We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in the heart of Edinburgh”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is not cheap but it is good. Very good. Comfortable and well appointed rooms, staff friendly without being over-familiar or intrusive, and an excellent restaurant in-house. Lovely cocktails in the bar at street level. I would love to be able to stay in hotels like this more often. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms, but the standard rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
You will always receive our best available rates directly with the hotel itself and I would respectfully suggest that should you choose to return you contact our reservations team; I hope to welcome you back in the future when you can enjoy some more of our mixologists wonderful cocktails and dining with our Executive Head Chef’s imaginative menu
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    590
    311
    157
    108
See reviews for
300
1,261
99
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment I walked through the door to the concierge ordering my taxi back to the airport the experience at this hotel was excellent. The staff are welcoming, professional and friendly and your every need anticipated.
The rooms are of a high quality and have everything you need from iron, trouser press, quality toiletries, thick fluffy towels, quality cotton sheets, slippers, tea, coffee, buscuits and complimentary bottles of water provided at night.
The health and leisure club was great with pool, sauna, steam room, gym & spa bath.
I found it very difficult to leave the hotel for sightseeing
Location wise it is excellent for a short walk to the castle and also onto Princess St for the main shopping area.
Food was of an excellent quality both at breakfast and dinner in the Hotels restaurant.
This Hotel will be the standard I judge all others at going forward. Thank you

Room Tip: Just let the Hotel know if it is a special occassion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Civelek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay and we are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special.
It is an excellent compliment to be deemed as the hotel to which you will judge all others and I should like to thank you for such a compliment; we hope you will return to stay with us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed 5th-7th December for a special occasion as a couple, we were given a warm and friendly greeting by both the receptionists and concierge. On checking in we were pleasantly surprised to be allocated an upgrade to the Editors Room which was wonderful and very appreciated. The room was extremely spacious will great views over Princes Street and the German Market. The hotel is full of character in it's style and is located directly across the road on Market Street from Waverley Station. The hotel can be accessed by a lift to reception. We had a great stay and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a special time in the city. Also a special mention to Claire Thomas Operations Manager for the lovely welcome card and treats.

Room Tip: room on 3rd floor upwards facing north over Princes Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifer1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the little selection of nibbles we sent to your room and very much hope to welcome you back to the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the scotsman for a weekend to celebrate a friends 40th birthday recently. This is not a budget hotel by any stretch of the imagination but I feel that the luxurious room and hotel decor throughout proved good value for money on the whole. Traditional scottish style with the use of tweeds and tartan, the rooms we stayed in were of a very high standard. My husband and I were lucky enough to be upgraded to a large room with a bay window in the corner which offered spectacular panoramic views along Princes Street and right out to the coast. The room itself was furnished to a high standard with comfy chairs, kingsize bed flat screen TV and a really well stocked minibar. We got breakfast in bed delivered to our room on the last morning of our stay which at £16.95 each seemed expensive but was very delicious and rounded off our weekend perfectly. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely stay with great service from all staff.No complaints at all from any of our party.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be recommending us to your family and friends is an added bonus; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff was helpful and cheerful, and checked on our room three times a day to make sure everything was perfect. Love that they bring you the paper in the morning and a flagon of water in the evening.
Our room was absolutely awesome, large and roomy, with a sound system, flat-screen telly, well-stocked minibar, safe, bathrobes and slippers. Not the best view, perhaps (high windows), but the room was very quiet and the bed was large and comfortable. Curtains were amazing, as they shut out the light so effectively.
Bathroom was also super, although I wish it was possible to turn the heating up in there. Waterfall shower is the best shower I've ever used.
The Spa was great, nice pool with low lighting so as not to reveal all the cellulites :D Also had a bubblebath, sauna, steam room and tropical room. These last three had a strong rose smell in them, which was probably meant to be relaxing but really just made us feel queasy.
Free wi-fi is also essential, and the connection was fast and reasonably reliable.
We loved it, and hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiestardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
As the Scotsman, we were originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. This means that all of our rooms are individually sized and styled giving a real feeling of originality and quality to all of our rooms and suites.

Thank you for your comments about the aroma in the Spa area; I have passed these onto our Health Club Manager who has checked that the settings are as they should be.

It is wonderful to hear that you will be returning to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Thank you for a fantastic stay at The Scotsman! And thank you for upgrading us to The Penthouse on the top of the hotel. We felt like at home, the view was great and we didn't hear all the noise fro the city. We had nice and cold weather during our stay, and unfortunately the apartment was a little cold!
Thank you again!
Nan and Morten, Oslo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful Penthouse suite and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

I am sorry that the temperature was not as you required and I have already asked our Maintenance Manager to ensure that all of the settings are as they should be; it is lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with two friends for two nights to go to the rugby autumn tests. It was our first time stay at the Scotsman and we were really looking forward to it. The Hotel certainly disappoint. From the moment we got there we felt spoilt. Ivor showed us to our rooms which were huge! He pointed out all the features of our room and then showed our friends round their room. We went for cocktails at the bar before having dinner at the north bridge brassiere. Cocktails were delicious with the staffs' new mixes going down a treat! I can strongly recommend the Hendricks rose and the sage mistress. Dinner was delicious too. The following night after the rugby we felt ourselves drawn back to the hotel instead of staying out in town. The only minor niggles was that breakfast took a long time on the second morning due to us arriving straight after a large party and that there is no car park but I guess that's down to the hotels fantastic location. A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location but by far the best feature of this hotel is the staff. The bar staff and front of house are exceptional and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for writing your wonderful review of your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. I have ensured that Ivor and the front of house team have been given your positive feedback. We very much try to ensure that our guests expectations are exceeded. The Bar team is headed up by Coran who delivers a wonderful menu of seasonal cocktails, ensuring that local produce and seasonality are the main ingredient. We hope to welcome you back soon to try our wonderful 2013 menus and enjoy another relaxing stay in Edinburgh at the Scotsman Hotel.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing