We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in excellent location”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
368 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and stayed here one night. The converted newspaper office was wonderful. We enjoyed the classic Edwardian interiors. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Our room was a little quirky in its layout, but very comfortable. The hotel is across the street from the train station, but the hotel is quiet. We had both breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. The food and service was excellent. The hotel is centrally located and close to everything you would want to see. We would stay here again and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    590
    311
    157
    108
See reviews for
300
1,261
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We are a family of 4 - kids aged 7 and 9. We were staying over half term, for 4 nights,from 28th October - 1 November. There were positives and negatives, but overall the hotel fell short of expectations. However, with a few tweaks ( all mainly staff related) it has immense potential.
Positives for a family stay:
Room - publisher suite - large spacious room ideal for family of 4. Kids had large pull out beds. Plenty of large soft towels ( possibly the most generous supply we've ever had), good entertainment system ( we brought DVDs for evening movies), comfy beds and excellent shower. Even with 2 extra beds, room had sofa, armchair and dining table for 4. Robes and towels. Umbrella for wet nights. Unpretentious and unfussy ( and not much for children to break!). Evening turndown service with fresh water.
Location - excellent - couldn't be surpassed - right in centre of town - 5 minutes to buses and tours on Princess Street, 15 minutes walk with kids to the Castle, about 20 minutes to Dynamic Earth.
Concierge: Fabulous recommendations for food - Whiski / Angels with Bagpipes and advice on transport.
Reception staff: efficient and friendly. I noticed some errors with our billing which were rectified immediately. We asked for a check out at 12pm which was no problem.
Breakfast ( see negatives also ): Kids loved the cooked breakfast selection and the pancakes and waffles. The scrambled eggs were always moist - not easy on a buffet breakfast.
Management acknowledged the fire alarm going off in a pleasant and helpful manner.

Negatives for a family stay:
Staff: the restaurant staff generally treated diners like an irritation. At breakfast, there was often no one there to meet you, so you stood, and stood, and stood. When eventually you were acknowledged you generally got pointed to a table, not taken to a table.The managers were particularly unfriendly - especially the older gentleman with the moustache who never broke into a smile, and the blonde lady who treated some diners with such disrespect I would have walked out. For example, a family of 5 ( German I think) with mum, dad and 3 teenagers arrived down for breakfast. They asked for a table for 5. She told them they couldn't have it. They asked to have 2 tables pushed together. To which she replied " Other customers might want those tables". All of this within 2 feet of our table. Shocking customer service.
Smell: there is a bad smell in the lift and lower floors - definitely sewage. Would it alone stop me from coming back - no - but surely after all the mentions on tripadvisor someone should be looking into this.
Swimming times: When choosing an hotel for a family say we always look for somewhere with a pool for a swim before or after our activities. What we were unaware of was that kids swimming hours are 9-11.30am and 3-5pm. This makes it impossible to have a swim before breakfast or after a day out. Even chain hotels have more child friendly hours than this. I do appreciate that kids shouldn't be allowed until 10 pm but an earlier start ( how many kids sleep until 9?) and a slightly later afternoon time would certainly make it more attractive to families.
Housekeeping: Room not cleaned by 3.00pm - we'd been out since 8.45am ( without using the pool!!). When I phoned to check when it would be done I was told rather abruptly that they worked until 4.30pm. Customer service? When we checked in there was a tray in our corridor which was there for 24 hours. The following the day all the glasses from our room sat in the corridor for 24 hours.
Restaurants : Average. We had much nicer meals at the concierge's recommendation. The evening menu never changed once during our 5 day stay - no specials. LImited wine menu with the Sauvignon Blanc sold out and no-one available to recommend an alternative.
Bar - As above, had run out of basic drinks, including Baileys. Reason - a big party at the weekend (??!)

In summary, the hotel didn't ruin or enhance our trip. it was average. Such a waste.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We dined in the Brasserie one damp evening in October. The welcome was warm and the service attentive without being intrusive. There are a range of menus but we chose the pretheatre menu which was excellent value for money. Although not so extensive as the dinner menu there was still a good choice for a 'veggie' and a 'carnivore'.
The food was well cooked and delicious.
The surroundings are elegant and most impressive.
We have eaten there before and look forward to doing so again soon.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here but the Ladies' loo is amazing.there are beautiful orchids and quality t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely building -great location

Went with my 2 daughters -they had avery nice room and enjoyed their stay

I however had a different experience,my room was not as nice but I was not too worried about that as is was still fine.But I left the hotel feeing exhausted for two very basic reasons

My bed was short and slotted below a wall mounted padded headboard, which meant my feet dangled 6 inches over the bed and I am only 6 foot 0.

Even worse was that he curtains did not interlock so there were gaps where they met.There was also a gap from the floor and at the curtain rail. All this resulted in them not blocking out the light -so each morning I was awaken by the dawn light whether I wanted to or not - no need to book a wake up call here!

A basic requirement of a hotel is to provide a good nights sleep - and a 4/5 star hotel like this should unquestionably have a functioning blackout curtain or blind

Disappointing , will only return if he hotel can guarantee me a room that would provide a good nights sleep

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eamonn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by the really excellent Ivor but sadly downhill from there. Tortuously slow lifts, dirty bar glasses, failing room keys, an unusually dark swimming pool and staff moaning to each other a little to loudly about not getting paid properly - great location, reasonable rooms, good breakfast but this hotel needs some sharper management to call itself 5 star.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel has an old world charm and luxurious touches. Our room had a full wall of dark wood closets. Half of this opened to reveal the television, bar, refrigerator and tea service that pulled out from the wall. We found the staff in the lobby very helpful and we got a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner. The breakfast buffet was bountiful and had lox, smoked fish and a large assortment of cheeses and pastries in addition to the usual Scottish breakfast. In addition to the main entrance, the hotel has a downstairs entrance that is somewhat obscure, and you have to push a button for the desk to buzz you in, but it saves you a lot of walking if you have luggage and you're going to the Waverley Bridge for the airport bus. The hotel is in a great central location for strolls on the Royal Mile or any of the main tourist attractions in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A fine old property that hasn't rested on its laurels, updated discreetly, while maintaining its stately décor. Located just across the street from Waverley Train Station, and 1/2 block from the Royal Mile, perfect for visitors coming into Edinburgh and a good hub for traveling further in Scotland. Staff was knowledgeable and very attentive to the needs of the guest. bed was very comfortable, and the trouser press was a welcome touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinoDaGusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing