We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #41 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Suite!”
Reviewed December 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon as we had to catch an early flight from Edinburgh Airport.

We were in the Edinburgh Suite in the new extension of the hotel and it was absolutely first class. The room was huge and immaculately furnished. Of all the luxury hotels we stayed in on our honeymoon, my wife liked the room here the most.

The service was also great while we were there. I'd reccommend this hotel as a luxurious way to spend a quiet weekend or catch up in the new spa, or to stay over near Edinburgh Airport.

  • Liked — Great room, great service
  • Disliked — Be aware that this hotel is on the outskirts of Edinburgh
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayGee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    389
    138
    53
    21
See reviews for
234
646
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

One word... stunning. The rooms are modern, comfortable and sparkling clean. Loved the TV in the bathroom! The staff are all super friendly. The hotel is next door to the airport but you'd think you were a million miles away in the country. Would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The TV in the bathroom..... totally worth it!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We recently stayed at Norton House for a weekend break, and had a great time! It is around 20 minutes from Waverley Station so the best way of getting there is by the X48 bus from Waverley Bridge which only costs £1.00 (much cheaper than a taxi!). One tip is to ask the bus driver to drop you off at the 2nd exit to the hotel (just past Ratho Station) rather than getting off at the official hotel sign on the main road. Its only a 2-3 minute walk.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and on the first evening we dined in the Brasserie restaurant. The food was excellent and the pannecotta is highly recommended!

The only grumble was that the shower screen did not have a seal at the bottom so the bathroom tended to get a bit wet to say the least.

Overall, a really nice stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Lovely building, really friendly staff, great food!
  • Disliked — Leaky shower!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairehutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

Really friendly Scottish Welcome!!!

Loved the rooms the food was great and the service matched.

The bar is nice and cosy with a good whiskey selection as you would expect!!

Will stay again if in the area

  • Liked — The Welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RonMarksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

I was surprised to find that the smaller details one might expect from a 4* hotel were sadly lacking i.e. only one towel and dressing gown for us to share and old cobwebs on the windows. Having mastered the TV controls it was disappointing to find only 4 watchable terrestrial channels and Sky Sports (in the days of FreeView and given that the Plasma is the key feature in the room), it was more disappointing to find the video we borrowed was unreadable in the DVD player provided. The following morning, having ordered a newspaper the previous evening it was disappointing to be delivered the wrong paper (News of the World in lieu of the Sunday Times)and without any offer to rectify the situation. Having attempted to give feedback, no mechanism is available on either in the room or on the website - so I decided to leave it publicly where it might be found.

In order to try to keep the balance, the room was exactly as described (if not more than a little warm)and I was kept well informed - 2 letters on arrival at reception wishing me a pleasant stay and a further letter delivered pre-dinner wishing me a pleasant night. The setting is simply beautiful and we enjoyed a hearty Scottish breakfast before setting off.

The saving grace - the Ushers Restaurant - Fine dining at it's best. It must be amongst the best food I have sampled across the globe and with exceptional service - truly unhurried and exquisite.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeInRhodesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Well we were to meet some people at the airport and then go back with them to Norton Hotel. There was an airport closure and we were getting no information at the airport so we called the hotel and the girl was very helpful. Eventually we got evacuated from the airport area and went to the hotel where we met the girl who had helped us on the phone. How guilty were we. She seemed incredibly busy with the phones going and people asking for news all the time but she managed to help everyone with a friendly smile.

She directed us through to the bar where we had a great afternoon tea. Again the service in bar was great. The receptionist updated us with information and eventually our friends got away from the airport and met us. We have all decided we must go back and stay sometime at the Norton Hotel. It seems a lovely hotel and many thanks to the wonderful receptionist Paula for her patience.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank DerekMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2007

The hotel was placed far away from town with only a few rooms. The building is like an old mansion made of stone. Excellent service, excellent rooms with flat scree 42" TV and interactive video!!! Very warm and comfortable rooms. My wife loved our weekend over there in the peace and quiet and away from the busy Edinburgh!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sixpak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing