We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
263
59
12
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
59
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast royal mile gorgeous city yogurt city centre bus stop a great place to stay small fridge within walking distance family room private bathroom enjoyed our stay very pleasant stay cold meats arthur's seat explore edinburgh home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 342 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a short city break to visit all the tourist attractions in Edinburgh. The b&b is around a 25 minute walk to the main attractions, however just outside is a bus stop with regular services. The greeting we received was warm and welcoming but not over baring. The room was quite small but everything you needed was in there. The drink and self service area in the bedroom had a fantastic selection with nice touches such as toffee's and biscuits. The only point to improve would possibly be modernising the bedroom - this is a personal taste point as the room was immaculately maintained. The breakfast was second to none with a fantastic selection. The croissants were the biggest I have seen. The hosts were again very tentive but not hovering. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this establishment. Thanks James & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review. Sorry for taking so long to respond but it has been hectic of late. Please come back anytime. Susan & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family of four as this was our third visit to Scotland mainly Edinburgh to attend to the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo to see our friends from Malta to take part in the tattoo.

Tha Wallace Pipes & Drums.

Sherwood Guest House and Excellent place to stay, friendly staff and very clean. Definetly to be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSTR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review. You folks were the lovliest guests to cater for. Dave & Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were in Edinburgh during the festival and the location was excellent. We are Orthodox Jews and also wanted to be close to the only synagogue - which this B&B is. The owners, Susan and David, were extremely accommodating to our needs in terms of providing us with something we could eat for breakfast; also with lighting candles and hiding our keys on Shabbos. The only drawback is that our room was very small and that the Guest House doesn't have a place where one can just sit and relax/read, which we missed very much on Shabbos. (The room is basically only big enough for the bed.) In terms of parking, there are only three spaces in front of the house so if you get back late, you have to find street parking around the corner and then be out by 8:30 to buy a ticket at the meter (make sure you have the right coins).

Sam B

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opabech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the Sherwood, which was highly recommended to us by a friend in Edinburgh. We find the premises elegant and well-maintained, and the rooms clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. The rooms and bathrooms are converted from Georgian rooms, so a triple like ours is a bit close but not crowded, and the bathrooms small but efficient, with all of the supplies one could want. The breakfast service is probably the best we've encountered in a guest house, whether one wants a cold cereal, a continental breakfast, or one of several hot choices offered from the kitchen. Hosts Susan and bare-foot David are present and helpful at all times, without hovering, and the house is conveniently located on a main bus line only a few minutes from the city centre. A great value if you're staying in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghsherwood, Owner at Sherwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you. it is nice to be appreciated. Susan nags me constantly to wear shoes but once an old hippie its difficult to change. come back anytime guys, we'd love to see you
dave & sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived late, but the host was there to warmly meet and greet us. Location of this B&B is great, just walking distance from city centre. Breakfast is an ample and continental style, so no hot dishes. Our room was clean (except for the bathroom fan) and adequately appointed, but somewhat cramped as a result of transforming a single room into a 3 person room with a bath. Our room had one very nice double bed and one less nice bed, where you could feel the springs coming through, but probably ok for a light child. Overall good, but perhaps a little pricey for the standard offered.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews