We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here 6th April with 10 pals as we were taking in the Celts v Hibs then heading back to edinburgh for a night out.

We had 4 rooms booked but due to us getting to the hotel early on the morning the hotel kindly got us a room ready so we could freshen up and head to the game.

Rooms were fantastic, really big and very well decorated.

After returning from the game we got ready and headed to my aunty's bar next to the capital, The Clermiston Inn, very nice bar.

After a late night we were up and ready for brekky, it was a buffet, £10 but well worth it, absolutely 1st class.

This hotel was superb and the staff are really welcoming and very helpful, what a weekend, 3 points for the hoops and a cracking bevvy with the bhoys

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Ctmazza,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you along with your friends enjoyed your stay with us.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. Our Chefs will no doubt be best pleased to read your comments regarding the hearty Scottish breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    480
    183
    56
    35
See reviews for
254
466
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to Edinburgh for a long weekend. Arrived a bit early, but they let us have our room early. Very helpful receptionist told us they were having two weddings there the first night we were due to stay and put us in a quieter part of the hotel. Was nice and quiet at night. Ate at the hotel on our first evening. The food was very good. Looking at this hotel from the outside you really wouldn't think much of it but it is very nice inside, and as I said, food was fantastic. Swimming pool, steam room and sauna very nice. Daily room service. Not right in the centre of Edinburgh...but this means you don't have the traffic noise etc etc, and literally two minutes walk down the road you can get the bus in to the city for £1.50. Not too far from a few little food shops too. I've been really pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Charlotte M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are most pleased to receive your feedback, it does sound like you had a great time at our hotel and were able to enjoy all of the facilities we offer. Our brigade of Chefs will no doubt be delighted to read that you enjoyed their cooking.

I would certainly agree that the number 26 bus service to and from the city is an excellent way to get out and about exploring Edinburgh.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Out of the way but on bus route that takes you directly to Princes Street. An a la carte Breakfast menu would be good. The only option was to pay for a full buffet which was expensive- however Morrisons is just down the Leith Road

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear YorkshireBrigadier,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

I do take on board your comments and will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights and the hotel was superb. The room was very cosy and the service was excellent. After a busy day exploring Scotland, we had a very good time relaxing in the pool and sauna. A special mention about the hotel staff, they were very friendly and helpful.
We did not eat at the hotel as we found it very expensive and hence cannot comment on food quality.
The only negative we found was the location. The bus stop is right next to the hotel but it takes good 30-45 mins reaching the city centre. And it takes about an hour on a weekday morning which you need to consider if you have an early morning highland explorer tour.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmast123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear bmast123,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your five night stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at, the team here at the hotel will appreciate your recognition, thank you.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked as a late booking through hotel club. £57 for the night family room only.

Hotel is a bit out of the city, but we wanted that. It has a good fitness club attached, with nice pool. You can see its primary use is for functions and weddings. Rooms were clean and presentable.

Downside... Overpriced for average food. Would not recommend.
Receptionist was a bit rude when booking in, spending the first 5 mins saying there was no record of booking, saying they did not deal with hotel club. But found it eventually after more prompting, which was not followed with a genuine apology, the receptionist was not a happy bunny and struggled to crack a welcome smile . remember manners and good service cost nothing! Us as customers demand it and should receive as entry level not as an extra!
Shame as the hotel does have potential, but I would be horrified if I payed the full £100+ for a night, not worth it as a whole experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear E E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

Naturally I was a little disappointed to read some of your comments and would like to offer my personal apologies for any shortcomings in service. In the spirit of understanding and learning from guest feedback I would welcome a little more detail. Please do contact me directly by email: manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk, I would wish to address anything that is not as expected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights to see the sights and visit family. It is a good hotel with excellent facilities about 1/2 hour out of town on the number 26 bus which stops around the corner from the hotel, beware you have to have the correct money on the bus! It is also within walking distance of the zoo.The room was good if a little dated, but had excellent shower. Self service breakfast was very good quality and room had great views around the city. Had drink in the bar which was ok but spoilt by the noise, as there was a wedding going on.Overall certainly not disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloryhornetboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Gloryhornetboy08,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would very much agree that the number 26 bus is a great stress-free way to get in and out of town. Our chefs will be best pleased to learn that you enjoyed their great Scottish breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights here while we visited family in Edinburgh. The hotel is west of the city centre and not far from the airport. We travelled there by train and the excellent 26 bus which takes you right to the hotel from the city centre.
The hotel is quiet, efficient and very comfortable, with the most beautiful views towards the Forth and the Pentland Hills from the dining room, and lovely breakfasts.There are woodland walks nearby on Costorphine Hill and a choice of buses to go further afield.
We shall certainly stay there again next time we go to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greentess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Greentess,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are highly delighted to read that you enjoyed your 7 night stay with us, it does sound like you enjoyed your time. I do note that you would stay with us again, thank you very much, a great compliment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing