We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality redefined (downwards) in Accor Group of hotels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hospitality redefined (downwards) in Accor Group of hotels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed with Mercure Edinburgh as it was central and in a good location, with a special discount on-going.

Check-in
- no smile reception, totally none, and you are in a hospitality and service industry.
- curt replies to questions

Room
- was not make up properly
- only one set of towels was hanging in twin room
-

Reception
- request for late checkout, was told noted, he will pass on the info and no need to update our room
- next morning, key cards did not work and houskeeping knock and all why are we still in room

Bring quite regular travellers, and having stayed in a couple of Accor hotels in the past year, I am sad to say Mercure's service standards is hardly hospitable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We have a very large team in this hotel, all of whom are put through substantial training to ensure that they are capable of service delivery at all times. This service is certainly not what is expected from our Team and I can assure you that action will be taken. We do hope that you will consider using us again as i can assure you that your enjoyment will be our priority, as all guests are.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    811
    558
    207
    132
See reviews for
332
961
129
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed at Mercure as it was in a very central location. Only downside was that it does'nt have a car park. You have to park at the station and walk hotel said 5 minutes, more like 15 and we walk quite briskly. Asked for room with a view of castle and what a view, room was spacious although a little dated. Bathroom could also do with an update hate shower curtains wish more hotels would put shower screens in. The receptionist was very efficent we arrived early but our room was ready we did ring the day before and say we would be there early check in was quick and we were able to get on with seeing the sights of Edinburgh. Breakfast was very good had a table at window overlooking castle, plenty of choice and well presented. We paid £67 for our room and for that price was great value.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of castle on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your continued support and review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests.We are pleased that you enjoyed our castle facing rooms as they do have the best view of the city.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

+ hotel location.
+ view from hotel to castle.
+ rates comparing to other hotels
+ responsible GM and some staff.
- irresponsible and arrogant staffs.
- the house keeping.
- their policy about bed linen changing.
- the manager of restaurant or restaurant supervisor in the morning who treated us in a different way, I don't know why and first time in my life. I wish the management should train staff how to move with their guest equally.
- the break fast.
- Mercure or accor standards could not be found in the hotel.
- They charge huge for internet.

Room Tip: Rooms with castle view is good. Wont pay for break fats worthless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhupeshrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days last week with my mum and brother, we shared a 3 person room which was around £150 for 2 nights which I think is more than reasonable given the excellent location right on Princes St, not even 5 mins walking distance from the station.

We arrived around 10am and check in wasnt until 2pm, however we were able to leave our bags in a storeroom at the reception desk which meant we could get on with exploring the city straight away.

We were given a room on the 5th floor which was facing Prince St, the view was brilliant, especially at night when the Castle & Bank of Scotland were all lit up.

The room was very warm, not sure if this is just because the of the great weather we were having but we had a fan in the room which we had to use, and then we slept with the windows open. This meant it was a bit noisy at night but not unbearable, it got better once the trains stopped!

The only negatives I have is that there werent enough plug sockets, I couldnt find any more other than the two on the wall not enough for 3 people with 3 phones to charge, hair to dry and straighten and have the fan plugged in! And none near the beds which was a bit annoying as I like to charge my phone at night but need it nearby cause its my alarm clock too!

Also I did think the bathroom was a bit outdated, nothing wrong with the facilities but the floor & tiles looked a bit tired.

All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We picked this hotel because of the ideal central location and were very impressed to have a room with a great view of the castle and very comfortable furnishings. The breakfast was very good quality as well with a good variety of food and the staff were very helpful and informative when we asked for advice and directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Location of hotel superb overlooking Princes Street. And walking distance from railway station. Breakfast very good with excellent cafetiere coffee. Bacon & egg very good althought the orange juice could have been better quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest.

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and I am pleased that we have made your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Paid for a Castle view and was disappointed to be placed in a room with a poor outlook. However after going back and speaking to Marie the Receptionist, she relocated us without any fuss. The room had an amazing view to the Castle and up and down Princes Street. The room had a double bed and a two seater sofa.

Marie is a prime example of all the staff within the hotel. Nothing was a problem. Staff on reception, waiters, bar and cleaning staff were all very pleasant. The staff are, indeed, a credit to this hotel. All the waiting staff were very attentive and provided an excellent service. One of the waiters engaged us in conversation and gave us a few pointers to try and enhance our stay.

The hotel is located on Princes Street and being so centrally located has an impact on the price of the accommodation as well as the bar prices.

The meals were good. The breakfast was delicious, it is a buffet self service. Certain dishes are available on order from the kitchen. I don't think there was anything not available. If you don't like the breakfast here you must be too fussy.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolIanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see that they have excelled again. We do hope you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Property: Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Address: 53 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing