We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #13 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful place to stay with hosts that made us feel at home and with lots of helpful suggestions on what to visit and where to have dinner nearby. Lots of choices for breakfast, all well prepared. A real plus is location, on a quiet street but near everything - so many Edinburgh B&Bs are on busy, noisy streets. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    67
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
102
237
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Brilliant B&B situated handily close to where I was officiating a National League Hockey match on the Sunday.

The weather forecast was horrid for the weekend but this place certainly lightened my mood! A warm welcome and shown to a spacious double room (I'm 6ft 5!) and a nice en suite too!!

Enjoyed a coffee and some hockey chat with the owners and had a good nights sleep! Next day the breakfast was very tasty with good quality bacon, egg, sausage and of course Haggis!!

Free Wifi which allowed me to keep an eye on sports of course!!

I would definitely recommend this place to any of my friends and have no doubt I'll stay again IF AVAILABLE when I am down in Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I enjoyed a 4 night stay and would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Edinburgh. My room was very comfortable with a nice sized bathroom. Breakfast was delicious! And the boxed breakfast they provided on the day I took an early tour was a nice touch. The location was a little bit off the Royal Mile but I didn't mind that at all. Most of the time, I walked (took about 20 minutes, nice opportunity to work off the breakfasts). But I did take the bus a few times and only had to wait 5 minutes each time. They provide a hand drawn map of surrounding restaurants/pubs which was really helpful. And Holyrood Park was close which I loved. Since I was travelling alone, I was a little worried about staying in a less populated area. But the neighborhood felt very safe. You can tell that Lizzie and Gary really put a lot of heart into what they do and truly want their guests to get the most out of their visit. I hope I have the opportunity to return!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Lizzie & Gary run a lovely place to stay. They were so helpful in helping us find our bearings in Edinburgh. The room was lovely- probably the fanciest we'd stayed at on our trip around Britain. There is a small patio out front and a nice breakfast room where they serve a wide variety of breakfast dishes. Little touches like take away breakfasts, a hand drawn map, and a packet of shortbread in the room were the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MostlyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You need to reserve your room early as this B&B fills up fast. We managed to get the last room available which unfortunately didn't have an en suite. Our bathroom was located a few steps from our bedroom but we were the only ones who could use it as it was locked all the time. It's kind of a pain to have to get up in the middle of the night, put on a bathroom and slippers, grab the key, walk outside your room and unlock the bathroom just to use the facilities. Also a pain in the morning. You hope that you don't run into anyone on your way to the bathroom. The room was tiny too and the beds were smaller than a twin. We were careful not to roll over in the bed for fear of falling off. There was barely any room to put our luggage but there was a wardrobe, desk with coffee maker, tea, coffee, etc. That being said the owners couldn't be nicer. They provide you with a map of nearby restaurants and shops and are very helpful in helping you figure out how to get to where you want to go. The breakfasts were good too. Every day the menu changes and you check off what you want on a checklist and turn it in the night before. Of course there's no elevator and the stairs can be a bit narrow, but that's the way things are in the UK. The bus stop was only a block or 2 away and the buses take you right into town. Kingsway is located in an area where there are lots of B&B's. There are several right in a row on each nearby street. The best thing about Kingsway are the owners and the breakfasts! Location is good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasKalBrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed with Lizzie and Gary three nights and were completely satisfied. They gave wonderful advice on everything from restaurants to bus service, which helped make our stay a success. The breakfasts were delicious & we enjoyed their "Daily Specials." Our room was bright, clean and comfortable and the bathroom sparkled. The location of this B&B was quite convenient, both to restaurants and to downtown Edinburgh. Overall we had a delightful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is our second stay at Kingsway guest house and we have rebooked for next year. Rooms are very clean and spacious and breakfast is really something to look forward to with a daily special as well as choice of cereals, toast and full scottish. Location-wise it is perfect for us as we visit Edinburgh in August for the fringe festival. It is approximately a 20 minute walk to the centre however has a very good bus route if you don't want to walk or it's raining. Guest house is located in a quiet residential area off the main road so you don't hear any traffic. Lizzie and Gary are very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdiFestival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#10 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Barony House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing