 and taxi was £10.00. Breakfast was great and plenty of hot food at all times - good value.

Would most definetly stay again and will recommend.

Room Tip: good pool that we didnt get a chance to use. Cost of here and taxis was alot cheaper than staying i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Shazr2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. Marisa was also best pleased to have been given your recognition. Our Chefs too appreciated your comments regarding their cooking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a room for one night. Room was nice and modern but had a slighty bad smell. Bathroom small. Receptionist wasnt that nice, had to wait for her attention. On the end we did enjoy the stay at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel and i think we will give another try to it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90dorothy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear 90dorothy22,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

Naturally I was a little disappointed to read some of your feedback. This is not indicative of our normally high all round praise that we regularly receive. Please accept my apologies if this has taken some of the shine off your stay.

I would welcome a little more detail to some of your comments as I would wish to address anything that is not as expected. It is difficult for me to identify from your review and our system which room you occupied. Please do contact me by email: manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk

I was pleased to read that you would stay with us again and appreciate the opportunity. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Capital Hotel for two nights recently. The staff were very pleasant and cheerie. The room was a bit on the small side and lacked storage space but was adequate. Breakfast was buffet style and was absolutely fine. The hotel is about 3 miles from the city centre but the area is well served by buses. £1.50 single. No 26 is the best one to use. Happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Roy I,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was most pleased to read that you are looking forward to a return visit - quite simply, there no better feedback, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing