We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 12, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0uple_fr0m_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a restaurant booked for tea in Edinburgh so decided to see if I could get a cheap room.
Through Booking.Com I booked a double room for £40. However on arrival following a short walk from Waverly Station there was no record of my booking. I had made an error, but the receptionist and duty manager were great and found me a twin for the same price that night.
Exceptional service.

The room was spacious and clean with a good tv with various options (pay movies, internet etc.)
Could not complain about the view as I did only pay £40.

We had a drink in the bar late that night which was very relaxing looking on to the floodlit Castle.

We decided to take breakfast in the morning and whilst there was plenty of choice I found £13.95 a little steep for what it was and considering the amount of options available close by not one of my better decisions.

We both got perfect nights sleep, which was the genral idea for a relaxing break.

All in all a hotel I would book again even at double what I paid for as the location and staff along with a clean hotel made it worth while

Room Tip: Whilst the the view from the rooms to the rear are non existance a perfect nights sleep can be got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is well situated on Princes St for you to cross the road and do the Royal Mile walk. Unfortunately is was raining when we were there but this did not deter us from sightseeing. Also it was difficult for us to get to our Hotel as the road was closed for construction and we had to walk with suitcases. The check in staff were excellent and very friendly and accommodating. We were given a room with an excellent view of the Castle. The rooms were comfortable and warm. Breakfast was excellent and choice of food was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and we are pleased to see they excelled again. We do have a fantastic location and I am pleased to say that the construction is now gone from Princes Street. Thank you for your nice comments about breakfast. We do hope that you will use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a disappointment! If work hadn't paid for my room (£170) i would have been furious. Great views from the room, right in the heart of the city but none of that can make up for the paper then walls. Sleep is not something you'll get alot of at this hotel, lifts, fire doors banging and next doors tv and toilet habits resounding around the room doesn't make for a positive experience. Breakfast was good but thats about all, really poor, needs some serious modernisation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that the hotel did not match your expectations and that noise prevented you from having a positive stay . I would like to assure you that we will look into the issues highlighted and take action when possible.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is in a very convenient location, on Princes Street, opposite the Sir Walter Scott monument; very near Waverley RR stain (block and a half away). That said, the rooms are old, narrow, carpets worn, no air conditioning so when it is hot, you can barley crack a window open, found hairs (hopefully human) in the shower, virtually no towels, Endless numbers of smokers congregating in the lobby; smoke wafts up two floors to reception desk. If you're looking for a low end, inexpensive hotel to bunk, this is it. But if you're looking for a clean, dignified hotel from which to see Edinburgh, go somewhere else (Sheraton on Lothian Way is incomparably better but more than twice as expensive). Free Wi-Fi; great SCottish breakfast but expensive 13 pounds

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that you did not feel our hotel matched your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues that you have highlighted and taken action. I do hope that you would consider using us again as I can assure you that your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.

Kind reagrds,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location is great; it's very close to the castle and nearby coffee shops and restaurants. Right next to Jenners and pretty close to Harvy Nickols. The rooms were pretty terrible and nothing compared to the pictures. The breakfast was very good. Finally, the service was good and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malamer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We would sincerely like to apologise that our rooms did not match your expectations.We do hope that you would consider using us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Receptionist unfriendly and hard to understand.
Demanded a £20 deposit before providing a morning newspaper.
Carpet tiles loose on the stairway - dangerous.
Corridor carpets stained and worn.
Someone's old toenails on the room carpet.
en-suite smelled of urine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veteran44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerly like to apologise that the hotel did not match your expectations. I can confirm that the carpets in question are being replaced. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue that you highlighted and taken action. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
627 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $89 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing