We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights on a first visit to Edinburgh. I feel this was a good value for money experience. The rooms were as we expected for the rating of the hotel. Service was very good, staff friendly and very accommodating, especially at the breakfast service. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SandyKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    844
    592
    218
    141
See reviews for
348
1,012
135
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the view of the old town was beautiful. The room was small but comfortable. The only problem was that the room was quite warm at night and with the window open, it was so noisy with traffic noise and yelling that we could not sleep. There was a fan, but it would only push around the warm air. This is a place that would greatly benefit from air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbmw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.
With the lovely weather we have been having, it has been warm in the hotel.
We do provide fans in all our rooms for guest comfort but we are looking at other alternatives.
We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've just come home after a weekend at the Mecure Edinburgh city Princess St hotel. The hotel had no car parking but Waverley station car park is very close. Situated next to Jenners the hotel is well placed for local shops and restaurants as well as city centre attractions. The local buses stop outside so it is easy to get around. We stayed there as we were taking part in the Edinburgh marathon and it was only a short walk to the start and the same distance from the bus drop off point on the return. The hotel did cater for runners that morning serving porridge and bananas up to an hour before normal breakfast time. The rooms were quite small but comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Free wi fi is available in the hotel including the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms were available with a balcony and castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and found the hotel ideal for your needs.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arrived early Sunday afternoon and were quickly checked in. We had paid the extra for a castle view and this was worth it especially at night when everything was lit up. The room was large and shower good although the bathroom was a little small.

Bed was comfy but two singles pushed together and not a double. Was a little noisy as think the buses ran all night. It is in a great location just a few minutes from Waverley railway station and where the airlink bus from the airport drops you off . Its also a good place to start a walk around the city, up to Calton Hill, down to Holyrood and the parliament then up the Royal Mile to the castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room above the 4th floor and this will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
I am glad you enjoyed the views of our beautiful city and found the hotel ideally located for your visit.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in Mercure Edinburgh City hotel in May, while i was in Edinburgh for business and except the location being on princes street, there was not much good to add. even the location is not great if you have heavy luggage. the street is closed to traffic for road works and you have to wheel your luggage a bit. The moment you enter the hotel, you feel and out dated and 80s atmosphere. The receiption is 1 floor up. the staff were nice and friendly but I would not rate this more than 3 out of 5 either.
In the room, rear facing (which is better if you want to have a half desent sleep at night) the bathroom was too small, furniture although clean they were dated. and the mattress was too soft.
All in all, i would not recommend staying in this hotel. for the same cost you can probably stay in another hotel one street to the north (George Street).

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel, but if you really have to get this hotel, ask for a room NOT facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaDiver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and value your feedback.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I came for morning coffee with 3 friends a few weeks ago.It was the first time I had been in the hotel for years.
We went to the coffee area and collected 2 cafetieres of coffee which the person had already plunged. The coffee tasted like dishwater. We also bought a danish pastry each which was anything but fresh so told the person who just shrugged his shoulders and did nothing. It was not particularly cheap so we left feeling disappointed and will certainly not be back,

marjory Cook

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am sorry that you experience less than satisfactory service and I can assure you I have addressed this with the Restaurant.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so we can provide you with the high service standards you should have received.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,998 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#63 of 148 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,820 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing