We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“communication.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“communication.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel had all the amenities we wanted and the rooms were spacious and lovely. The communication between the staff unfortunately left a lot to be desired. We booked the night before arrival and when we arrived they didn't seem to have any record of us. We confirmed the pre -booked dinner when we arrived, but when we got to the restaurant at the pre-booked time they had no record of the booking. We had a lovely relaxed stay in spite of this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth23353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

With regards to the communication you experienced between our staff and departments I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this and assure you that this is not the standard of service that we endeavour to achieve. I have passed on your comments to our teams and their managers have already addressed these with their staff.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay despite these problems and truly hope that you will choose to return to the Scotsman to allow us to show you the 5 star service we are proudly known for.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    581
    305
    154
    104
See reviews for
292
1,242
96
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed with my husband for a 2 night weekend break. Upon arrival the receptionist upgraded our bedroom and let us check in immediately - as we were up at 4 am that morning it was most welcome. The room was fantastic, ample space, you could just lie in the bed all day it was so comfy. We ordered room service that evening and was delighted with the time it took to arrive in our room. We ordered our breakfast in bed for our first morning in the hotel and I have to say I was extremely disappointed with this meal, we went to the buffet breakfast the following morning and it was superb..............plenty of choice (service was a bit slow that morning).
The nightly turn-down service and complementary bottle of water is a lovely touch. The building is beautiful and we had an amazing time while staying there, the location of this hotel is perfect - so central to everything. We did not use the spa so cannot comment on this but we did use the hotel swimming pool and like everything else in the hotel is spotless clean. I would love to return here again sometime soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 260Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

With regards to your disappointment with breakfast in bed as you have not stated anything specifically I am sorry but I am unable to comment with any clarity on this; I do however, apologise that we did not meet with your expectations.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us in the future is an added bonus; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed just for one night as a gift from good friends. The Scotsman is beautifully positioned at the heart of this amazing city. The hotel is steeped in heratige from the old oak panelling too open log fires dotted around its many floors. The room we had; had a vista that took in the entire royal mile and everything in between. It was beautifully and simply styled with thick heavy bathrobes too boot! The evening meal in the Brasserie was outstanding and one of the best meals we've ever had. The breakfast was also very impressive and enough too keep you going for a full days sightseeing.
All in all a beautiful hotel in an equally beautiful city. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianOhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I would like to thank you for your compliments to our Executive Head Chef and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed every element of your stay with us; we look forward to you returning to stay with us in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed with my friend for a 2 night weekend break, Room was very spacious and very well equipped, we had requested a twin room and when offered a double at check-in we expressed our preference and this was sorted immediately. Beautiful old building generally in good condition but some faults as is to be expected from remodeling, (only complaint would be a smell at back stairs occasionally but was probably old pipes). Found all the staff to be most helpful and quick to assist, (with the possible exception of I think it was "Martin" in the Brasserie who was a little curt and oversensitive to any queries/problems)
Our room also looked onto the train station and near the bridge as previously referred to but we did not find ANY noise as windows were more than efficient for this (maybe if windows were to be opened might be a little noisy but nothing major - However it was January!)
Only thing which we found a little disappointing was the Pool/Spa Area - Pool was fairly cold, and a dark rather than atmospheric area we thought. Also back entrance near here can be fairly isolated so might not suit some people.
I would highly recommend this hotel in general Pricing seems to be a relative thing depending what you're used to but for a major (VERY beautiful and lively) city I thought it was good enough. Maybe 4 Stars would be a more accurate rating and wouldn't really recommend it for families.

Room Tip: As all rooms are different it is really up to personal taste, however if it is Summer time maybe not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I am sorry that you found our pool area to be “fairly cold;” we always keep the pool water to a comfortable temperature and this is checked on a regular schedule throughout the day. Our pool area is designed to be relaxing and soothing with atmospheric lighting however I do appreciate that this will not be to all of our guest’s tastes and I am sorry that we did not meet with your personal expectations.

With regards to our star rating we are annually audited by several organisations such as Visit Scotland and the AA and are proud to maintain our 5 star rating; I am sorry that you feel we have not met your expectations during your stay.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be recommending us is an added bonus; we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is right in the centre and very convenient for the train station and the city. The staff went above and beyond to respond to all our various requests. The room was very large and had all we wanted. We slept really well, which I think is the most important thing for any hotel. Downsides are that it is quite expensive and the restaurant has a cold feel to it (in terms of decor and seating).

Room Tip: This is a city centre location so it is near some busy roads. Higher floors should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

I would like to offer you an assurance that our accommodation is priced competitively with all other 5 star city centre restaurants in Edinburgh and we always ask our guest’s to contact us directly to ensure we are able to offer our best available rates.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Enjoyed a night here on a business trip. Had a suite on the 8th floor. Lots of space, well laid out & spotlessly clean. All mod cons supplied. The hotel's architecture is stunning with plenty marble, glass & wood throughout. Food was nice though not cheap. Didn't have time to visit the spa but that looked great too. Very central location. Staff friendly without exception. All in all excellent. Would like to return with my wife for a treat.

Room Tip: 8th floor suites if you can manage it. I've spoken to others who commented the standard rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us in the future is an added bonus; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Scotsman.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at The Scotsman for 2 nights commencing 18th feb 2013. My family and I were allocated two lovely rooms. Although both rooms were beautiful they were a little tired in places. On arrival we decided to eat in the brasserie as our rooms were not ready. With two tired young children in tow it was the nearest place to go. Our girls are aged 6 and 3, the children's menu on offer in the hotel is very different and not to our daughters' taste. I did request an alternative from the chef but this request was declined by the brasserie staff. Therefore the following day we ate out. Breakfast is very good as was the spa. Very little is provided for children, and the only place to relax is a small guest lounge with no views and feels very 'out of the way' or the brasserie restaurant. Not ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

I am sorry that you feel your visit to the Brasserie did not meet with your expectations for your daughters but pleased that you found your rooms to be at the high standard for which we are proudly known.

We do cater for children as you have mentioned with our children’s menu however I appreciate that children have their own specific likes and dislikes and I am sorry we were not able to offer something to their tastes.

I would like to thank you again for the time you took to write this review; we value all of our guest’s feedback and hope that you may return to the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing