We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location right next to Jenners great for shopping and close to nice restaurants and pubs only 5 mins walk from the Royal Mile, the view from the room was amazing seen the castle and Scot monument , it also had winter wonderland in princes street garden great atmosphere , the staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful , would def recommend this hotel will be staying again for sure

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mollysSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again.
We do hope you use our hotel again in the future.
Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

My sister and I tried our first coach trip. A two night stay with a local coach firm to the Mercure Princes Street and the RY Britannia and Edinburghs Christmas markets. When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately disappointed with our twin room, which was clearly originally a single at the back of the hotel overlooking all the air condiitoning pipes. However we thought that as this was a coach trip this is what one got. We virtually had to climb over one bed to get to another and to draw the curtains. We didn't complain for the reason stated above. The dining room was also a disappointment. We were herded together as part of a group and had to sit a large tables. The evening meal was equally disappointing, the first night being marginally better than the second. However in fairness, the breakfasts were very good. The position of the hotel was excellent situated between Jenners and Marks and Spencers with views of the Christmas markets and the Castle. As we were leaving we asked other passengers about their rooms and the majority of people had had rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking Princess Street, and of a very good size, these were couples. One wonders if because we were two women we only qualified for the inferior room. We came to the conclusion that the Hotel was ok for business and personal leisure but not for coach trips. We also decided that at 67 and 68 we are far too young for coach trips!

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 449
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukeyFyldecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations.
I am sorry that on this occasion you did not receive a room at the front of the hotel. We allocate rooms on room type basis and unfortunately some of your group did receive back facing rooms. When large parties are dining with us we ask for a set time. This is due to the hotel being very busy in December and to ensure all hotel guest are catered for. I am sorry if you found this to be an inconvenience.
Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is on Princes Street next to Jenners, opposite the Scott Monument and has a stunning view of Edinburgh Castle. With Waverley Station and the stop for the Airlink bus to the airport both being only a couple of minutes walk away you would be hard pressed to find a better located, value for money hotel. The restaurant was extremely busy at lunchtiime when I checked in - always a good sign. The room I had was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a 3 star hotel. I stayed on a Friday night in mid December and did wonder whether noise from outside the hotel or pre-Xmas revellers from within might be an issue but this was not the case. This was a business trip but I would certainly stay here again should I visit as a tourist.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive review. We value all feedback and will pass on your kind comments to our staff.
At Mercure we aim to exceed guests expectations and I am pleased to read that we have made your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a works night out at Christmas. The room was clean, the check in no problem and breakfast was a high standard and all nice and fresh.

Butch the location is perfect! Step out the doors and you are on princess street, hop over the roads and into the gardens, which at Christmas are packed with festive stalls and treats.

Thanks very much and will hope to return for a trip, not related to work!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoringMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location perfect.
We pride ourselves on our staff and the service they deliver.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzbd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you enjoy a periodic visit to Edinburgh, this is the place to stay. It's well run, central to just about everything, a block from the airport shuttle. Rose Alley (the walking street) is only about 3 blocks away and has a great range of shops and eateries. Very much looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our staff and the service given.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ih56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#103 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,058 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 150 in Edinburgh
596 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $105 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing