We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$155
$129
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$174
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$264
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$143
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$308
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$258
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$802
$636
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
892
428
158
61
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
428
158
61
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsushers restaurantexperience showerkingdom suitehandpicked hotelsexecutive roombrasserie restaurantgarden suitesteam roomclose to the airportpark and ridelovely hotelrelaxing breakfresh milkleisure facilitiesbirthday treatfollowing morningan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Norton House Hotel and Spa, Edinburgh. The room was excellent, loved the TV in the bath and the fluffy cat that you put outside if you don't want to be disturbed. The spa & pool area was wonderful and not too busy, the facial was superb if a little pricey. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was absolutely fantastic - something special. The only things that we could think of to make it better would be having some real ales available at the bar - the lager and beer choice was not extensive. Also the gluten free bread was not great but these are minor points. All in all a great place to stay for a special break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555SueWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted that you had a great weekend. I was pleased to read that you found the room excellent and that you enjoyed your time in the Pool, Spa and Restaurant and that you found the food to be fantastic. I have passed your comments to the chef regarding the Gluten free bread and take on board your comments regarding beer offerings, I do appreciate your constructive comments; it is only with points such as these that I can continue to improve the hotel’s standards. I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future


Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

choose this hotel due to wanting a spa break and when we look at the price for a room we were surpised that it was affordable! the spa area was very well mantained and tidy! the staff there were fanastic and so helpfull! really enjoyed the use of spa gown and free slippers!
When we check-in we were offered an upgraade for an reduced price but as we were only staying one night we didnt see the point! The room was very modern and couldnt fault anything in the room!
We had a deal that included dinner and breakfast, like most fancy hotel we were expecting small portions but we were surpised and full to get a three-course dinner that we struggle to eat all! Portions were very large and would recommend having dinner at the restaurant!
Bed was soo comfortable and massive!

STAFF - were unbelieveably helpfull! from the bar staff in the spa, reception and bar/restaurant staff couldn't have done anything more to ensure that we were enjoying our break! The hotel was very tidy and clean and plates/glasses were cleared up quickly!

can't wait to go back in a few months!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyballybee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for posting such a positive review following your stay at Norton House. I am delighted that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Your comments regarding the team are much appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back in a couple of months.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed one night on Feb 2. Excellent classic room, if a little too warm. Staff very helpful and pleasant. We were disappointed eating in Brasserie 2. It was too big, slightly soulless, lighting too bright and not very romantic! And it was cold! (The bar area was much warmer). The food though was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley_B42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at our hotel, I was pleased that you liked your room and that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant, however I take on board your comments regarding the brassiere and I apologise that the temperature was not to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel remains excellent. Superficially Spa looks good. Welcoming staff and well appointed reception and bar area. Good range of facilities but some attention needed to the fabric and cleanliness of the changing rooms to maintain the standard set by the hotel. During recent visit noticed some fittings on the shower doors missing. The costume spinners need a bit of a clean out to remove body hair. More regular swilling of shower area would be handy and might reduce the slight drain smell. Noticed a lot of standing water at poolside in and around the bench area which suggests no run off to drains and the white grouting of the tiled steps into the pool is now a little black. Sort this out and the facilities would be excellent also.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank J786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following you stay on business in January, I was happy that you rated the hotel as excellent but I was sorry to read about the maintenance issues that you experienced in our club. I have spoken to both the Club Manager and Maintenance Manager to address the issues you highlighted. I do appreciate your constructive comments; it is only with comments such as these that we can improve the hotels standards.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed overnight on a business trip with meeting in the hotel the next day.
Have to say that everything about the hotel was great. Food was fantastic. Service prompt and friendly. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Proper milk in a fridge in the room was a nice touch as was the turn down service. Meeting room was large and well equipped and the lunch provided for 20 people was lovely - not your normal sandwiches and fruit.
Great all around and not overly expensive given the location.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank ScottyMclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you very much for posting a review following you recent business trip. I was pleased to read that you were impressed with your room and that you liked the little touches such as the fresh milk and the turn down service we provide. Thank you again for your most positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews