We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scotsman Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$323
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$280
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$247
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$194
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$178
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$731
$568
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,696)
Filter reviews
2,696 results
Traveler rating
1,339
694
363
171
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,339
694
363
171
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotsman newspapernorth bridge brasserieprivacy hatchroyal miletrain stationmarket streethealth clubdeluxe roombeautiful hotelsteam roommini baran upgradebirthday treatbeautiful roomcentral locationcalton hillprincess street
Filter
Updating list...
2,279 - 2,284 of 2,696 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Very central hotel great staff and quirky layout. There is no air con in the rooms and even on the nights we were there and it was very cold outside at night the room was very hot and we had to run the electric fan all night. Goodness knows what its like in the summer. The loo seat was split ( how was that missed in a 5 star hotel?) but was quickly replaced. The banging fire door outside our room was reported twice but not fixed and no one came back to us on it. It woke me up at 1.15am and 6.00 am on the first night and 6.15am on the second. Would we go back? Probably not ,at their prices there must be hotels in Edinburgh were you can get a nights sleep in a cooler room for less. But top marks to the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogparsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the sights of Edinburgh and the attached restaurant is wonderful. The spa is really nice with a unique pool. I recommend you stay if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

This is probably the best situated hotel in Edinburgh as it is equally close to site seeing and shopping and located right in the heart of Old Town. It is a short walk down the street from the city's main attraction: Edinburgh Castle. The hotel is old, but they have sensibly updated the key areas of importance: bathrooms and TV's. My room on the 4th floor contained a fully updated huge spa bathroom. The room was outfitted with the obligatory flat screen on the wall. The 12' ceilings with dark wood trim and tartan drapes and bedding gave the room a uniquely Scottish feel, which I appreciated. The only dings were that they didn't quite figure out how to configure the closet so that the door would open without hitting the bed. Also, the noise at night of drunk partiers at some bar beneath the window yelling (3 nights in a row) was slightly annoying. Otherwise, the room was great. Dinner in the hotel was excellent. The staff memorized my name which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrqjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have stayed in the scotsman a couple of times and every time the position of the place amazes me. It's close to everything but as soon as you enter the hotel it's very cosy and laid back, they have fabulous wine, great service and good food. All in all a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GelcoBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This central Edinbugh hotel is perfect in every way - there is nothing more to say except THANKYOU to everyone who was working during the weekend of the 19th March, you are all great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews