We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had room 778 (single room) with view overlooking Princess street. It was a balcony on the outside, but room 778 did not have a door out like 772/773. No aircondition will stop me for coming back in summer time. It was a bit noisy even with the windows closed. But the location was perfect. In the middle of everything. The breakfast was ok, but average. The bed was to soft for me and the pillow was not any good. Most likely I will try some of the hotels nearby the next time - as for me the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We value all guest feedback.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,339)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently stayed here on business. I had a first floor room with a great view. My room was a good size and very clean. The shower was very effective and the water hot. I slept well though the open window meant a little traffic noise. The hotel is a bit dated but don't let that put you off. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was better than I expected with excellent service. Breakfast comprised a buffet with wide choice. A good choice if exploring the are and close to the main rail station. I would be happy to go back. The staff were very helpful and responsive

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and you may want a room on a third or higher floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review,
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a room on the 5th. Floor overlooking princess street .Stunning views of the city & castle. It was spacious, warm & spotlessly clean. Dinner was first class with a good choice. Breakfast was one of the finest buffet breakfasts we have experienced . Nothing at all left out. Would certainly recommend .

Room Tip: Hotel front rooms are subject to street noise but the views of the castle ,Princess street ect. are...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmgrovebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very nice entrance to the hotel and great view from the bar. Good service and good to have free wi-fi.

Comfortable rooms and bathroom, if a little dated, but our room was very warm - there was a fan in the wardrobe which we had to use after showering and getting ready as it was very warm.

Did not try the breakfast as tried cheaper local options.

I would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank saminnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fantastic location - right in the centre of Princes Street.Odd numbered rooms overlook the Princes Street Gardens.Very helpful Reception staff , indeed all staff helpful. Bathrooms need some updating - 1970s taps! Breakfast fine - had to ask for more milk both mornings though.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor & odd numbered room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulione c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good hotel, price is kind of expensive but the location for turism is perfect! i couldn´t ask for more! my room had a great view! i´ll stay there next time i go to Edinburgh. Room is clean, breakfast is good as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights here with 2 friends, check in was quick & easy and all staff on reception were lovely. The location is amazing with a view of Princes street and the castle.
The room was fine. It was clean and had the things needed.
i would absolutely stay again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,057 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#4 of 4 in Livingston
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 150 in Edinburgh
594 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $106 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing