We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 5 Star Hotel we've visited”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2009

My husband and I decided to take a short break in Edinburgh and thought we'd try the Scotsman Hotel on North Bridge as previously we had stayed at the Sheraton Grand and wanted to sample something different.
It was absolutely wonderful in every way. the stafff were all friendly and chatty without being intrusive. The room overlooked North Bridge down towards Princes Street and was beautiful in detail and decor and very spacious.
There was a Scotsman newspaper delivered to the room every morning (hung on the outside door handle in a blue velvet bag!) and the array of teas, coffees. hot chocolate were probably the best we've seen in a hotel. We've been to quite a few 5 star establishments but this was definately the best and so deserving of its rating.
For once, the wi-fi was actually free which is very unusual and my husband had a lovely time at the swimming pool and sauna.
The breakfast was amazing with the best continental choice we've seen and hot breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious.
This year alone, we've stayed at Cameron House Loch Lomond and Marr Hall Renfrewshire and neither of these 5 star hotels were a patch on the Scotsman.
We can't wait to return, it was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bleachyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,449 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2009

Just fantastic - we arrived on Friday afternoon and from our first contact with the porter to the time we left on Sunday night everything was brilliant. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was lovely and relaxing. I used the gym and went to 2 spinning classes, which were excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend and the staff really made it. We ate in the brasserie on Saturday evening and the food was outstanding too. Absolutely no complaints and I would definitely go back.

One thing to note - I booked originally on "Laterooms.com" and paid £380 room only. I then checked the website direct and got the same standard of room for £342 B&B - worth checking that before booking.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fogmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

One of my favorites. The thing I love most about this boutique hotel is that the transition from the old home of "The Scotsman" newpaper to a beautiful hotel. They have taken great care in keeping little reminders of it's past throughout the hotel which is filled with character.
The team made us feel very welcome and were attentive from start to finish.
The rooms are very clean & have all of the amentities of a 5 star hotel....and more!

There was a third guest staying in my friends room but when they returned to their room in the evening his fold out sofa had not been made up. A call was made to reception to rectify and their solution was well beyond anyone's expectations...he was given the adjoining room which happened to be a 2 storey penthouse...madness!

We are all pretty hotel fussy but on this occasion we we're struggled to find a fault.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnePirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The hotel has a great location for the city center. You can exit the rear doors and walk right into the train station. Its a small boutique type hotel. It can be hard to find your way around as it is a bit dark and narrow with multiple dark doors so you mistake someone's room for the exit to the lift. Waiting for the lift can also be annoying if you are in a hurry. The room was a fair size and the shower in the room is nice but the tub is a bit small so you don't have a lot of space to have the shower. Their towels must be very new as they leave fluff all over you. The staff were very friendly but you waited a long time to get their attention as there is only one of each, so check in and check out take ages. I thought the bed was comfortable but the room is too dark. Overall, its an average hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Lovely people, lovely view, lovely service, good sized room

Really can't praise this place enough. The only time I've stayed in a hotel in this country (other 5 stars included) where I've not left with even the slightest sense of disappointment.

Thoroughly good value for money and would definitely go back.

Didn't get to check out spa facilities though so couldn't comment on those.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank emekanjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I have just returned from a short trip in Edinburgh with my husband, and we stayed at the Scotsman. The hotel was lovely, room spacious and nicely furnished. Service by all staff was excellent, and the restaurants they recommended super. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.

The hotel was central to all of the city, so made exploring on foot easy. Note the car park is part of the train station but you can park outside and unload etc so no real issue.

Spa area nice too, and treatments well priced (not over the top expensive like some 5star hotels) - although they get booked up quickly!

Best restaurant in Edinburgh was the 'Plumed Horse' - mid week supper a must.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Bedroom was dark and hot couldnt see out of the window
swimming pool was so dark and gym was freezing
no where to have a coffee or read the papers
shabby dark place and even the breakfast was served in a basement with a very low ceiling
pleased to leave
porter was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,951 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,715 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $128 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing