We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Bar/Lounge
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Bar/Lounge
      Reviews (2,545)
      Filter reviews
      2,545 results
      Traveler rating
      506
      936
      674
      257
      172
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      506
      936
      674
      257
      172
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsprinces streetscott monumentprivilege roomcastle viewwaverley stationchristmas marketexcellent locationbit datedsuperior roomcentral locationfew minutes walkshort breaklovely roomroyal milehaggisjennersbuses
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      1,512 - 1,517 of 2,545 reviews
      Reviewed June 5, 2014

      The staff were very welcoming and checked us in quickly. We had reserved a superior room with a castle view, which we received with no problems and was well-worth it! Fantastic views out over the Royal Mile. The location is unbeatable and very convenient for all the transport links as well as the sights. Only a few minutes walk from railway station and buses to the airport and zoo. I was expecting the rooms to be a bit noisy, given the city centre location, but if the windows were properly shut, it was not a problem. Personally I didn't find the room too hot, but it is true there wasn't any air con. The bed was very (too?!) comfortable and there was quite a lot of space in the room. No mini fridge though. The bathroom was a bit dated, but everything was clean. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and the buffet was kept topped-up. However, it is rather pricey at £10 each and costs even more if you don't book it a day ahead. I would definitely consider staying here again.

      Room Tip: Go for a superior room on 6th floor with castle view if you can afford it!
      • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Cheshire_Cat19
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

      Dear Guest,

      Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.

      Kind regards,

      James Fraser
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 4, 2014

      We stayed there for 2 nights during the weekend at the beginning of June, we sent an email to the reception to ask for a room on an upper floor in a quiet area and if possible with a castle view as it was my mom's birthday and they replied they made a note of our request. However when we got there the receptionist Carla seemed not to know absolutely anything about the reception work, she was probably a trainee, she was really slow and had to ask her collegue everything. She allocated us a room with a castle view on the 5th floor(as we reminded her about our request of which nobody made any note anyway) but after 5 minutes or so while she was trying to check us in her collegue came and told us that she already allocated that room to somebody else and our room on the 4th floor (474) with an awful back view would only be ready at 4PM, so we just had to walk around for an hour or so and until it would be ready. When we finally got in the room we had an awful view of the back of the hotel and it was really noisy from the fans outside. It was also really hot in that small room and no air conditioning. It looked really shabby and in desperate need of refurbish just like the whole hotel. We used a little fan during the night to keep cool, but it didn't help much, it was still hot and also noisy from the fan and the big fans outside. The pillows were too hard to sleep on, we asked the guy at the reception the next day for a soft pillow and he replied to us that the hotel doesn't have any soft ones as they replaced them all with new ones, all the same.
      The room didn't have any safe neither.
      We dined in the restaurant the 2nd night we were there as they were accepting tastecard and it was ok, nothing special.
      The breakfast was ok as well, but for the extra £10 per person it worths more to go downstairs to the food hall of M&S and eat there, it's better.
      The only good thing about this hotel is the location on Princess Street, very close to the train station and all the landmarks of EDinburgh.
      This was my first time at a Mercure chain hotel and it made me such a bad impression that I will avoid this chain of hotels in the future.

      • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ruxandra B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

      Dear Guest,

      Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.


      Kind regards,

      James Fraser
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

      This hotel is a mixed bag because the location is great and staff friendly but the rooms are incredibly hot, there is no air con and I couldn't leave window open because the sound of the generator is so loud I couldn't sleep. The view from my window was the generator and offices behind. Some rooms have views of the castle but the road is so noisy you can't leave those windows open either.
      Rooms are clean though and beds pretty comfy. Free wifi also good.
      Wouldn't stay here again though mainly due to noise and heat of room.

      Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
      Thank Sezboshep
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

      Dear guest,

      Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that you were disturbed with noise during your stay. Thank you for your nice comments regarding the staff.

      Kind regards,

      James Fraser
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 3, 2014

      This hotel is very well located - on Princes Street - just a couple of minutes walk to Waverly Station. But the location is definitely what you pay for. The room itself is very basic and slightly dated. We had a very unimpressive view of a brick wall. If I had my choice again, I would spend the additional money on a nicer hotel that is a little further distance away.

      • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Elise H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

      Dear Guest,

      Many thanks for your valued review, We are sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations on this occassion. We do hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

      Kind regards,

      James Fraser
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 3, 2014

      Comfortable,clean, reasonably priced and slap bang in the centre of Edinburgh. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit this fantastic and beautiful city. Would most definitely stay here again.

      Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      Thank Tamphlex
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

      Dear Guest,

      Thank you for your kind review, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

      Kind regards,

      James Fraser
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews