We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #12 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and both felt it was one of the best places we have ever stayed, with the loveliest hosts! It was easy to find with a sat nav and there is free private parking behind the guesthouse. When we arrived we were given a map of local amenities including pub and restaurant recommendations - this was really helpful as the B&B is about a 20 min brisk walk into the city centre and so after a day of sightseeing it was great to have some ideas for where to go to eat/drink that weren't too far (Hewat's, Il Positano, Metropole & Reverie all recommended). There are regular buses from around the corner though if you want to get into town, or a taxi was around £6. We had room 7 which was a large room on the top floor - it was spotlessly clean and very spacious, with comfy beds. The room was made up for us every day and I don't know if it was a coincidence or deliberately timed - but it always seemed to be done by the time we got back from breakfast, so we were never disturbed. The breakfasts were great - you fill in your breakfast forms the night before, ticking which items you'd like. There was plenty of choice - full Scottish breakfast, a pastry option, and a 'daily special' which included things like waffles, pancakes, bagels (my boyfriend tried the waffles and the pancakes, highly recommended!) - and there was plenty of cereal, juice, fruit and flapjacks available each day to help yourself to. The breakfasts were all freshly cooked, piping hot and delicious - kept us filled up until tea time each day! Lizzie & Gary were the perfect hosts, both so friendly, chatty, and happy to help out - we got some great suggestions of places to visit while we were there which we were grateful for. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting Edinburgh and we will definitely be staying here again next time we visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    69
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
243
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had stayed here for a surprise birthday for myself in Edinburgh arranged by my boyfriend. Only a short taxi journey from the airport, or you can get the airlink bus (£3.50 per person) which will drop you to waverley station, takes around 30mins, and then another bus journey which will drop you literally 2mins from the B&B.

Kingsway guest house is in a great location, a little outside the main centre, which we preferred, its around 25min walking journey. Lizzie & Gary are great hosts, so helpful. We were a little unsure on what to do first and where to go, Lizzie provided us with a map and took the time to go through all the tourist attractions as well as highlighting other routes to take. And were so glad she did! She told us to take the route to the start of the Royal Mile by going through Holyrood Park, all I can say is AMAZING VIEWS! You must take a trip there, there are a few different routes you can take, but the views over the city are stunning.

We stayed in room 7, exceptionally clean and with all the necessities you would need for a short stay (we stayed for 2 nights) Huge and really comfortable bed, a large room. Breakfast is filling and delicious. They offer specials too along with the traditional hot/continental breakfast and haggis. We would definately return to Edinburgh, loved the city and the guest house. We will definately be coming back to stay at Kingsway and will reccomend.

They are truly deserving of their 4*

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roccoco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Kingsway Guest House is welcoming and the hosts are warm and kind. The rooms are big, bright and well appointed. The breakfast is delicious and hearty with many options for all diets. The haggis is not to be missed! We especially valued the "foodie" knowledge that Gary and Lizzie shared with us. Our enjoyment of Edinburgh was enhanced by fine dining at restaurants they recommended. We had a car, and appreciated the private car park. We opted to get around by bus and taxi to avoid driving and parking woes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RORVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Just spent a marvelous 4 days in Edinburgh at the Kingsway Guest House. Gary and Lizzie are the most perfect hosts; they were a delight to talk with.

The guest house is conveniently located near bus stops and restaurants but has a private car park if you wish to drive yourself. It was easy walking to/from Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile or Waverley Train Station. The house itself is a gorgeous Victorian townhouse with very tall ceilings, beautiful cornices and elegant wallpaper.

Breakfasts are perfectly cooked and they give you a selection of a full Scottish breakfast (fried/scramble/poached egg, potato pancake, sausage, grilled tomato, Scottish bacon, McSween haggis and toast), pastry breakfast or a daily special. You can delete anything you don't want from the Scottish breakfast. They post the next day's daily special breakfast on a chalkboard and just request you fill out forms near the door so they know what to plan. They are even willing to prepare take-away breakfasts if your plans call for an early departure.

The beds and linens are incredibly comfortable and the showers are luxuriant in the water pressure and hot water. Our room (#3 on the second floor) was quite spacious with 2 twin beds and a double bed. It had plenty of electrical sockets allowing us to recharge camera batteries, phones, iPads, etc. There was even a side table and chairs by the bay window complete with hot pot, cups and saucers and tea bags and instant coffee for anyone wanting a pick-me-up outside breakfast time.

Gary and Lizzie are ready to offer suggestions on activities and can arrange discount tickets for the Scottish Dinner Show at Prestonfield House. Go inside the house before or after the show -- it's gorgeous by itself and the show is spectacular. Lizzie called for our reservations and we had prime seats at the edge of the dance floor!

I will definitely try to stay here again any time I visit Edinburgh -- and I hope I will return soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Kingsway Guest House for 7 nights and it was absoutely fantastic. The rooms are spacious, clean and met all of our needs. The breakfast was delicious with options for special dishes or the traditional Scottish breakfast. They are located in a quiet neighborhood just a quick bus ride away from the Royal Mile. The best part of our experience was that the owners go out of their way to be helpful and supportive to their guests. They answered all of our questions before arriving and during our stay, gave us great touring tips and helped us in understanding how to navigate the city. I can not say enough positive things about Kingsway. We will definitely stay here again if we return. We travel all over the world and the KIngsway is one of the best run guest houses that we have vistied.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karkeys16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilledoed
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I booked for one night before exploring Scotland, but when we arrived, we booked for the days before returning back to Denmark. We were treated very nice and we never triede scttish breakfast with haggish like this. We will come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Kingsway House for 3 nights. We arrived early 11am and the room was ready for us. We stayed in room number 6 on the top level. The room was lovely and had a awesome en-suite shower room. The bed was extremely comfortable, easily the best of our trip. Breakfast is a true treat. There is a great choice between the full Scottish and the daily special options. The location of the B&B is just great as it is next to the main street which leads down town. On the morning we checked out we had to leave very early for our flight and the hosts packed a breakfast to take away with us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Prestonfield
#3 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,107 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 393 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
94DR
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#3 of 393 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Glenalmond House
#60 of 393 in Edinburgh
240 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 393 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing