We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient ... perfect!”
Review of Abcorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abcorn Guest House
Ranked #140 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent one quick night at this tidy B&B. Was first met by a charming hostess and led into a spacious room on the 1st floor with a queen and twin bed. The room was very clean and the bed perfectly comfortable ... all that we could ask for.
This B&B proved to be within walking distance of many fine restaurants and pubs, yet at the same time, it was just outside the city centre, enough to remain quiet during the evening.
The next morning we were served a fresh, Scottish breakfast and then we were on our way!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent three nights at the Abcorn guest house and found it to be a friendly, welcoming and comfortable place to stay. Our double room was spacious, but was quite noisy as it was at the front of the house. The breakfast was tasty and there was enough to set you up for the day. It's also in a good location with loads of buses into the city centre, or you can walk in. We did and it took about 25 mins to get to the Royal Mile.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pboropixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had to book a one night stay in Edinburgh, and chose the Abcorn Guest House. I had a great greeting from Jimmy and a shy grand-daughter. Room was a single, but surprisingly roomy. It was very clean, and well maintained. Bed was very comfy.
The Abcorn is a great base to stay, it was an easy stroll into town. There is a bus stop outside, with links to all central points.
Breakfast was a very good start to the day, a good selection of cerials, followed by toast and good quality bacon, sausage, and eggs. Scrumptious.
All staff were friendly, and made a nights stay a pleasure.
It's just a pity I was there for one night only.
Thank you to all at Abcorn.
Bob

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a fantastic find. We didn't have to use the car because there was an excellent bus service just outside the door. Ample car parking was available. Breakfast was plentiful and nicely presented. Comfortable beds and being in the back of the guest house lovely and quiet. Very clean. We would have liked the use of a lounge as we were with family members and had to sit and chat in our respective bedrooms at night. However would use again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quite as they over look private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14MEG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found our hostess, Maria, to be friendly, informative and helpful. Great location, with public transport at the door. Also the restaurant, The New Bell, just around the corner, a great place to eat. Our room was lovely, but a tiny ensuite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Edinburgh was a great experience. Maria, our host was extremely helpful and kind. The room was spotlessly clean and our towels were changed on a daily basis. Breakfast was very generous with eggs, tomatoes, bacon and sausages, together with toast and cereal. The guest house is in an ideal place, next to a bus stop that takes you right to the centre. Maria was exceptionally kind by keeping our luggage at the guest house after checking out since our flight was in the afternoon. She even booked the taxi for us. I recommend this guest house to anyone who wishes to spend some tranquil days in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RosetteMalta_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Came to Edinburgh for a Seminar, found the Abcorn great, Very Clean, nice and Quiet, Fantastic Breakfast.Great Location,and right on a Bus Route too, save on Parking Charges, I'll be Back. Great Value.Thank You.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leescottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,642 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abcorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abcorn Guest House

Address: 4 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $89 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abcorn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abcorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing