We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$503
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$222
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$168
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,545)
Filter reviews
2,545 results
Traveler rating
506
936
674
257
172
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
936
674
257
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprinces streetscott monumentprivilege roomcastle viewwaverley stationchristmas marketexcellent locationbit datedsuperior roomcentral locationfew minutes walkshort breaklovely roomroyal milehaggisjennersbuses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 2,545 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Mecure for three nights. We had a superior room with the most amazing views of the castle and city.The room was great and the bed very comfy. Just two little niggles. The shower water pressure was very low requiring a lot of running around to get wet ! Also no air conditioning, but as we had lovely big doors to throw open this wasn't really a major. Overall on the strength of our experience I would recommend the hotel, particularly for its location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure Edinburgh. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location, clean and bright room overlooking gardens and castle. Friendly helpful staff on reception and dining room. Dining room in need of decorating and refurbishment but clean. Breakfast and dinner plentiful and well presented. Altogether a pleasant and enjoyable first visit to Edinburgh. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JohnPearcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on Princes Street in the centre of Edinburgh so the location could not be better.
My room was very small and you could not swing a mouse never mind a cat.
The bar and restaurant are pretty good with a fantastic view of the castle. Can't comment on the evening meals but the breakfast buffet was pretty good if only the standard fare.
Reception staff were friendly, batman was not! :(

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We value your comments and thank you for mentioning how friendly our staff are.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

real good hotel staff friendly some guests real friendly
breakfast real good and loads choice
clean rooms and you couldnt hear noise from outside once windows shut.
good view if you lucky to get room on front

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews