We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$219
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$174
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$263
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$143
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$192
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$307
$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$635
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
892
428
158
61
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
428
158
61
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsushers restaurantexperience showerkingdom suitehandpicked hotelsexecutive roombrasserie restaurantgarden suitesteam roomclose to the airportpark and ridelovely hotelrelaxing breakfresh milkleisure facilitiesbirthday treatfollowing morningan overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked at the last minute and received an extremely warm welcome from every member of staff. As our flight arrival meant we missed the first course, we were nonetheless ushered cheerfully into the Hogmanay Dinner and were served chilled champagne and fabulous food, by friendly, attentive staff. Our room was clean and spacious, the bedding soft and luxurious. We couldn't fault the whole experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your last minute New Year’s break with us. I was delighted that we were able to squeeze a table into the ballroom for you at such a late stage and I am very happy that you enjoyed yourself so much. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House for another New Year in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just had a three day break over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it . Stopped in a executive room in the room in the new part of the hotel only downside to the room was being confronted by a car park when you opened the door just felt it lacked privacy. The room it self was a high standard finish and clean , it had everything you needed from fridge, safe , TV with sports channels , iron , DVD player and TV in the bathroom. The don't disturb sign was a cat which you found in the room which was quite a funny view in the morning on the way for breakfast with all these cats sitting outside the doors .The staff where very helpful and could not do enough for you with the hotel finished in the same high standards as the rooms . The hotel is located near the airport so slight aircraft noise but was not to much to spoil the stay, might get more in the summer. Location is also five minutes from a park and ride in to Edinburgh easiest way to get in to the centre free to park and 1.40 per person adults half price children each way drops you off on princess street the main street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiganPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review of your Christmas visit to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself so much during your stay with us. It is correct that you room overlooked the car park, as do the majority of our Executive rooms, but we have invested a lot of time and money to ensure that there is plenty of landscaping around the car park. Our “Do not disturb” cat, Maisie, has proved very popular with our guests and a lot of our younger guests like to take one of her brothers or sisters home as a souvenir.

Kind regards

R MacKay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were upgraded on entry to a fabulous suite called the 'Kingdom Suite' which was the largest room I have ever stayed in...absolutely stunning & supremely comfortable super size bed, panoramic balcony with garden views, wonderful selection of coffees, teas, gobsmackingly gorgeous bathroom with the most luxurious roll top bath I have ever seen complete with fluffy towels and bathrobes and slippers and complimentary glossies. We ordered a celebratory cream tea in the room which was absolutely exquisite and five star standard.

The spa and swimming pool was gorgeous and empty when we stayed - so we felt thoroughly spoilt through and through. This was incredible. 100% five star experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleur2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read how much you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hubby & I treated ourselves to one night and were bowled over by this lovely hotel! The staff were friendly and charming from the moment we arrived; everything was clean, tidy and organised to a superb standard. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere - calm, luxurious and quiet opulence.All the food was lovely and no detail missed. Thoroughly recommended if you want to feel special, pampered and relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

I am very grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. It was fantastic to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that you found all the staff friendly and charming. The hotel does have a lovely atmosphere especially at this time of year and I thank you for recommending it to others. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

lovely hotel wish we could have stayed longer! room was lovely, modern but comfortable, absolutely loved the heated floor in the bathroom!! dinner in the brasserie was fantastic, service was incredible, breakfast was excellent, cant express how impressed I am! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review of our hotel. It is great to read that you found the service and food in the brasserie incredible and that you enjoyed breakfast and your room so much. The heated floors in our executive bathrooms are excellent especially during cold winter months and I am delighted that you loved them. It is also very pleasing to know that you cannot wait to return, and I do look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind regards

Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews