We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked the Scotsman”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We really enjoyed the Scotsman. We were traveling with our teen-aged son and so booked an Editor's Suite with a rollaway bed. It had plenty of room and was quite luxurious. The room had all kinds of amenities, we especially enjoyed the high-tech light switches. We didn't spend the extra money for a view of the Firth, but I think I would next time I stayed here.
We had two complaints. The room got stuffy at night and there was no AC. Maybe they don't need it often in Edinburgh. We did open the windows, which helped a bit. Also, most of the staff was Eastern European and didn't seem to know much about Edinburgh. Fortunately, we have friends in the city and they took us around, and gave us good hints on restaurants and pubs.
Our room came with a full breakfast. We also ate lunch at the hotel the first day when we arrived, and the food was very good. The swimming pool and health club were very surreal. Unfortunately, we didn't make time for using the pool but it would have been fun.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
There are newer reviews for The Scotsman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,041 - 2,047 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Scotsman Hotel is conveniantly located in a beautiful baronial style building on the North Bridge midway between the cobbled streets of the royal mile and the bustling shop lined Princes Street.

I travelled to edinburgh with a friend for the weekend and as we caught an early morning flight from Belfast our room was not ready when we arrived at the hotel however the warm, welcoming staff were on hand to take our bags and contacted us as soon as the room was availible. We reserved a deluxe twin room for our stay at The Scotsman which had various quaint touches such as a fireplace, a privacy hatch and Edinburgh Monopoly. The beds were among the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

Breakfast is served in the Club room and offers a wide range of culinary delights ranging from your full scottish to delicious seafood delicacies. Unfortunatly the experiance was slightly tarnished on the last day when the arrival of a new chef meant that we waited almost 30 minutes for some white toast and a cooked breakfast, however as usual the food was marvellous when it arrived.

The hotel's North Bridge Brasserie was not open due to renovations during our stay however been based in the centre of Edinburgh there were plently of restaurants available, the hotel itself has an excellent restaurant called "vermillion" while on Princes Street The Balmoral Hotel offers "Hadrian's Brasserie and the mitchelin starred"Number One Restaurant".

Overall we had fantastic stay in The Scotsman and would certainly stay in this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LegsEleven08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Just back from a weekend at The Scotsman. We arrived with high expectations and 95% of the reality lived up to them. But walking down North Bridge on Sunday, weighed down by our bags, to the car park half a mile away, it was the niggley wee things that were bugging us, niggly things that when you are paying lots of good money to stay in a 5 star hotel, you are simply entitled not to have to expect.

Great hotel, amazing building, well converted, wonderful views, fantastic ambience, superb central location. The spa underneath was a wonderful way to start each of the 2 days we stayed, lovely quiet pool. Breakfast was very good. Our room, one of the small publisher suites, was big and very comfortable indeed, lots of nice touches. It really did feel like a 5 star experience.

The one big drawback that to an extent is not the hotel's fault, is the lack of any sort of parking. Guests have to battle from wherever they can park (not easy in summer in central Edinburgh) to reach the hotel, not the best start weighed down with luggage. Basically, we expect the solution to the parking problem to be provided by the hotel (valet-parking, acquisition of a nearby parking lot, whatever), not to have to be provided by us having to lug our bags around Edinburgh and paying an additional £50 to NCP etc for parking.

The room certainly had the feel and appearance of being 5 star. However, being picky (which we're entitled to be given the cost of staying), the bath was stained with a yellow hue, the double bed was in fact two sandwiched singles appearing as a double (really, really poor - OK in Mrs MacGlumpher's B&B, but criminal in a 5 star hotel!), although there were lovely products in the bathroom, there was a lack of body lotion. In a five star hotel you certainly expect your body wash to have its accompaniment of body lotion.

These are all points that kind of dampened what was otherwise a great experience. The thing that really got us mad though, and will probably mean that we never go there again and tell the world why, was a tiny thing, of no monetary consequence whatsoever to us or the hotel. Wifi is advertised as available in all rooms. Great, we wanted to check film times, so laptop out, plugged into cable at desk (reception told us to our surprise that there was in fact no wifi) and there's a message from the hotel saying that internet connection costs £1 for each 15 minutes. Rang reception, yep, that's the case. This is a 5 star hotel - billed as Edinburgh's finest - and they have to take an extra £1 off us (in amongst the numerous hundreds of £s already and otherwise very happily being paid) to access the internet for 20 minutes. Just unbelievable, literally.

On checking out, I raised the issue with Ian at Reception (unfortunately not Neil who the previous night had been beyond excellent). A mumbled "that's hotel policy" was his only response. Being the worst complainer in the world, we handed our credit card over, turned tail and set off down North Bridge... A truly fantastic weekend and otherwise wonderful hotel experience, tainted for the sake of 1 measly pound.

Basically, wonderful hotel, but if you're in the 5 star league (which you are and should be) get a grip and understand what that means.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Onholiday88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I was excited to stay at the Scotsman after passing by on a previous trip to Edinburgh. The hotel is prominently and conveniently located, and has character alongside quirk which was, at first, charming.

We arrived at night after a very long drive and drove in circles looking for the entrance. Turns out, the main entrance is what looks more like a side door. There is no valet parking, and parking is by the station which is very dark and not someplace I'd feel comfortable walking alone. We were told to ring the buzzer at the back door after parking and bring our own bags up that way. After checking in, the porter brought our bags up to our room. There were four of us in two rooms, one room booked on the hotel website, the other booked on another reputable internet booking site. The one booked on the hotel website was very cool and stylish. The rooms were clean, and comfortable (apart from the huge dip in the center of the mattress). The other room was pretty drab and boring, though still comfortable. Both rooms had great views.

One of the rooms was only booked for one night, and at 11:05 am reception rang asking in a very abrupt manor if we were planning on vacating our room. A minute later housekeeping was ringing the doorbell telling us to check out. This urgency annoyed me on a Sunday morning when there was availability in the hotel that night.

I moved into the other room with my friend for the next 3 days, and continually experienced frustration with some of the front desk staff's lack of personality or helpfulness. It's too bad because some of the staff, namely Gregory, a porter, are lovely.

On our final day, we asked for a porter to help bring the bags down through the maze that is the hotel to the loading zone out back. After waiting for nearly a half hour, I made 3 trips myself having to take 2 different lifts each time because of the hotel's layout. I noticed that a porter was sitting down in the lobby.This really left a bad taste in my mouth.

I was completely disappointed with the Scotsman and wouldn't bother staying there again. It is a very different hotel and has the potential to be unique and fantastic...However the service and some of the rude staff fall VERY short of the 5 star mark. Too Bad....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boston8368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

The good...

Central location
Chic and boutique hotel
Quirky room
Cowshed products in the bathroom
Excellent service
Vermilion restaurant
Fantastic 'Escape' spa onsite - lovely pool!

The bad (ish!)...

TV knackered (room 702)
Mini bar v pricey
Expensive
Brasserie closed for refurb
A la carte breakfast - great for leisure stays but when staying for business you just don't have time to enjoy a long leisurely breakfast unfortunately.

Would stop there again hopefully with my husband for pleasure rather than work. My colleague's room was stifling (#707) and didn't have air-con. She literally could only spend ten minutes at a time in there without pouring with sweat. A fan was provided but the aircon (which was installed) should be working more effectively.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wine_Gums_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Being a local, I recommended that my American friends stay for 6 nights at The Scotsman Hotel, What a mistake! When my friends invited me to stay with them for one night, I was shocked at the lack of service they were experiencing. A list of issues include:
No valet parking;
Extremely rude staff;
Evidently unclean rooms;
Broken elevators (over 4 days)
Limited fresh fruit for breakfast;
I raised the issues with Duty Manager at time - who told me that there had been a recent change in ownership/management.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Murfy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

me and my boyfriend booked the scotsman based on the reviews on this site... and we were not disappointed.

we booked a deluxe room, for £180 p/n, over the (english) bank hol weekend.. ok, a bit steep, but the upgraded us to a junior suite on arrival!! it was amazing.

staff so polite and friendly.. gym amazing, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, cowshed products (i spent FAR too much on these!) - amazing room - paper every morning, complimentary large bottle of mineral water every evening with people offering to help you left right and centre.. even coming to your room every evening offering to turn your bed down!!! only minor gripe.. if i had to have one!! would be that they didn't stock up the mini bar every day like they said they would, so we had to keep ringing down to reception to get extra items.. but they were on the ball with all our requests, to 5 mins!!

GO GO GO. you won't regret it.. if you have any complaints then you are clearly used to staying in ultra posh amazing 5*hotels all the time!!!
this place is wonderful. we had room service for dinner one night too wonderful food, and very reasonably priced for room service... and the mini bar is very reasonable too.

email me if you want any more details, will be only too happy to oblige...

p.s...edinburgh is an amazing city too!! and you must go to the witchery restaurant for dinner (if you can get in) - it is on the royal mile, up near the castle on the left hand side.. its the best restuarant i've ever been to... apparantly its booked up months in advance.. we went in on spec and were lucky because someone hadn't shown up!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank netnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 150 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $191 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing