We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards let down by breakfast service.”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #90 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“High standards let down by breakfast service.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our third stay at The Scotsman so its a hotel we like. Our experience this time was much like that of Aug60 below so I will not repeat all the points which have been made. This is a confident classy hotel with some blips. In terms of service there is a marked difference between the wonderful, welcoming reception and concierge staff and the inattentive, even disinterested brasserie staff. Our experience like others was of arriving into the breakfast room and trying to catch the attention of a staff member. None of the larger tables were available to we were pointed , not led, towards a small table next to the pillar- we had to ask on more than one occasion for salt, pepper and butter to be brought. No-one indicated for example if eggs could be prepared to order. This is an area of service which really needs to be improved. ( The Marine and Houston House of the hotels we have stayed in recently provide much better service.)

We did eat in the brasserie for lunch which was excellent and i felt reasonably priced for the quality and location. The gym and spa area is good but not quite of the quality of the Sheraton. I found the gloom Stygian rather than soothing.

Our room was on the 8th floor and had a split level bedroom and lounge. The view across the rooftops towards the castle and beyond on side and Calton Hill on the other is wonderful. The bathroom is well appointed.

This is a good hotel, well crafted and with unique features from its time as the home of The Scotsman newspaper. We like it otherwise we would not have gone back but at 5* it needs to ensure that the quality is maintained throughout.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been good but the split level rooms on the 8th floor might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Scotsman, I will pass your comments onto our reception and concierge staff.
With regards to the comments regarding the brasserie staff and breakfast service, I have passed all of your comments onto our brasserie manager Iain Gibson who has asked me to pass on his sincere apologies and has assured me that he will take the appropriate steps to address this.
As we are situated in the centre of Edinburgh City and hold an enviable position on the edge of North Bridge we are surrounded by the buildings of the Old Town of Edinburgh I am glad you appreciated the view from your suite!
Thank you for your comments please be assured these have been passed on and will be dealt with accordingly.

I do hope you will return to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    595
    315
    158
    108
See reviews for
304
1,270
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights when attending a wedding and just love this hotel. Firstly the service from every single member of staff is just outstanding. Add to that beautiful rooms, and probably the best gym and spa I have seen in a hotel, and it is always going to be good. But the best bit is the amazing brasserie resturant and bar. Not only is the food fantastic, but the vaulted room is simply fabulous. I can't wait to come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Duty Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more. Thanks again for your valuable feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotman Hotel in the near future.
Warm regards,
Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Afternoon tea at The Scotsman is a real treat! The sandwiches and cakes are delidious and can be accomanied by tea or champagne. The service is perfect -attentive yet discrete. You are made to feel welcomed and special. The room has been decorated beautifully making it a calming sanctury in the middle of this bustling city. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Recently had some spa treatment in the Scotsman hotel a lovely hotel in Central Edinburgh. It was just simply wonderful. Products,staff and whole experience was so good I did not want to leave. This is such a good experience fabulous towels and robes. Temperature of room just right for me .Products used were so relaxing. I had back ,neck and foot massage and I felt so good afterwards. Hotel and Spa staff were so professional and yet friendly and I recommend this to anyone staying in the hotel or even try to book when in Edinburgh.
Afternoon tea which I have had before and which was also excellent and champagne for me next time as well as the spa treatment.
Look forward to my return visit to the Scotsman hotel a real 5 star experience. Despite the hotel being very close to the station and in the middle of Edinburgh inside the hotel is very quite and calm. A sea of tranquility reigns.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Overall was very pleased with my stay.

Positive:

Great concierge staff. Consistently helpful, friendly, knowledgeable. I ask alot of questions, and they never made me feel that I was imposing or being annoying.
Large towels in bathroom--so many hotels--even nice ones--have skimpy towels. These were excellent.
Large gym on the premises, with classes too (though I didn't take any). It's quite a maze finding it, but worth it.
Complimentary bottle of water nightly
Location can't be beat

Negative:

No makeup mirror. This is a pet peeve of mine. I don't understand how top hotels ignore this; it's a necessity for women, and probably some men too.
Lighting in room was poor. At night, half the room was barely lit, as there is no overhead lighting. Lamps were fine for targeted lighting, but overall room was inadequate. Contrast with bathroom lighting which was excellent.
Shower. Great shower, but....the shower head is above, and the controls are at the back, so you have to get hit with water when you first turn it on. This may not be the case in all rooms, but it was in mine. Quite annoying.

Would I stay here again? 50/50. If I could get a good deal at another top hotel, I'd take it. If not, I'd probably return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aug60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at The Scotsman. Lovely old building in a great location, situated in Edinburgh's Old Town, just roubd the corner from the Royal Mile. Stayed in an Executive Room which was very spacious with a huge bed, nice decor, and lovely bathroom. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalTips42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I, tired and weary having travelled nearly six hours by rail, stumbled across the road from Waverley station and into the comfort of the Scotsman Hotel, previously the HQ of the Scotsman newspaper. Reception staff and concierges were polite, knowledgeable and friendly, and we were led through the maze like building to our room, looking straight out over Waverley station to the Balmoral Hotel.

Our room (202) was sizable, with a large bed, which was extremely cosy and comfortable. The minibar was well stocked, reasonably priced and had a good selection of drinks and nibbles to choose from. The surround sound system controlling the sound from the TV was frightfully sensitive, and one notch on the + volume button sent the noise skywards, so took some getting used to! Bathroom was a good size, with a nice hot shower and a huge mirror, a part of which was heated to prevent it from steaming up. Although in the centre of town and directly above a nightclub, the room was surprisingly quiet and relaxing, albeit a little on the hot side.

The breakfast was excellent, with plenty to choose from - continental, cooked and many other items that could be freshly cooked for you. We ate in the restaurant on one night, and chose from the pre-theatre menu, which had a narrow, but very fine selection of food to choose from.

We both had a relaxing massage after we arrived, which helped us get over our long journey. I used the steam room, tropicarium and sauna numerous times, and ventured into the arctic shower after using the sauna - character building would be one way to describe that experience! My only criticism of the sauna was that there was no egg timer to keep track of time spent in there.

After three nights, our stay came to an end, and after a hearty breakfast and having to part with a not insubstantial amount of money, we sadly said goodbye and stumbled back across the road to the station for our long trip back home.

Recommended for couples, not so much for families

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhysdavies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,735 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
608 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing