We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

5 years in the making, someday the city of Edinburgh will finish their trolly restoration on the street below us (Take the hint Edinbourgh!). The hotel overlooks this construction to the most amazing view of the park, museum, Scot Monument, and old city and castle on the hill directly across from the hotel. Our window faced all this wonderful drama, and so does their restaurant. Breakfasts had the widest selection, and the restaurant's huge picture windows again brought us this spectacular view. We walked to the train station with our luggage. The hotel was clean as a whistle, the service very good, the staff friendly. It's my guess that if the trolly on Prince ever gets finished someday the hotels and businesses which are upscale now, will be on the highest priced real estate in Edinburgh, a city of amazing historical achievements.

Room Tip: Get a window overlooking the park like we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We too look forward to the completion of the tram works and we are very proud that you have enjoyed our fantastic city. I do hope you will consider using us again.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    834
    588
    210
    138
See reviews for
341
998
135
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great hotel with views from the room that can't be bought. Breakfast was hot and fresh and spectacular views from the restaurant again. Location on Princess street is very central and ideal if your travelling via Waverley station. Recommend .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevew1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on our hotel and that you found our hotels location excellent. Thank you for you great comments regarding breakfast. We do hope you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
Gerneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a restaurant booked for tea in Edinburgh so decided to see if I could get a cheap room.
Through Booking.Com I booked a double room for £40. However on arrival following a short walk from Waverly Station there was no record of my booking. I had made an error, but the receptionist and duty manager were great and found me a twin for the same price that night.
Exceptional service.

The room was spacious and clean with a good tv with various options (pay movies, internet etc.)
Could not complain about the view as I did only pay £40.

We had a drink in the bar late that night which was very relaxing looking on to the floodlit Castle.

We decided to take breakfast in the morning and whilst there was plenty of choice I found £13.95 a little steep for what it was and considering the amount of options available close by not one of my better decisions.

We both got perfect nights sleep, which was the genral idea for a relaxing break.

All in all a hotel I would book again even at double what I paid for as the location and staff along with a clean hotel made it worth while

Room Tip: Whilst the the view from the rooms to the rear are non existance a perfect nights sleep can be got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is well situated on Princes St for you to cross the road and do the Royal Mile walk. Unfortunately is was raining when we were there but this did not deter us from sightseeing. Also it was difficult for us to get to our Hotel as the road was closed for construction and we had to walk with suitcases. The check in staff were excellent and very friendly and accommodating. We were given a room with an excellent view of the Castle. The rooms were comfortable and warm. Breakfast was excellent and choice of food was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We do have a fantastic location and I am pleased to say that the construction is now gone from Princes Street. Thank you for your nice comments about breakfast. We do hope that you will use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a disappointment! If work hadn't paid for my room (£170) i would have been furious. Great views from the room, right in the heart of the city but none of that can make up for the paper then walls. Sleep is not something you'll get alot of at this hotel, lifts, fire doors banging and next doors tv and toilet habits resounding around the room doesn't make for a positive experience. Breakfast was good but thats about all, really poor, needs some serious modernisation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that the hotel did not match your expectations and that noise prevented you from having a positive stay . I would like to assure you that we will look into the issues highlighted and take action when possible.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing