We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

This hotel was perhaps a bit overpriced, but otherwise very nice.
Would probably go again.
The rooms were clean. Service was generally good. No problems at all!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    591
    311
    157
    108
See reviews for
301
1,262
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Just returned from an excellent stay at this hotel - from making the booking to our departure we found the staff friendly and helpful which made it for us. Being 7 months pregnant I called to request a larger bed than the standard Queen size (to accommodate bump and usual array of support pillows) and we were allocated a huge room with a deluxe king. A great first impression to be so helpfully accommodated which made all the difference to us (and contrary to other reviews we found the room an ideal and adjustable temperature). Once checked in (helped by the very friendly concierge) we checked out the spa area, which is perhaps slightly in need of some TLC (a bit dark and a bit worn) but still felt decadent. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant in the evening, marked again by excellent service. Breakfast was equally good. Reluctantly we checked out but were sent on our way, again by the friendly concierge, hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

If you go for the suites, it's money well spend. The concierge is the best in Edinburgh and the overall service second to none. We've spent a lot of time in the usual suspects, t'was a complete waste of time and money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piping007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

What an amazing hotel, so traditional with traditional values. We had a deluxe room with amazing views of Princes street and so warm and comfortable with fresh towels twice a day and turn down in the evening. Reasonable in room dining rates. Lovely breakfast, we didnt need to upgrade to full scottish as the porridge and selection without was lovely. Service and attention at this hotel is second to none, i would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a wonderful xmas shopping trip and so handy for all the big shops of Edinburgh. 10 out of 10 to the Scotsman.!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerseygn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I spent our vacation in Edinburgh at the Scotsman and what a truly lovely hotel it was - both for location, surroundings and the people who worked there. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and our room was one of the nicest we've ever stayed in and definitely one of the "best value for money" rooms we've ever had. We highly recommend The Scotsman.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuPhPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at the Scotsman. We had already stayed at one of their sister hotels, The Glasshouse, which is just around the corner, and very much enjoyed the stay, but thought we'd "upgrade" slightly.
We arrived at 12.30pm and was told our room wasn't ready, but if we left a contact number they'd call us when it was, so we went off for some dinner and by 3pm we hadn't had a call so we called back to the hotel to find the room ready!!!

First thing we noticed was how hot the room was, it was unbearable to be honest and the room was very small with only a double bed, you would normally have a king size in a 5 star room , The Glasshouse rooms and bed were huge in comparison.

We turned the thermostat down, the radiators off and had to open the windows when we went to bed, but could only open it about 6 inches. We left the curtains open, but we got no sleep at all because of the main road outside, which a huge amount of ambulances keep using and the drunks leaving the pubs as late as 3am screaming and shouting!!! There is a fan provided but is as as useful as a chocolate fire guard.
The next day we left the windows open all day to keep the temperature down and then shut them at the last minute before going to bed, we then set the fan up at the foot of the bed, in the hope we may get some sleep by cutting out the noise, but the bed was uncomfortable and it was still too hot.
There must be some other form of heating getting into the room.

Apart from the room issue, we found the staff to be very helpful and professional and the rooms were clean. We did not have breakfast as we are not paying the sort of money they want and considering the cost of the rooms, breakfast should actually be included, but considering the great location of the hotel there are plenty of places to get breakfast within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Had a 5 night stay here in late November 2009.
It has a good central location and the staff are very attentive and informative.
Our room was incredibly hot and stuffy. Even with the radiators turned down it was still oppressively hot. .The cheap and nasty little fan provided in the room is not fit for purpose. Our solution was to open both windows wide,get some air and a good earful of central Edinburgh's night time sounds.- Buses,ambulances,taxis and carousing drunks.
The coffee served at breakfast was vile,even by UK standards. The Breakfast room staff were obviously under instruction to sell the resident the cooked breakfast option. Once is understandable but to be asked the question daily, by 3 different members of staff whilst you are eating the ok buffet breakfast ,quickly becomes boring and then irritating.
When we checked in,i advised the receptionist that i would be the paying the bill with cash. "OK " said he ,adding that he needed my credit card details "for security"- "Ok "-said i
At the end of our stay i settled our bill ,in cash,as agreed. Imagine my surprise and anger when i then discovered that the Hotel had also taken money from my current account. This was rather annoying and became even more annoying when i discovered that the amount requested from my bank was £230 more than what i was contracted to pay. All rather shoddy. I would state that the Reception Manager quickly and efficiently acted to return the money to my account. .Don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing