We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights stay. The hotel is in a perfect location with good views of the castle. The hotel room was clean and a little larger than expected. The breakfast is served buffet style offering a good choice of food. We used the restaurant for High tea twice because it offered fantastic value for money. Our main reason for being in Edinburgh was the theatre which is only a 10 minute walk from here. I enjoyed watching the squirrels in the gardens,( will have to take my camera next time) This hotel like many others would benefit with a little TLC but that would put up the price, as for now it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDWARD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. Thank you for your nice comments regarding breakfast and High Tea. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0tland7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour package.

First, let me say, this hotel is in a great location.

It's a much older hotel, needs a little TLC and refurbishing. But was clean and the staff was very helpful. The room was okay, again, clean, but needed updating. There is no air conditioning in the hotel, but our room had a fan. We needed it.

But, the hotel is in a great location.

Breakfast was average English breakfast. The restaurant looked over Princes Street, which was nice.

They had one standing computer station for free internet access. I found this to be common in every hotel at which we stayed in the United Kingdom. Not everyone travels with their computer or tablet, or has access through their phone.

Did I mention, the hotel is in a great location?

About the location: Just down the street was the Royal Scottish Academy and the National Gallery of Scotland, which has a very nice collection. Worth seeing.

Also, the hotel is within walking distance of all kinds of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sthrnfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you particularly enjoyed our location. We do hope that you will use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Walk to Edinburgh castle, museums, many pubs and restaurants as well as lots of shopping. Waverly train station 2 blocks away. Many city buses right outside the door and they are easy to use. Literally right next door is a large supermarket with lots of ready made food. Restaurant is good but not exceptional. Staff wonderful. Breakfast good.
Negatives; several times I and other guests had to yell out, "hello, hello", to get an employee to come to the reception desk. The wifi works on 2 floors, but if you go to the 1st floor reception area, there is not even a bench on which to sit to use your iPad. On checkout, I was given a bill for my room which had already been pre paid. there are 4 stairs to negotiate with your luggage at the entrance an no one to help. The lobby is one flight up.
If you book a room with a view, be sure you are not a light sleeper. The delivery trucks start really early making noise in the morning and sometimes the seagulls too. Sleeping at night was not a problem, and I rise early anyway so it was worth it for the view.
Bed comfortable. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. The free WIFI is also available in our restaurant and bar area which has plenty of seats for guests to sit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came with an Ulster Bus tour and from the start were treated like a nuisance rather than clients! Firts the receptionist didn't really want to look for a list of people on the tour as she wanted to wait for our driver to arrive (why? that still remains a mystery). When told he had no intentions of coming there she unwilling looked at some papers and allowed us to check in. Our room was old, dingy and dusty with a strong smell of furniture polish. The bedlinen was clean but the towels looked dodgy so we used our own. The bathroom was unclean, with a urine smell and plenty of balck mold, oh, and a long black hair stuck to the door... The carpet was evidently cleaned with a poor hoover which made it obvious that some work had been done but bits of dirt remained untouched. You could see that the tea making drawer was only ever wiped very quickly as corners were full of dust. What's more, one of the cups had a bright lipstich stain on it and the kettle was really full of limescale. All in all, the room looked as if it was inhabited and cleaned by an elderly person who couldn't bend or easily access places and whose eysight was failing them - the state completely forgivable in a relative's house, but not in a hotel charging for staying in it. When we enquired at the reception about the location of the breakfast area we were told that our breakfast wasn't included and had to be paid for separately. It took us five minuts to clarify that issue after which we could eventually proceed. The breakfast area was full of light and with a nice view, but chaotic, and frankly dirty (from table cloths to cutlery). Breakfast was eatable, but that's all. If it hadn't been already paid for we wouldn't have ventured past the sign "Please wait to be seated". The food was not freash and tea and coffee were frankly disgusting. I support other reviewer's comments about shabby lobby and reception, dangerous carpet, smells and staff who couldn't care less and only ever spoke and smiled to each other. There might well be nice rooms in this hotel but what we were presented with was a disgrace. I would say stay away from it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We are extremely sorry that our hotel did not match your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the cleanliness and staff issues that you have highlighted and taken action. I can assure you that this is not our normal standards of service. The lobby and reception area have recently been refurbished with all carpets replaced. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked for 1 night and is a short walk from Edinburgh's Waverley Station. The Hotel is situated on Princes Street close to all the shops. My room had great views of the Scots Monument and the Castle, which look spectacular at night. Even though it was on the main road I was not disturbed by traffic. The room was an adequate size, bed was comfortable but only a double bed, a tall person might have their feet dangling off the end. Was seated quickly for breakfast and there was a lot of choice. Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and price!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The main attractive feature of this hotel is beyond doubt its location, right on Princes Street, with a view of Edinburgh Castle. As for the rest, it is rather "average". I stayed in a double room that was pretty small, with limited room for clothes, but a nice view on Princes Street Gardens. The same nice view was the best part of the breakfast room, together with very attentive staff. Breakfast itself was ok but could have been better. If you're in a hurry, remember to use the stairs, because elevators can be terribly slow! Notice that free wi-fi is not included (however, there are some computers in the lobby if you need to check emails or find something on the web).
All in all, at this hotel you pay mostly for the location... and it's not even a cheap buy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InItinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff attentive and the hotels location excellent. I am sorry that our rooms did not match your expectations. We have many different room types and sizes. Should you decide to visit us again I would recommend an executive room, should you require more space.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
661 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#107 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#118 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $81 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing