We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #121 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible rooms”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location is great; it's very close to the castle and nearby coffee shops and restaurants. Right next to Jenners and pretty close to Harvy Nickols. The rooms were pretty terrible and nothing compared to the pictures. The breakfast was very good. Finally, the service was good and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malamer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We would sincerely like to apologise that our rooms did not match your expectations.We do hope that you would consider using us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    834
    588
    210
    138
See reviews for
341
998
135
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Receptionist unfriendly and hard to understand.
Demanded a £20 deposit before providing a morning newspaper.
Carpet tiles loose on the stairway - dangerous.
Corridor carpets stained and worn.
Someone's old toenails on the room carpet.
en-suite smelled of urine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veteran44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerly like to apologise that the hotel did not match your expectations. I can confirm that the carpets in question are being replaced. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the staffing issue that you highlighted and taken action. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good location, clean, and amazing views if you can get a room looking out of Princes Street.

Wi-fi was free in the lobby and bar which was nice. Although it cost 10 quid if you wanted it in your room.

We paid 100 quid one night and 150 for another. Felt like it was a good value.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Princes Street... amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Pros:
Location - perfect. Very central, right on Princes St, a very short walk from the train station yet no noise effects from the trains.

Room - great view across Princes St, the gardens and up to the Old Town and the Caslte. A door opened on to a balcony - not large enough to sit out on and accessible by other rooms too, but still great to stand out on and admire the view. The room was very comfortable with a good bathroom.

Wifi connection in the room was good - sufficient for Skype video chat with family back home.

Cons:

The breakfast was the only thing that really let this place down. The service was half-hearted and the hot food buffet, whilst plentiful, was greasy and unpleasant. If the hotel invested a bit of effort in better quality produce and better timeliness in stocking the buffet, it would make a big difference. During our trip we stayed in other hotels of a similar standard who managed this so much better.

Other notes:
Princes St was closed to traffic while we were there, due to construction works for the new tram-way. It was very quiet while we were there.

The lock on the balcony door had an unconventional/counter-intuitive locking mechanism (involving lifting the handle before being able to turn the key). A little sign or sticker to explain this would be a good idea. Even house-keeping didn't know how to work it and in the end we figured it out ourselves.

Room Tip: We followed the tip to request a Castle view if available. Our request was fulfilled and the view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on our hotel and that you found our rooms comfortable and the location perfect. We are sorry that breakfast did not meet your expectaions we will certainly look into this and take action. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again as i can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I've been staying here for a couple of weeks now and it has to be said there is nothing remarkable about this hotel. In all honesty, if you weren't looking for the entrance you could easily miss it as it is in between a number of shops on Princes Street.

The rooms I've had are small and the decor dated, but that said the bedrooms and bathrooms are perfectly clean and serviceable. I found the bathroom lighting to be poor and the overall lack of lighting & dull decor does nothing to help. The lack of space is made worse by the inclusion of a desk, chair & armchair.

The bedroom had all of the usual features you'd expect from a city centre hotel, kettle, tea & coffee, hairdryer, flatscreen tv with a selection of freeview channels, trouser press & in room safe.

On my initial stay I was given a room facing Princes Street which had a splendid view of the castle and would be worth asking for. It should be noted that Princes Street is undergoing some significant construction as part of the introduction of the new tram system, but even with all this work going on I wasn't aware of any undue noise.

Breakfast in the hotel is a fairly standard buffet style with a reasonable but not extensive choice. The restaurant staff are friendly and welcoming and will show signs of recognising you after a couple of nights there.

Room service food is fairly average with a limited and unexpectedly pricey. The prawn cocktail which comes delivered in a glass jar is fun and tasty. The steaks I've ordered were not the greatest, average quality and over cooked.

The front desk staff were very welcoming and check in was quick and efficient. I had reason to visit the front desk for directions and general help on a few occasions and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant recommendations were happily given as well as maps and directions.

The hotel also provides a luggage store for you to leave your luggage until your room is ready or until you need to leave later in the evening.

There are no leisure facilities in the hotel, but free WiFi is available throughout the hotel.

I'd quite happily recommend this hotel for short stays (2-3 days) or maybe as a base for a slightly longer stay but not if you're looking for an all singing and dancing leisure hotel.

Overall an average hotel, only really let down by its decor, with friendly & welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Princes Street can provide a good view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_J43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see that they have excelled again. I am pleased to say that we have changed our steak supplier and we are now more than happy with the quality, We do hope that you will visit us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Edinburgh is a very walkable city, and the Mercure Princes Street is convenient to the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Castle, and the many other sites and shops of Edinburgh.

Check in is one floor above street level, with elevators or stairs from the entrance. For access to the hotel rooms, one must have a room key to go up in the elevator.

The single room was more comfortable than most in Europe, though not quite the American space level.

The breakfast buffet was ample, and as most hotels in the British Isles, baked beans were avaialble, as well as haggis. The dinner menu was varied enough that I could find something I liked each night.

In May, it is light out until 10+ pm and sunrise is before 5, so be sure to have a time piece handy so that when you wake up, you know if you need to get out of bed or roll back over.

There are other properties that you may want to consider, but unless the hotel is the only experieince you seek, the Mercure suits the needs and a bit of the wants for the traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the older city have the better view, but may be noisy - make the choice of view or quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonmickey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We do have a fantastic location with the shops and other great sites of Edinburgh on our doorstep. We do hope that you will consider visiting us again.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here for a 3 day trip to Edinburgh and to be honest the hotel is what you need. A bed, a clean bathroom and a convenient location to walk everywhere.

The receptionist was very helpful when we checked in early and told us we could store our bags there until our room was available.

Room was a bit dated but if you're in a city like Edinburgh, you're only really going to be in your room to sleep.

Other reviews complaining about road noise at the hotel are valid, but i think everywhere in the city will have some level of hussle and bussle. The lovely thing was that we woke up to a BagPiping busker! lovely!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseCRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I are glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We do hope that you would consider using us again when you are in Edinburgh as I can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#64 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing