We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #35 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Could not fault this lovely guest house. We received a warm welcome from the owners even though we turned up without any prior booking. The ensuite rooms have everything you could require from tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, iron and ironing board etc. The continental breakfast was exceptional, what a selection!! The guest house is conveniently located, a 15 minute walk from the festival theatre, it would make a great base for exploring edinburgh, and is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spug57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thanks folks for the lovely review. please come back anytime and send your friends
susan & dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 303 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B with fantastic hosts and nice decor. My wife and I spent one night here in July 2013 with another couple that we are traveling with. We stayed upstairs in the double room (I can't remember the number). The only problem with the room was the heat. The room was very hot (due to no air-conditioning), but Edinburgh was going through a heatwave at the time. (It was nearly 32C the day we were there.) However, the hosts were fantastic. On the night that we stayed, two of us were planning on leaving early to attend The Open Championship. Consequently, we were going to miss breakfast. Before we went to bed in the evening, Susan knocked on our door and had made two breakfasts for us to take with us. They consisted of fruit, granola bars, pastries and boxed juices. It was fantastic and helped us so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeatherNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Sorry to take so long to respond. We just noticed we had not said thank you for a lovely review.
come back any time
best wishes
david & susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rated very highly by all members of our party. Susan and David, the owners, couldn't be more helpful and the breakfasts are to die for! Conveniently located for travel to the City centre and for local amenities, and easy to find from the main Edinburgh bypass. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Minto Rd can be busy, so ask for a room at the back (overlooking gardens) for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review and hopefully we will see you in the future. Have a great Christmas and New Year . Susan & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Myself and my travelling partner spent 3 nights at Sherwood Guest House at the end of October 2013 and we could not have been more pleased. The room was perfect, and in beautiful condition. Lovely ensuite and David was an absolute delight each morning. The breakfast was perfect and the house is right on a bus route that made it easy to travel in town. I would highly recommend this Guest House to anyone travelling to Edinburgh. Very please, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you guys. Look forward to your return Susan & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent three nights at Sherwood guest house in September 2013. Located within 15 minutes walking distance to the city centre/Royal mile and well connected by bus, this is a great place to stay and explore Edinburgh. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and had a feeling of warmth and coziness (not to mention the fragrance in the air), just what you need after an entire day of walking around the city,sometimes in the cold drizzle so typical of Scottish weather. Our hosts, Susan and David were extremely hospitable and polite. They even packed us breakfast and called a cab to get to the airport the morning we were leaving. The breakfast is very good and filling with a great variety of bread, cakes, cereals, fruits, juices, cheese and meat to choose from. Would certainly stay here again and recommend to family ad friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punitprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Come back anytime. We love guests like you. Susan & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights in "Sherwood guest house" which is a family business. Susan and David, the owners, were extremely friendly and polite and made our stay nice and warm. It is a clean, decent place to stay with nice decoration. The breakfast was really good! Fresh brewed coffee, fruits, variety of cheeses and bread. croissant... Almost everything someone needs for a good start before running around the city. I totally recommend it in friends and I would choose it again in my next visit in Edinburgh. Absolute value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xosejulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you, It is lovely when we have great guests like yourselves. Susan & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent four days at Sherwood Guest House in October and would certainly recommend it. Susan and David were very helpful indeed and went out of their way to find bus details, order a taxi and give us other details we needed to know as first time visitors to Edinburgh.
The room was large and was cleaned properly every day. Cost was moderate and we certainly felt we had value for our money.
Breakfast was very good.
We would stay there again if visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room in the hoose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voxviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you. You guys were a delight to have. Let us know if you ever plan to return Susan & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Auld Reekie Guest House
#51 of 394 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 394 in Edinburgh
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
377 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#27 of 394 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Address: 42 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $101 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing