We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for one night in a top floor room with balcony just before Christmas. For the quality of the room, the rate was a bargain. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the room well-equipped with Nespresso machine and free wifi, and the view was outstanding. Our only slight reservation concerned breakfast, which, delivered on room service, is too heavy on pastries and could offer more fresh fruit. The room service supplement had to be paid to the staff member who delivered it, which took us by surprise. However, it's a small quibble and would in no way stop us returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Edinburgh.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,
James Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I had a double room, our three daughters had a triple room and our friends were in a twin room for the three-day New Year package. All our rooms looked out over Prince's Street and Edinburgh castle which was a marvellous view. The hotel is very near the station so we had no trouble walking there. The dinner on the first night was a bit disappointing, but the others were good, and the breakfasts were excellent. The organisation of the New Year's Eve dinner and entertainment was superb. When we checked in, the receptionist didn't seem to know we were on the package and was vague, but all the other staff were very friendly and helpful, and very hard-working. We put in a trip to the theatre to see White Christmas and visited the zoo to see the pandas, as well as enjoying a good shopping experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole stay.

Room Tip: A room looking over Prince's Street has a good view. We didn't notice any nuisance noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talkfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over NYE 13/14. The location was fantastic,we had a great view of the castle from our room & were right in the heart of the city. The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast (if booked the night before) was excellent quality & value,cheaper than starbucks! The main issue was the tiny room,it was so small for two adults and suitcases and the heating was a bit random,either freezing or boiling. For a city centre location we'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I have noted your comments about the heating and will have the maintenance team check this.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our second Hogmanay at this hotel and it's location cannot be beaten to capture the full excitement of the occasion. We opted for the three-day New Year package which was excellent value for money. We were given a room with views of Edinburgh castle and Princes Street as part of the package. The food was excellent and, with the exception of some of the reception personnel, the staff were friendly and helpful. The lack of nearby parking is a major issue but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We got a room with a balcony. Firstly all we heard all night were oisy cars and busy. Secondly the balcony is all connected allowing people to look in on your room. The rooms were very hot with no thermostat. The rooms were poorly maintained with a leaky tap and bath, doors wouldnt shut. The tv wouldnt work so we gave up. wifi was shocking and very expensive. Breakfast was average but the staff were nice.

All in all i would not stay here in future. Better off staying at the holiday inn just down the road by the zoo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JG19932013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just got back home from a night in Edinburgh. My girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Mercure hotel on Edinburgh's Princes Street. We were pretty impressed with this hotel. We had a good view of Princes Street and the Castle, which was really nice.
This hotel's location is ideal, being situated right in the middle of Princes Street next to all the shop and restaurants.
Our room was excellent. It was a good size, really clean, and as i said earlier, the view from the window was fantastic. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a buffet style breakfast with a lot on offer, varying from cooked food like sausages, bacon etc. to ceral, toast. Really good.
Nice hotel, would definitely come back. Had a great stay.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying that bit extra to get a view of the castle. The view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defconshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a kind review and I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with the team who will be happy to hear about your stay.
I look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have just returned from celebrating Hogmanay at The Mercure Edinburgh with my husband. We stayed for three nights and stayed on the top floor in a superior room with balcony and excellent views of Edinburgh and the Castle. We had a fantastic time. Yes the price was a lot more than what we would usually pay but it was New Year and the views from our room were fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and a good size with a coffee machine and kettle if you preferred tea. On New Years eve we went out for the street party but returned to our balcony just before midnight to see the spectacular fireworks. The breakfasts were enjoyable with lots of choice and again great views . This is our third time in Edinburgh. We have stayed just outside the city centre and on The Royal Mile. This hotel was most definitely the best choice for New Year. Would I stay here again? Yes I certainly would.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila34945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us to celebrate new year.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
626 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#107 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing