We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Dinning service a dissapointment”
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
Ranked #84 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Dinning service a dissapointment”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night the first week of Oct. Front desk and Concierge were very friendly and helpful. The room was very good. It was large with a nice modern bathroom. We loved the history in this building and the location is fantastic.
The dinning room was a bit disappointing, mostly in the service, we were meeting a group and they arrived about 10-15 min late. This seemed to really agitate our waitress who insisted she wanted to take our order right away. We had to politely tell her to come back twice at which point she didn't return for over 15 min to take our orders, at which point she had quite a bit of attitude. We were on holiday and did not wish to be rushed through our cocktails, it was a minor hick-up and the food was very good.

Room Tip: We had a King room with a seating area which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchdecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments and would like to take this opportunity to respond to the points you have made.

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our Reception and Concierge teams; I have already passed on your kind comments to the teams as well as my Front of House Manager, Andrew Boe.

I am pleased you enjoyed the historical nature of the Scotsman and the prime location that we hold on North Bridge.

With regards to your comments about the service you received in the Brasserie I am unfortunately unable to investigate this as thoroughly as I would like due to not having your personal details regarding the date you visited etc. If you would like to write to me directly and supply me with this information I would be more than happy to investigate this with our Brasserie staff.

We always endeavour to deliver a 5 star quality and standard of service and I am disappointed to hear that you have left our restaurant without us being able to meet your expectations; however I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that you feel the service you received was only a “minor hiccup.”

I hope that if you choose to return to Edinburgh you may perhaps, choose to stay with us at the Scotsman and I look forward to possibly welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    612
    319
    160
    111
See reviews for
319
1,295
101
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Visited the restaurant with colleagues. Good Food, service very good. The only complaint would be the wine list which was mediocre. The building, restauarant, rooms, staircase etc are gorgeous

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the North Bridge Brasserie.

I was pleased to hear that you experienced the standard of food and service that we are proudly known for and you and your colleagues enjoyed the fabulous surroundings of the Brasserie.

You have commented on the “mediocre” wine list which, I am a little confused by as our wine list offers a vast choice of white, red and rose wine as well as a selection of Champagne. Should you choose to visit the Brasserie again please take the opportunity to speak to our Food Services Manager, Samantha Slight who will be more than happy to discuss the various wines we have and recommend something suitable for your party.

I look forward to possibly welcoming you back to the Brasserie and perhaps the Scotsman Hotel itself in the future

Kind Regards

Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

we booked a three night stay at the scotsman,for a short break away to relax,It was our ,first time visiting edingburgh,and we definately were not disappointed,from the moment we walked through the door we recieved a very walm welcome,the rooms were immaculate with everything that you could possibly want,all members of staff were extremely attententive and friendly,the food was beautiful,the spa and pool faccilities ,again we couldnt fault them the staff bent over backwards to meet our requests,i will definately be going again hopefully very soon and this time we will be staying longer as we didnt want to leave,and will definately be recommending it to family and friends,i loved everything about it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel; as you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future is an added bonus. I was pleased to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our facilities from the Spa and Health Club to our wonderful menus in the North Bridge Brasserie and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman for that “longer stay.”

Kind Regards

Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Scotsman. The welcome was from the concierge Ivor was efficient and polite, our bags were immediately taken despite the fact that three other people arrived almost simultaneously. We booked the Penthouse Suite and regard this as money well spent as an almost perfect way to spend the last few days of our holiday. The suite is well appointed and very comfortable.

The front desk and all other members of staff attended to our every request promptly and efficiently.

The Hungarian waitress we had at the North Bridge Brasserie restaurant was a gem. Her service to us was friendly and efficient, she even found the time between her tables to chat a little. The time taken to deliver the courses was well timed and the food we ordered was excellent.

You are a short walk away from the Royal Mile which makes the location of The Scotsman almost ideal for a tourist. We had dropped off the hired car at the airport in anticipation of limited parking availability.

We would have no hesitation in recommending The Scotsman to any fellow traveller based on our experience.

Room Tip: If it is within your budget, The Penthouse is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tash&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilized for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

Our Penthouse is such a hidden treasure that it is lovely to hear you enjoyed the beautiful views and stunning 2 floor facilities that the Penthouse offers.

I would like to thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff; Ivor has been with the Scotsman since our opening day 10 years ago and is an experienced, knowledgeable and professional member of our Front of House team. All of our staff believe in delivering the highest level of service whilst ensuring this is done in a relaxed and friendly manner and it is lovely to hear that our waitress had the time to chat with you.

I hope that you will return to Edinburgh again in the future and perhaps treat yourself to another stay in our Penthouse; I certainly look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I booked the Scotsman for a night in September to attend a concert at the castle. The highlight of the stay was the concierge who paid attention to every detail and had a great memory to remember the guests and what they were there for. Loved his tartan trousers. I was dissapointed to be taken to our room at check in time to find that the bed had not been made and the room not cleaned from the previous occupant. We then had to leave the room for it to be cleaned and advised to put our bags in the wardrobe for safe keeping and in doing so the wardrobe handle fell off. We did mention that we were not happy and expected a bottle of wine to return to which didnt appear. Deffinately not 5 star service.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments and would like to take this opportunity to respond to the points you have made.
Our Concierge like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times and I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
The gentleman in the “tartan trousers” who you have spoken about is our doorman Ivor and he has been with the hotel since its opening day 10 years ago. I have passed your kind compliments onto Ivor and my Front of House Manager, Andrew Boe and I would like to thank you for these kind words.
I have to say that I was concerned to hear of your arrival in a room that had not been serviced as this is certainly not a situation I would like to hear of any of my guest’s experiencing.
Due to the profile format on Trip Advisor I do not have any of your personal details so I am unable to comment with clarity on this for you so I would be grateful if you could contact me directly giving me the opportunity to investigate this matter thoroughly and reply to you personally. I have already spoken to my Head Housekeeper, Natasha Meikle who has discussed with her team the importance of attention to detail during their work and she is also keen to find out further details
With regards to your comment about the bottle of wine you requested; I have spoken to Andrew and he has asked all of his team about this and unfortunately no-one has a record of your request. As above if you would be so good as to contact us I am more than happy to investigate this further.
I am sorry that you we did not meet your expectations and that you believe you did not receive 5 star service during your stay; I do hope that you will return and allow us to treat you to the service and standards for which we are proudly known; please contact me directly should you choose to return to Edinburgh and the Scotsman.
Kind Regards
Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel is good,very well positioned,near to everything-shopping area,tourist attractions like the Caste,Whiskey museum,Camera Obscura etc,the railway station and the bus going to the airport. Breakfust is good,one have everything.The hotel has a good gym and spa area,nice service. I would say-a real 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.

As you have said we hold an enviable location in Edinburgh with easy access to both the modern shopping of Princes Street and the old and traditional tourist sights of the Royal Mile; with our Market Street entrance located directly across the road from the Waverley Train Station and a minutes walk to the Airport Bus stop we are indeed “well positioned” for all of Edinburgh’s visitors.

I am pleased to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy our 60 station gym and Scotland’s first stainless steel pool in our Spa and Health Club during your stay.

I must admit I am surprised by your statement of the Scotsman being a “real 4 star hotel” as we proudly hold our 5 star status from Leading Hotel’s of the World, Visit Scotland and the AA and as you have not commented on any aspect of your stay that you were not happy with I can only apologise that we appear to have not met your own personal expectations.

I hope that you may choose to return to the Scotsman in the future when we can offer you the 5 star standard of star we are known for.

Kind Regards

Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a terrific couple of days in this luxury hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Stylishly converted from the Scotsman newspaper HQ some years ago, it's a maze of corridors, reception rooms, spa and gym facilities and beautiful bedrooms, some with superb views of Princes Street and Carlton Hill. Meals are in the Brasserie, which is also a tasteful bar open to the public. The breakfast was amazing with a great choice of food. We had an evening meal there, too, which was very good and reasonably priced for the quality. Staff were polite, efficient and helpful. A wonderful, extremely comfortable stay - we'd go back anytime!

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking Princes Street, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilized for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed so many aspects of the Scotsman Hotel and North Bridge Brasserie and to hear that you will be returning to stay with us in the future is an added bonus.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh and the Scotsman Hotel.

Kind Regards
Thomas Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,811 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Property: The Scotsman Hotel
Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing