We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$503
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$168
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,545)
Filter reviews
2,545 results
Traveler rating
506
936
674
257
172
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
936
674
257
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprinces streetscott monumentprivilege roomcastle viewwaverley stationchristmas marketexcellent locationbit datedsuperior roomcentral locationfew minutes walkshort breaklovely roomroyal milehaggisjennersbuses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,778 - 1,783 of 2,545 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've just come home after a weekend at the Mecure Edinburgh city Princess St hotel. The hotel had no car parking but Waverley station car park is very close. Situated next to Jenners the hotel is well placed for local shops and restaurants as well as city centre attractions. The local buses stop outside so it is easy to get around. We stayed there as we were taking part in the Edinburgh marathon and it was only a short walk to the start and the same distance from the bus drop off point on the return. The hotel did cater for runners that morning serving porridge and bananas up to an hour before normal breakfast time. The rooms were quite small but comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Free wi fi is available in the hotel including the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms were available with a balcony and castle view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and found the hotel ideal for your needs.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arrived early Sunday afternoon and were quickly checked in. We had paid the extra for a castle view and this was worth it especially at night when everything was lit up. The room was large and shower good although the bathroom was a little small.

Bed was comfy but two singles pushed together and not a double. Was a little noisy as think the buses ran all night. It is in a great location just a few minutes from Waverley railway station and where the airlink bus from the airport drops you off . Its also a good place to start a walk around the city, up to Calton Hill, down to Holyrood and the parliament then up the Royal Mile to the castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room above the 4th floor and this will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
I am glad you enjoyed the views of our beautiful city and found the hotel ideally located for your visit.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed in Mercure Edinburgh City hotel in May, while i was in Edinburgh for business and except the location being on princes street, there was not much good to add. even the location is not great if you have heavy luggage. the street is closed to traffic for road works and you have to wheel your luggage a bit. The moment you enter the hotel, you feel and out dated and 80s atmosphere. The receiption is 1 floor up. the staff were nice and friendly but I would not rate this more than 3 out of 5 either.
In the room, rear facing (which is better if you want to have a half desent sleep at night) the bathroom was too small, furniture although clean they were dated. and the mattress was too soft.
All in all, i would not recommend staying in this hotel. for the same cost you can probably stay in another hotel one street to the north (George Street).

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel, but if you really have to get this hotel, ask for a room NOT facing the street
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubaDiver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and value your feedback.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I came for morning coffee with 3 friends a few weeks ago.It was the first time I had been in the hotel for years.
We went to the coffee area and collected 2 cafetieres of coffee which the person had already plunged. The coffee tasted like dishwater. We also bought a danish pastry each which was anything but fresh so told the person who just shrugged his shoulders and did nothing. It was not particularly cheap so we left feeling disappointed and will certainly not be back,

marjory Cook

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Marjory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am sorry that you experience less than satisfactory service and I can assure you I have addressed this with the Restaurant.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so we can provide you with the high service standards you should have received.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews