We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with lovely views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just a couple of miles from the city centre on the south side. We had a huge room with bay windows and fantastic views of hills and overlooking a park. Very quiet. Stayed 4 nights. Bottled water, shortbread and tea, milk etc provided everyday. We had room only but it was excellent value. We ate in the bistro 3 times because choice of food, quality and cost was excellent. We will stay again. Got best deal by booking direct with hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trgarrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

Possibly the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel - great room, supportive pillows, nice and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebashstreetkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We were advised by a friend that the B H was "faded grandure" .Well if you Mean an old building kept in good repair by the present owners idealy situated then ..Ok
If you Mean a business that treats is custoMers as huMan beings ..Ok

we had a couple of glitches BUT the way that staff dealt with the was excellent and the quality of ALL staff we encountered was great ... the "chain"hotels should sent their staff there to stay a night ... they Might learn soMething

With free parking (not Many have this in Edinburgh) and a price package this was our best "break" for soMe tiMe ... as Arnie says .... we WILL be back

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowserd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Have stayed a few times at this hotel over the past few months and have always found it to be an excellent hotel. At check in there is always someone called to help with luggage as there is no lift but that is to be expected, its an old building. Rooms have free wifi which is now the first thing I check out when on business. Also good desk area for working at. There are bottles of water provided along with the usual tea, coffee, biscuits etc. I have never used the restaurant for evening meals as I prefer to eat light in the evening and the Bistro serves freshly cooked meals at a very good price. The staff in the bistro are exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem.
The hotel does sit in its own grounds which means your car is safe off the main road.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hotel has a very friendly, relaxing atmosphere. Although it is not in central Edinburgh, it is easy to get to the centre from here. The food is excellent and the staff were all incredibly accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel from 18th-20th the hotel is very old fashioned for my taste and I would say more for the 40s and over. I am 24 and my partner is 30. Never the less the hotel was lovely and clean and the staff cldnt if helped u more. Not to bad a location either. 10 mins in a taxi to georges street. We were DBB the food was beautiful cldnt fault it. Breakfast great and dinner excellent. The only bad thing I would say is tht the view from our room 217 was terrible. We looked on to a garden shed and tht was about it. Room was very small also. Wld go bk if gt the same deal.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I have travelled to Edinburgh this weekend and got a very good rate to stay there at this hotel. i booked online and paid in advance. It was very good to do so as I arrived one day later than the scheduled because my flight was cancelled due to the bad weather.
If you go to the hotel from the airport you have two choices: either take a taxi that costs around 22 pounds or catch two buses , one to the city center (catch the city express it is faster) and the 11 or the 15 to the hotel. The latter choice is longer but is way cheaper.
it is a nice hotel, a good bargain fo the price we paid, I mean do not expect anything grand here. It is clean and the staff is efficient and helpful. some of the things are in need of renovation and the bathroom is very small but overall it is a good place to stay.
Also the breakfast quality was a good surprise as you have a nice selection of hot plates along with the option of continental breakfast.
If you liked the review and go there please say hello to Cristina on the reception from Portugal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,401 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $82 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing