We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotsman - Ideal location, overpriced”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #87 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scotsman - Ideal location, overpriced”
Reviewed May 22, 2007

The Scotsman is located about mid-way on the Royal mile, right on North Bridge above Waverly Station. Tough to beat this location. We were not at all happy with our room as it did not meet our expectations. They were amazingly nice rooms, just didn't match the advertisement, and therefore didn't meet expectations or seem to be worth the cost. We booked two directors rooms. As advertised on the Scotsman website, all of these rooms have a nice view. One of the two rooms we received was identical to the website photo (traditional wood panelling with great view of Scott Monument and Balmoral Hotel). The second room was "equivalent" in size and quality, but was very modern and cold, had no wood panelling, etc, and had a "great view" of the underside of North Bridge and the roof of Waverly Train Station. Confirm that your room is at least on the 4th floor or above. I went to the front desk to ask to be relocated, and was treated as though I was being unappreciative or ungrateful (I was given a song and dance about how this is a boutique hotel, and all the rooms have their own unique character). At these prices, I don't expect to be made to feel badly about asking for ANYTHING, and the unique character of the underside of a bridge didn't seem so boutique.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Did not meet expectations
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollersby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    610
    319
    159
    111
See reviews for
319
1,292
101
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg, south africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Very expensive for what we got. First of all there is no parking and it was a nightmare trying to check in. The staff were ok none were British. The bed was big and comfortable but the bath was small. The windows don't open very much which bothers me. The view from my room was under a bridge so not appealing and I made my bookings months in advance. The milk in the bar fridge was sour so couldnt have coffee in the morning, my mother in law in another room said the same thing. When we got back to the hotel on our first afternoon out we couldnt get back into the hotel because the key card didnt work. It took about half an hour for them to send someone to open the room which made us very late for our dinner arrangements as it then took about an hour to fix. I tried to phone the spa from my cell phone before I arrived to book a facial but they refused to take my booking without my credit card details. You actually expect a little more co operation when you are a hotel guest. Anyway I would not recommend this to anyone and would never stay in the hotel again. The website is very deceiving, the rooms are very old fashioned.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

The immediate impression of the Scotsman is great solid quality. The lobby is understated elegance and the staff very friendly.
We didn't like the room we'd booked. No problem sir. We're not using some of the suites tonight so we'll move you to one. That is how to treat a customer and make you want to come back. The room was characterfull with magnificent views. Everything of the best. Beautiful wood inlaid walls. Wonderfully comfortable bed. Elegant bathroom with very good toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities.(Only minor gripe is the excellent shampoo and body wash is in bottles screwed to the wall which make them difficult to use).
Very good location next to Waverley Station on North Bridge.
Breakfast good (coffee particularly good).
Paid £155 for room and breakfast for 2 for 1 night.

  • Liked — Oozes quality and how staff deal with a problem
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rjrLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2007

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel, right in the centre of town. I went with my boyfriend and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff were helpful and friendly. The spa facilities are not to be missed - the pool is amazing. Breakfast was an experience in itself - really great. Our room was lovely, bright, airy and super comfortable. I would absolutely go again - it's top class.

  • Liked — superior level of comfort
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank london_girl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I booked a 2 night break at the Scotsman after reading some good reviews. I would like to add another good review to the list.
Firstly, if you are looking for a break on a budget, than the Scotsman is not for you, but if you and your partner want to be pampered then this is the place.
We had a double room for the weekend, the room was not over big, but well layed out. There was 'real' milk in the minibar for tea and coffee and a filter coffee maker. The Minibar was not over priced for soft drinks. There was a 26inch HDTV with a media computer which you where shown how to use.
We had dinner at both resturnants, both where great, specially the Vermilion, Beth's wine selection for us was spot on.
When we where at dinner, housekeeping turned down the bed and replaced all the towels with fresh ones, nice little touch.

  • Liked — Nothing was tomuch touble.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HopalongChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Clare
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

My wife & I stayed here for two nights and we both agree it was one of the best hotels we ever stayed in.From the extremely welcoming staff who were both helpful and friendly,to the room which exceeded our expectations.lovely high ceilings,great view and luxurious bathroom.We loved the added touch of all the Cowshed products.
Location was perfect,Princes street on one side for the shopping and The Royal Mile on the other for leisurely strolls and soaking up the atmosphere.Would recommend getting to the Castle for the 1 o' clock cannon shoot,will definitely wake you up.We also tried both restaurants the North Bridge and the Vermillion.Both were excellent for both food and service.Staff once again very friendly especially Beth in the Vermillion.
The only slight complaint we found was the room service breakfast which arrived that morning late and a bit cold.We didnt think it was worth the 35 pound charge.
All in all though a brilliant stay in a brilliant hotel in a brilliant city.Will definitely stay here again.*****

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights for my 40th birthday the last weekend in April. Have stayed in 4/5 stars in past and this was superb. Room was upgraded to suite making the experience even more special. Room excellent with unbelieveable views of the old town and castle. Staff helpful especially Andrew concierge. Had breakfat in bed for first time since having 2 small children, it was fabulous hot, fresh delivered on time and in the privacy hatch! Lunch in brasserie great and they did special offers on cocktails! No need to take most toiletries fab products in room, shower was great. Spa was worth a visit. Overall our trip to Edinburgh was far better than we expected and the Scotsman helped make it an experience we will always remember.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean superb romm and facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing