We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed only 1 night as were attending a Wedding Evening Reception at the hotel.The check-in was quick and the Receptionist was very friendly.The room was average.Very large room but did feel that it was in need of being refurbished.
The service at breakfast was appauling!When we arrived at breakfast we had to wait for a table to be set for us.A selection of fruit juices available but the fruit for breakfast was tinned peaches,pears and prunes.No fresh fruit or berries.The full breakfast was self-service but we had to return with our plates a second time because some of the trays were empty first time round.
We did expect more from this hotel after paying £152 for 1 night bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marten2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Braid Hills hotel just far enough from the city to be accessible but with a feeling of country. Overlooking spectacular open space, walking tracks and a great spot for a picnic.
Bus stop on road below hotel, few stairs to climb down, 10 minutes to princess street.
Rooms large and with a touch of grandeur. Beds comfortable, but a little on the small side, immaculately clean. No bar fridge. Full breakfast each morning. Yum!
Restaurant very nice indeed, friendly professional staff and food excellent, large portions, well presented.
Generally a fantastic place to stop. We stayed for 5 days, every day a new adventure in beautiful Edinburgh.
Compliments to receptionist Grainne, what an asset to the hotel. We were delighted with the experience highly recommend. A1.

Room Tip: Double with ensuite. Four poster beds available also. Western side of hotel hot during the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pracelebrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Took family to this traditional hotel, out in the quiet suburbs, just a short cab ride from the bustling city. Nice bar and good breakfast, did not get to have dinner. Staff are the friendliest one could hope for. Rooms a bit small but go for ground floor for better water pressure. There are some good golf clubs in the same area that we did not have a chance to play, but next time we will.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatLakesroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel ! My daughter had her Wedding here in May 2013 and we could not fault the Hotel facilities & Wedding function . We did book a lot of rooms but we were not the only guests but the Weekend felt like a House Party and the staff could not have done anymore to make everyone welcome. From the Friday morning to the Sunday morning and from the pre Wedding meal in the Restaurant right through to the last breakfast we had a ball . 5 star food, welcome & hospitality , rooms , lounges, restaurant and the Suite for the Wedding Breakfast . Excellent thank you all so much !

Room Tip: 1st floor wonderful view of Edinburgh & golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As soon as we checked in everyone we encountered were excellent. So attentive and helpful.

We were helped to our room with our luggage, which was a bonus because we were in 310 for the week and its up so many stairs! The room was small and decor outdated but met our needs, everything was very clean. We had a great view of the area. Unfortunately the shower was awful, no pressure at all.

Our first night was quiet, there is some road noise but its minimal. The bed was (and is, we check out tomorrow) so hard. I have developed back pain throughout the week.

The public areas have recently been upgraded, hopefully they will invest in the rooms soon. The bar is lovely but usual hotel prices ruled out too many drinks. We didn't try breakfast so cannot comment, we prefer local cafes in town.

The location is excellent, the bus is on the main road at the bottom of some steps, and arrives pretty much every 5mins and it only takes 15mins to get into town.

Overall fantastic. Although if staying longer in the future I would worry about the shower and bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodyuk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This would have to be one of the better hotels we have stayed in on our trip. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the service was 100% and although it could have been a little closer to the centre of the city, taxis were readily available. The only criticism is the lack of an elevator/lift

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenandChristravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was staying in Edinburgh for 1 evening and my usual preference of hotel was unavailable, so thought I would give this location a try. Easy to access from the airport, just a 15 minute drive, and in a very pretty area on the outskirts of the city centre with stunning views across the city.

The location has adequate free parking, but I would suggest getting there early. There are steps aplenty and I don't think there is a lift by accessability might be a concern if you have difficulty with stairs. My room was a little dated in its decor, but that's not something I usually have an issue with, and with suitable amenities such as tea & coffee making, TV, trouser press etc. The bathroom was tiny, with just a shower and a poor quality and rather frayed looking shower curtain.

The restaurant is somewhere to be avoided. Overpriced, poorly cooked food, and inattentive staff who appeared to be stressed with minimal diners made for a poor experience; head for the bistro next door instead.

A dreadful nights sleep, with a feeling that my bed wasn't 'quite right' were confirmed when checking the mattress in the morning and finding it to be broken. Mentioning this at reception merited an apology, but nothing in the way of recompense which was disappointing.

Overall, for £81 B&B I found this to be a poor experience and not a location I will be returning to

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will have a stunning view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Group_Director, -- at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Braid Hills Hotel. I regret that your stay was not more enjoyable. As you noted, we do have good parking provision within the grounds of the hotel but in very busy periods this does get quite full, however, there is ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel so our guests are always able to find a parking place .

Speciality Hotel Group acquired this hotel in the latter part of 2012 and we have already embarked on the refurbishment of the property which will involve installing a lift once we have obtained the necessary consents. We do, however, always have porters available to assist our guests with their luggage.

I'm extremely sorry that the shower curtain was frayed and the mattress was broken. I understand you reported this to our front desk and I can assure it has now been rectified. As part of our refurbishment programme all of our rooms are being redecorated and upgraded.

With regard to the food and service in the restaurant, having received good reviews recently for our newly launched menu, I'm surprised that you felt the food was poorly cooked and the service was lacking. This has been reported to our Food and Beverage Team.

I do hope that we can encourage you to visit us again where I'm sure we can deliver the standards that we strive to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $77 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing