We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fireworks 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“fireworks 2013”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Noticed an advert in the metro last week about dinner and views of the fireworks on Sunday 1st Sept 2013 , went into the hotel on Friday night to book 4 places and was advised to phone Livingston to book , tried on Saturday and met with no knowledge from the staff there a member of the management was to phone back still waiting I phoned back today and after a bit of a trail eventually spoke to Victoria who understood what I required and was able to help . the lesson to be learned is to make more staff aware of events to allow them to give the best assistance We are now looking forward to a very enjoyable evening

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank star405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to express my sincere apologies over the confusion you encountered. We have addressed this with the team to ensure no further incident occur.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel and I am sure you will have an enjoyable evening.
Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    844
    592
    218
    141
See reviews for
348
1,012
135
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent FOUR nights in the Hotel during the Festival and Tattoo. We had a wonderful time with very friendly and helpful staff who were always willing to give advice on questions regarding Edinburgh. We had a room overlooking Princes St. on the 2nd floor. The noise was minimal at night and did not interfere with our sleep.
We will certainly use this Hotel again on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Princes St give a panoramic view of Edinburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the view from your room. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the teams. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

If, at check in, you are handed the keycard to room 787, either get the room changed or leave. It really is no more than a cupboard. I stayed as the driver for a group of 35 tourists and if I had a choice I'd never stay again. Dinner was reminiscent of the old NHS days and a beer costs £4-30. The bedroom was like a sauna and has no air-con, so was very uncomfortable. Opening a windows isn't an option if you want to sleep as the noise from extraction fans and neighbouring air-con units will keep you awake. The location is great but the hotel is pants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Mercure Edinburgh. I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We do closely monitor our prices against local establishments to ensure we are appropriately priced. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Laurencekirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent one night here during the Fringe/Tattoo period. I feel it is a bit over priced - we were £270 for 1 night, double room, with view of the castle. This price does not include breakfast. Breakfast was a further £13.95 each but if booked the night before was £10 each. The room we had was not exceptionally large, was very hot, no air conditioning but a table top fan was provided. There was a glass door which lead onto a small balcony which faced the castle but the door could not be left open at night as the balcony was conected to all the other rooms (no divider) and we wouldn't have ben able to sleep due to the noise from princess Street below us. The hotel was very clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels in Edinburgh and sadly i feel the only thing better here was the castle view - which we really didnt get to appreciate as out enjoying the finge during the day and straight back from the tattoo to bed at night!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations . Your comments help us to improve our service delivery.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were lucky enough to have a room facing princes street, views were amazing, room was on the small side but didn't affect our stay, was greeted well, staff were nice, breakfast was ok nothing fancy but did the job, had a good night sleep, was aware of noise outside but didn't bother us at all, would stay again :) location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review.
I will share your comments with the team.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

See my photo "avoid room 277" for £250 in August. As they say, "a picture tells a thousand words". Good location but if your room is not facing Princess street, go somewhere else. Furthermore, private hire cars cannot drop u in front of the hotel. Room decoration is dated. You should get a better place for the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Due to road restrictions within the city centre the dearest drop off point is a short walk from the hotel. I apologies that this caused you some inconvenience.


Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is a true tale of a great location wasted. It is ideally located on Princess Street across from the Scotish National Gallery and close to great shopping and restaurants. The lobby is not located on street level but rather up a cheesy circular stair case. There was no doorman to greet you or any sense of arrival. The hallways were carpeted in a dreadful 80's abortion in red. The elevator was particularly annoying as it felt compelled to not only announce each floor but also each opening and closing of the doors. The rooms themselves are small but serviceable as you might expect in a train station in Eastern Europe prior to destruction of the Berlin wall. The bathroom was sufficiently small that only one set of towels was provided, however, on further investigation another set were found in a plastic bag in the cupboard. Overall a very mediocre experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on the Mercure Edinburgh.
We value all guest feedback and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,998 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#63 of 148 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,816 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing