We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel was a little dated but extremely comfortable. An enjoyable 40 minutes walk to the centre of Edinburgh passing several characterful pubs and independant coffee shops. If walking is not your thing there is a bus stop right outside with a a regular service to the centre. Arguably a little lacking in terms of the trappings of more modern hotels, what really made our stay here so enjoyable were the staff. Their warmth, humour and friendliness really are a credit to Braids Hill and we would definatley stay there again. The bedroom overall are perhaps looking tired, but they were roomy, comfortable and more than adequate for our short stay. There is a free car park. Although we only had breakfast in the hotel, a self service hot and cold buffet, that set us up perfectly for the long drive home. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Friendly front desk staff, very spacious rooms. Big bath tubs. There is a ceramic teapot in each room for a brew. Haven't seen many of those in a hotel these days. Wifi might have been on the slow side but overall it was a good experience. Also a bit out of town but it was close to where I needed to be for an early meeting so it was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gamfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff and breakfast make this hotel outstanding!

Rooms are a bit variable (we've stayed a couple of times) but this is outweighed by easy access to buses to central Edinburgh - you don't want to go there by car! Which reminds me that the car park at the hotel is free and has only once let us down.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great stay - again - despite the change in ownership...staff very friendly and helpful. Could not fault the cleanliness or decor of the room (104 if you're interested...).
Breakfast was superb - the haggis was lovely, the poached haddock delicious and not chemically coloured, the eggs fresh and delicious. The location for the city centre may not be perfect, but suited us for visiting family in Morningside. Parking not a problem. Would definitly recommend and will use again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMcK1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was bridesmaid at a friends wedding at the hotel and was booked into a double room for 2 nights. On arrival the receptionist was both friendly and helpful and a porter carried our bags to the room. The room itself was supposed to be a double room and despite having a double bed was more like a cupboard. Coupled with that was the very small bathroom, no bath, the shower cubicle was so small you could not turnaround without hurting yourself. Also there was a large step down from the cubicle to the main floor with no banister to help. The rooms for 2 of the other bridesmaids were much larger and had baths for the same price paid.
There was no cash machine on site and we were not able to use card at the bar, meaning either charging to the room or walking to a garage in wedding attire which was not practical.
I also noticed that one barman charged a lot more for a long vodka than the other barman, charging for double measure of vodka and full price lemonade and full price lime dash too, when not asking for a double. Not enough staff on the bars either.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bath as this means you will not get our room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We held our wedding in this beautiful hotel and right from our first enquiry for the venue, we were treated as VIPs.

All the staff were fabulous, especially Kristina who spent many hours with us to make sure all the minute details were catered for. The receptionist an Irish Lady, whose name escapes me (apologies) was brilliant. She bent over backwards and did lots of juggling to ensure that our children and family were all kept together. Again, many thanks.

The venue was perfect for our humanist wedding, the meal was absolutely superb and the food looked amazing... thanks to the chef and all the staff involved. You all worked so hard to ensure our day was perfect.

We certainly felt like celebrities and were treated as such.

Thanks again Braid Hills, we certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was superb...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janicewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We held our wedding at the Braid Hills in November 2012 and it couldn't have gone better. The support from the hotel wedding organiser (Kristina) during the preparations and her team on the day was superb - everything was exactly as we wanted it.
Very comfortable rooms. Old fashioned but we like it that way!! Food was excellent and all our guests enjoyed the evening. The function suite was just the right size and the stage was ideal for the top table during the meal and then the band at night.
The venue itself is set in a nice part of Edinburgh with spectacular views and no problem parking.
Thanks again to the Braid Hills for making our day special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,549 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $96 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing