We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #12 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here with three friends and we all were very impressed with this place. We were greeted with a very warm welcome when we arrived, and both Gary and Lizzie were very friendly and helpful during our stay. They provided us with a map of the area locating good places to eat/drink, and busses into town etc. The guesthouse looks quite newly decorated inside, everything is clean and modern. Our family room was pretty and had comfy beds and complimentary tea and biscuits, and a clean, modern bathroom with complimentary shampoo. I forgot my toothbrush but they had an emergency stock for things like that so I was impressed!
Breakfast was lovely, there was juices and tea and coffee, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, chocolate slice, and you could choose from a pastry breakfast or a cooked scottish breakfast or the daily special. Everything was delicous (though I wasn't brave enough to try the haggis!)

The guesthouse is a little way from the centre of town, but not too far. There are lots of busses that go down the main road near the guesthouse, that would probably be around a 10 min ride (we took a taxi each time as there were 4 of us to split the cost).

All in all I highly recommend this place and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meegs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    70
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
109
250
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Kingsway for 10 days in May , could not have asked for a better experience. Gary and Lizzie were great hosts and very helpful in giving us tips for places to visit.Their breakfasts were delicious as well A great experience for our first time in Scotland . Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend And I stayed here for
Two nights in November. It is easily reached by foot or bus and is not far outside the centre of Edinburgh. It is set in a beautiful location, a lovely quiet street close to the bus stop and shops. Lizzy and Gary were wonderful hosts, you can see they take great pride in their guesthouse the rooms are modern and clean and they have anything you could possibly need, the breakfast menus is wondeful, and you chose your breakfast the night before, this includes a range of different cereal, pastry and a cooked breakfast including haggis and a daily special, which was lovely, we will definatly recommend the kingsway guest house to anyone visiting Edinburgh and will stay here again when we come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraandsimonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waschenbeuren, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our family spend 4 days end of october in Edinbourgh
The Kingsway Guesthouse was a very good place to stay, to walk to the pubs or restaurants or to go by bus to the city
Breakfest was great, Lizzy and Gary very friendly - so we enjoyed every breakfest

Going back to Scotland - we will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband & I just stayed at Kingsway Guest House for 2 nights & really enjoyed our stay. Our room was somewhat small but we didn't mind. Evidently we were the last to book a room, so we got the one room there that has an unattached bathroom. This wasn't too big of a deal. The bathroom was just a few steps out of our room. This guesthouse is located about a 20-25 min walk from Royal Mile sights & we really liked this location-well lit at night (as opposed to the dark streets around Royal Mile at night), very pretty,friendly-feeling neighborhood, and we really liked the restaurants & shops in this neighborhood.

The breakfast here was the best we had in Scotland, particularly because they offered a daily special. I loved their haddock patty, with egg & hollandaise sauce I had one morning.

Overall, we would stay here again if we go back to Edinburgh.

Cost of room when we stayed (end of October 2012) was 65 pounds/night ($109/night USD)

Room Tip: Ask for room with adjoining bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Shirley from Seattle, U.S.
I have never written a review when I have stayed at a B & B before. This is the most organized, and convenient place I have stayed. The bus routes to the main town area were on the owners business card.
The buses were right around the corner. The food and the house was a totally excellent experience. A Rick Steves' recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visitied the Kingsway for three nights and we wished we could have stayed longer. Lizzie and Gary made us feel at home right from the start and they both providied us all the information we needed for our visit to Edinburgh. The Kingsway is easy to access if you are driving and they offer free off-street parking in the back. Our room was spacious and light and it was very quite. Terrific restaurants were within walking distance and the Royal Mile and other Edinburgh sites were an easy bus ride away with the bus stop about a block away. The breakfasts were terrific and varied each day. We had a wonderful stay and would make the Kingsway our home on our nedxt trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRGVancouver_WAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#55 of 392 in Edinburgh
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing