We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Come Ben the Hoose

Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile) Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile)
Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Master bedroom, a lovely sunny room with twin beds builtin wardrobes and coathangers
Lounge features two chairs, plus a sofa and Freeview TV plus DVD
Dinning table folded away when not in use.
Light sunny lounge with book case and information leaflets
View as come in the front door, stairs to the 2 bedrooms
Bright Galley kitchen
Sky Light single bedroom with a built in wardrobe and childrens games .
Optional fold-up bed is available, or  travel cot
Shower room with wash hand basin and WC.  Shelving for toiletries
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle
One of the many Street Performers in the Edinburgh during the Festival in August
Dunbar Harbour, East Lothian is also nearby and worth a visit
My grandson and myself sledging in the local park
Portobello beach looking towards Musselburgh with its harbour, shops and coastal walk way
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle with spectators at the Military Tatoo on the castle espanade
Come Ben the Hoose, come in the house your welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LidiaK24
Perm, Russia
1 review
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Nice and cosy apartment, close to the bus stops, 15min from the center, from the beach, which is very convenient, of course. Ann was absolutely the most welcoming and hospitable hostess, ready to help and advice at any moment! If I come to Edinburgh again, i will stay at this house with great pleasure again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Come Ben the House and my scones. You managed to see lots of Edinburgh and beyond while you were here. Haste ye back. Best wishes for 2014 to you all. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melpamene
prague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another piece of home in Caledonia”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were actually sick of the hostels so me and my two ladies booked the Come Ben the Hoose house. And honestly, it was greatest idea ever! Ann is such a lovely lady, living next door. The comunication via emails was great, she described us how to get to her from Edinburgh airport. When we arrived she showed us the house and also made for us some grocery shopiing and baked homemade scones!! It was amazing suprise (and the scones were delicious!). You can also left home all towels, shower gels, shampoos and many others - Ann has almost everything for you!
The house is small, but perfectly clean cosy and warm. It has two bedrooms - one with single bed, second with king size bet. It is perfect for three people or couple with two kids. There is also shower, small kitchen with all needs like kettle, microwave etc. and living room with TV. You can also relax or have a cigarette in the little lovely garden.
Ben the Hoose is about 15 minutes to go by bus from the very centre (princes street or waverly bridge). There are also going night buses so no worries. 2 minutes walk is a little Spar to buy some groceries. About 10 minutes to walk there is also Tesco and very good but not expensive restaurant. and around less then half hour you can walk to Portobello beach.
For the price 50gbp per night, Ben the Hoose is a little piece of paradise. Thank you Ann to being such a wonderful woman and for sharing your house with us. It was really pleasure and we are definitely coming again!

Tha mi toilichte do choinneachadh :) Brigita

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just perfect. All of it.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
It was a joy having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose, and finding out about all the places you visited. I hope you will make a return visit again soon. Ann
Thank you for spending the time to write your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmansell3
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Perfect Home for Two-Week Holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and two daughters stayed at Come Ben the Hoose for two weeks and had an absolutely wonderful time. Ann was incredibly gracious in hosting us, and we would highly recommend her for your future stay in Edinburgh. The flat was very well furnished, including the kitchen, bath, bedrooms, and other amenities. She even had some food in the fridge for us when we arrived! The flat is located only a five-minute walk from a bus line which goes into the city centre, and is a 15-20 minute walk to Portobello beach. While small, it is very efficient in its use of space, and the gardens/patio/seating area in front and back are wonderful when weather is nice. I believe it's one of the best values for the price you'll find, especially if you appreciate having flexibility with your meals and other arrangements as we do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2013
So please that Come Ben the hoose made your holiday in Edinburgh extra special you and your family. Thank for your lovely review.Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepitfam...
Vancouver Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendly, quiet, safe!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I was attracted to the name- Come Ben The Hoose on tripadvisor, and I'm glad it caught my eye. After reading all the reviews our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. Ann was a wonderful host and we really appreciated her plate of freshly baked scones and other treats upon our arrival. Our only concern was with that the "clothes dryer" turned out to be a clothesline outside. We spent 8 nights at Come Ben The Hoose and felt like we were experiencing the real Scotland. We bought bus passes and rode into the city to explore every day. On our way home we would stop off at Morrison's for groceries and then enjoy the quiet evening. Also, there was a little fox in the neighbourhood that we watched for every night! This holiday rental is in a friendly, quiet, safe neighbourhood close to the bus stop, which makes it a wonderful location. Thank you so much, Ann, for your kindness and thoughtfulness. We hope to be back for a visit again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2013
Thank you for you lovely reveiw. It was a pleasure having you stay at Come Ben the hoose.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All you need and more”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Thanks to our host Ann this family holiday has been the best of all. We felt cared for from the moment of the booking and during our stay. Ann even organised a security fence for our little girl, a box of toys and a baby cot. The house was cosy and everything was in it, even a washing maschine. A little complete house with everything you need. The location was perfect for us with a park and a little lake nearby and the beach in walking distance. Its a quite area but theres no problem to get to the city centre of Edinburgh with all the busses leaving. I would definitly recommend this property to family and friends. I am so glad I booked this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host's kindness and willingnes to share information
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw. It was lovely having you and your family staying at Come Ben the Hoose, and being our first guests from Iceland. Holyrood Park awaits your return.
Best wishes to you all, come back soon. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_luny
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is a place to return to”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Many many thanks to our clever, kind, talented and hospitable hosts for Come Ben the Hoose! The house is very convenient and comfortable, and it is so nice to feel that anything you might need is at hand and working! We had a wonderful holiday, despite unusually cold and snowy weather this spring. We will return to this cottage and we will recommend it to our friends.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter K
Monmouth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adoption into a Scottish family”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at this lovely cottage was like being adopted by the owners that live next door. We were welcomed by the misses so warmly and graciously. The kitchen had been supplied with all the basic needs and also a bottle of wine and beer. There was also a variety of food stuffs waiting for us. All throughout. Our two week stay the McDonalds were more than helpful with any questions regarding transportation and places to go. This was a highlight of our two months in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to public transportation and friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: Wifi signal was a little weak but that was of no concern overall.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2013
It was lovely having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose. I am please that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$77
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing