We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Class”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for only one night prior to heading off to my sister's wedding.
We arrived from the airport bus ( a short walk) Up the steps..hint- there is a lift! and there we were. WOW!
The door was opened for us, the lovely reception staff welcomed us as if royalty and Tony showed us to our room.
It was absolutely gorgeous in every way. I had my son with us and his sofa bed was already made up. (I have lost count of the amount of times i have stayed places and they forget to set up his cot and now bed is unreal- it was a pleasant surprise!)

I can't believe anyone could say this place is not 5 star. I have stayed in Marriot and HIlton 5 star resorts and hotels and this is the best! So refreshing to see decor that doesn't look like it came out of a catelogue and the same as everywhere else. This place has taste and class galore! The room 806 was huge, high ceilings and well furnished- it felt like a suite- a sitting area with a fireplace and art on the walls. I thought i'd won the lottery- talk about value for money!

i will go on! Toiletries were gorgeous, sweets in the room ( my boy was delighted) and a mini bar to die for!

I wished we hadn't booked for the theatre that night as i wanted to hang out in the hotel and the room more!

Next morning we were off to the train station ( took the lift this time!) and we were accross the road from the entrance- could not have been closer. Ignore any review which say otherwise- these are ridiculous- you could not get closer if you slept on the platform.

Perfect- can't wait for an excuse to go back!

Room Tip: our room 806- view of Calton hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
I would like to thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff and in particular Tony who was very pleased to read your comments; we are proudly known for the 5 star standard of service that our team offers and I was pleased to read that you experienced this during your stay.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much is an added bonus; we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    612
    319
    160
    111
See reviews for
319
1,295
101
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a most impressive building. We were given an upper floor room with a small study in ther corner turret.
Excellent staff and a real pleasure to be based here for a whistletop visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This 5star Hotel is well situated near Waverley Station, with access from the Market Street Exit by lift. The Hotel is set out confusingly mainly due to its former use as the Offices for the Scotsman Newspaper. Reception could have been more friendly and the lifts are very slow indeed. Staff are helpful and rooms are sometimes on the dark side with paucital lighting. The Brasserie serves good if not outstanding breakfasts. Not overpriced.
All in all a convenient city base.

Room Tip: One with Views of the city rather than the dull internal non vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with some of our Reception staff; as you can see from the majority of reviews on sites such as Trip Advisor our Staff are proudly known for their fantastic service however I am sorry that we did not meet your personal expectations.

I hope that you will return to stay with us in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

the food was excellent ,the staff very good .the only issue we had was they were changing wine suppliers ,we requested a bottle of wine of which they did not have the bar staff supplied a lesser quality wine with out our prior knowledge of which we refused to drink ,so we chose something else to drink .this was the only downside to a great stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeholland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
I am sorry that you had a small problem with the wine that you ordered however I was pleased to hear that this was only a small downside to an otherwise “great stay.”
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
I hope that you will chose to return to us in the future and look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to the Scotsman
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a one-night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday and to go to a rugby match. Hotel staff were very polite and helpful. On arrival were told we had been upgraded from an Editor's room to a Publisher room but what we got was a fairly cold, shabby (stains on carpets, sofas and curtains and the curtains were badly frayed) dungeon located next to the boiler room with a view of a brick wall - definitely not what was described for either an Editor or a Publisher room, not worthy of 5 stars and not worth the considerable sum I'd paid. Complained to reception and after 1 1/2 hours of to-ing and fro-ing we were able to move in to a more acceptable room with a view over the city. Although much happier with this room I would still say it only rated 4 stars (really good sized room and bed but decor and carpet stained and worn in places; some stains on bed throw, slippers and doors, all of which could easily have been cleaned). I've stayed in better 4 star hotels so where's the extra wow factor for the 5th star ?

Had been looking forward to using the spa before dinner but didn't have time due to the delay with the allocation of our room. Breakfast was very good (we were on a B&B rate) and we liked the fact you could choose anything from the cooked menus as well as helping yourelf to the continental buffet. Excellent choice and well cooked.

Overall, a good hotel with helpful and polite staff and good food but overpriced and not worth a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicksyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

I was sorry to read about your disappointment with your original room that was allocated to you but pleased that we were able to offer you a room that more suited your personal expectations.

As we are situated in the centre of Edinburgh City and hold an enviable position on the edge of North Bridge we are surrounded by the buildings of the Old Town of Edinburgh. We always endeavour to allocate our guests rooms with views across the city however I’m sure you can appreciate that due to our position this is not always possible.

I would like to apologise that you feel that we did not justify our 5 star rating to you during your stay and would like to offer you my assurance that Preferred Hotels, Visit Scotland and The AA run several audits throughout the year and we are proud to maintain our rating with them.

I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem our good name with yourselves and that we will see you back at the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location from train station, shops, bars & restaurants. Received an upgrade on arrival & got a lovely big room & huge bathroom, very comfortable bed.
Used the spa facilities, not treatments just pool area, steam & sauna. So relaxing my partner fell asleep on the poolside beds!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.
I hope that you will return to stay with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Scotsman with my daughter, we booked a 2 day spa package & it was excellent! From first walking in we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff. Andrew showed us to our room & explained the working for us, then left us to look around. The room was lovely, with views over the street to Princes street & beyond. We had evening meal on our first night as part of the package & this was a very nice meal, again staff very friendly. Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice. We booked afternoon tea at the hotel which was fab, my daughter throughly enjoyed this as she has a wheat intolerance, but had the choice of a completely gluten free afternoon tea!! a special mention to Angela in the restaurant, she was very polite & informative & remembered about my daughter & her gluten free diet & brought gluten free toast with her breakfast without been reminded. The spa was another enjoyable part of our stay & 3 treatments were included in the package. Had a swim & jacuzzi in the lovely pool after the spa. We would definately return to this hotel & recommend to anyone thinking of staying there. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe twin looking over the bridge, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I would like to thank you for your kind compliments in particular about Angela; I have already personally passed these onto her and our Food Services Manager, Samantha Slight
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us in the future is an added bonus; we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing