We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Scotsman for 3 nights for a mini break in Edinburgh. We had a very enjoyable stay mostly due to the friendly helpful staff. The breakfasts were very nice with plenty of choice. Our room was very comfortable but did get hot at night which made sleeping a little uncomfortable. The wi-fi in the room was very hit and miss we had problems connecting and it was slow.
I used the pool, steam room and sauna which were lovely and my husband had a massage which he said was excellent.
The Scotsman is very centrally located making it an excellent choice for a stay in Edinburgh. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holibug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review further to your stay at the Scotsman Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and relaxing time in the Spa, the Thalgo products that we have are very luxurious and relaxing. It was interesting to note the issues that you had with the WiFi and further to your review we have addressed this at the hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    586
    308
    156
    105
See reviews for
297
1,253
97
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Firstly let me say the hotel is in a great location, close to the Royal Mile and the city centre. The food is excellent and the staff are first class, friendly, attentive. In fact the staff rate amongst the best I have experienced in any hotel either in the UK or abroad.

The trouble I have is with the hotel itself. The room way stayed in was meant to have been an upgrade but was small, and didn't feel clean. In fact the hotel itself felt more like a poor B&B and an unpleasant smell hung the corridors and elevators

The Scottish tourist board really need to reassess the 5 star rating as this hotel falls well short of the standards of a 4 star hotel let alone a 5 star one. It would make be seriously doubt any hotel that has been rated by Scottish Tourist Board. Id feel very sorry for any traveller who had booked and extended stay at the Scotsman on the basis of its current rating. Fortunately my stay was only for one night.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at The Scotsman Hotel.

Having read your comments, I am sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet with your expectations and you left feeling disappointed with some aspects of your stay, particularly your accommodation. As the hotel was built over a hundred years ago, as well as being a listed building, each of our rooms is unique both in terms of size and design and I am sorry that you had left underwhelmed by your guest room.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to personally discuss the various aspects of your feedback by calling me on 0131 556 5565, at your earliest convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you once again for taking the trouble to write a review.

Yours sincerely
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Mrs E and I booked into this Hotel from the 20th November through to the 23rd November 2012 and we stayed in Room 805. The hotel is in a great location across from the main Waverley Train Station. A point to remember here is to exit the Station from the Market Street Exit as the Hotel entrance is directly opposite this exit. Leave via Princess Street and it's a short walk over the North Bridge. Doing this you take the lift up to the Hotel Reception on Street Level on the 4th floor. Here you will be met by fantastic warm and friendly staff both on the reception desk and the Concierge staffing. Lovely people and very professional in their assistance and getting you familiarised with the Hotel. It has two lifts depending on which Bedroom you have been given.
The Rooms we had was fantastic, no views of the castle which you can get here but certainly good in respect of the views we had over the City. The room itself was great with all the facilities you would want. The WiFi reception was excellent and won't leave you wanting when you need the connections for any business. They also have a nightly turn down service and ensure you have fresh towels etc which really gives you a flavour of the class of this Hotel. The public areas were great, very in keeping with it's history and the Northbridge Brasserie where you can get your evening dinner and also breakfast is very good indeed. If there is less seating around the bar area there are tables on the indoor terrace areas above the bar. Lovely place.
we did not have dinner in the evening but only due to meeting friends at other locations.
The breakfast however was really very good indeed. Great selection and choice available and the staff were brilliant.
You will not be dissapointed if you book into this Hotel. We will most diefinitely use it again for future trips to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of the Scotsman Hotel. I have ensured that the team have been given your positive feedback. We are very proud of the team that we have at the Scotsman Hotel and we endeavour to make our guests relaxed and welcome not only in the hotel but in Edinburgh. The location of the hotel is perfect for guests arriving by train, however we do have a discount with a local car park for those who are travelling by car. To meet our guest’s expectations we try to obtain as much information prior to their arrival so that we can assist from the location they shall be arriving. We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and perhaps we can entice you to try the Restaurant on your return visit.
Once again thank you so very much for writing a wonderful review.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked here for one night for a birthday treat for my other half. The location is fantastic. The interior of the hotel is splendid. Check in was quick and efficient. Shown to our room by a lovely lad who explained how to get to the spa from the room. Room was a lovely size, bathroom was gorgeous, with the most amazing shower! Well stocked mini bar, plenty of toiletries. Breakfast was good with plenty choice. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your wonderful experience of the Scotsman Hotel. We are very proud of the hotel and the conversion from it past usage. The Building was converted in 2001 to the beautiful property it is today and we work closely with attention to great detail to ensure that we sustain the beauty of the original features.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

While visiting Edinburgh we decided to have an Afternoon Tea in the Drawing Room Of the Scotsman Hotel. The experience was wonderful with a relaxing elegant ambiance helped by soothing background harp music. The service was exelant and Angela very attentive in explaining all the differant teas and how to prepare them. Everything was well prepared, efficient and delicious giving a real 5 star feel. This proved to be one of the highlights of our visit to Edinburgh and I would recomend anyone going to that beautiful city to try it out.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

Our Drawing room is a wonderfully elegant and relaxing addition to the Scotsman as our Afternoon Tea and I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us; Angela is an experienced and valuable member of our team and was delighted with your comments.

I hope that you will choose to return to Edinburgh in the future and visit us once again; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here on a Sat night for a night without the kids break! First of all the location of the hotel is great, just off the Royal Mile.
Check in was quick and easy.
I wasn't blown away with my first impression of the room. It was ok but nothing special. We had a deluxe room but only a double bed in it. There was ample enough space for a king size bed which I would have thought is standard in a 5 star hotel. The mini bar was also just plonked in the room almost as an after thought. The bed however was very comfortable. Also whoever thought that the 'cathedral window' shaped mirrors in the room looked good needs shot!!
My only other gripe would be the sink in the bathroom. There is not much space to put your toiletries as the sink unit was do small.
The shower however was first class. Great water pressure and decent enough shower gel/shampoo.
I had a couple of hours to kill as my wife was shopping so I went down to the bar. The lager selection was great and the view from the bar stool looking out onto Carlton hill was excellent.
The breakfast in the morning was ok with plenty of selections.
The staff throughout the hotel were great and friendly.
In conclusion whilst the Scotsman is not as good as the Balmoral along the road it is a decent hotel in a great location and its also slightly cheaper than the Balmoral. I would have no problems with staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAlfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

All of our rooms and suites house a selection of queen, double and king size beds as well as twins to enable to us to cater to as many of our guests requests as possible; I am sorry that your bed did not meet your expectations and would kindly request that you state your preference for a king size bed should you choose to return to stay with us in the future.

As the Scotsman, we were originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. This means that all of our rooms are individually sized and styled giving a real feeling of originality and quality to all of our rooms and suites.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I was pleased to read that you will be returning to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends on my recommendation. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice young lad who showed us to our room. One of our party uses a mobility chair and his consideration of this when selecting a suitable room with access was greatly appreciated.

Both of the rooms were clean and tidy, as you would expect of a hotel of this standing, however...on closer inspection the paint was flaking off of the bottom of the bathroom door, and the walls in the corridors were showing the signs of many an encounter with errant suitcase, not would you would expect!!

The location is excellent and within easy walking of all that you need. The only negative during our stay was the the tall, sullen barman who served us our drinks. He seemed to think that he was doing us a favour serving us. I paid for a beer where the barrel needed changing..20 mins later, no drink, no apology and no response. Another barman apologised and gave me a drink "on the house" which I had already paid for!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

I would like to apologise for the service you have commented on in our bar; this is certainly not the standard of service that we are proudly known for and I was very surprised by your comments, please be assured that these have been addressed with our Food Services Manager.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope that you will perhaps choose the Scotsman again should you visit Edinburgh in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. Concierge service is available at The Scotsman Hotel to help you make the most of the city during your stay, simply let our knowledgeable team know if we can assist in any way and take the hassle out of planning your time in Edinburgh. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing