We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #39 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very friendly, clean and comfortable guest house. Room a bit narrow but contained everything you could need. Wonderful breakfast with fresh fruit salad and a good selection of meats, cheese and bread.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Sherwood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 297 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

we stayed there for one night and loved it so much!!
the owners are really nice & helpful. You feel as ease.
and the accomodation, furniture.. all perfect.
the room was not very big BUT very well organized. So many things where put it. The bed was really comfortable ( my husbd has backsour so it's important).
the whole place made us happy to come "home" after hours walking in the city.
thx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ny0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found this place in my Lonely Planet guide and I am glad I did.... We stayed at Sherwood Guest House during May 2008. Booking procedure was easy and Susan was very prompt with her email responses. They also give an option to call you, and if you supply them with your query, your telephone no. and an approximate time they can contact you.

We booked an ensuite family room (1 double 1 single & 1 sofa beds ) for 2 nights at a room rate of 75 gbp per night. Price included all taxes & a complementary breakfast which is served in guests' dining room between 08:00 and 09:00. Breakfast was really nice. Room was very comfortable, had all basic amenities, small refrigerator, microwave, electric kettle with tea, coffee and sugar for all day self service. Bathroom was compact but nice, fresh towels and all basic toiletries were available.

You can check in early to collect keys and leave baggage anytime after 09:00 but as checkout is 10:00 and they do not hurry or push outgoing guests too much, the room is generally ready until noon time or latest by 1330 hrs.

They have 6 rooms and 3 parking spaces which is on a 1st come basis. If you fail to get a parking space, you can ask for directions to free parking about 250mtrs from the guest house. We got the dedicated parking at Sherwood... In fact we parked our car for the 2 days we were there and preferred using the public transport which was very convenient and available right outside the guest house.

All in all a very nice play to stay, warm hosts and value for money. I would highly recommend this place and in fact a few of my friends from India did stay here on my recommendation and loved it too. Keep up the good job Susan and David!!!

Room Tip: Ensuite family room (1 double 1 single & 1 sofa beds). If you are with kid, this is spacious, on...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashimprabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved staying at the Sherwood Guest House. David and Susan are wonderful, caring hosts. Our family room was exactly as described. Breakfast was fantastic - the best that we had during our vacation in England and Scotland. On Easter morning, our children (8 and 10) were thrilled to find Easter chocolates for them on our breakfast table. We felt very welcomed here and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoreenB340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good location to visit the city. Bus stop in front of the guest house. David and Susan are so friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small but always tidy up, bathroom clean and well furnished. But the best thing was the breakfast...lovely...food at choice.
In this guest house you feel like at home!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank sara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The service was wonderful and our room and bathroom were so clean! Breakfast was so wonderful, great variety of hot and cold choices. The location was perfect. There is a laundry mat close by too. We walked to a local pub and had some delicious food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCharles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We met up with some friends in Edinburgh and we stayed at the Sherwood. Susan and Davey were great. So helpful and understanding. The rooms are small but have every facility you could ever want. The showers are amazing and the breakfast was spectacular. The guest house is just a mile from the city center and while it was cold and windy outside, inside was always lovely and warm. I promised the guys i would do this when i got back home but forgot. it was only when we were all talking of going back to Edinburgh that i remembered my promise to do a review. We'll be staying at the Sherwood when we come back in December 2013

Room Tip: Room 2 is not en-suite but has a private bathroom about 6 feet from the bedroom door
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Salisbury Hotel
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thrums Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh
#287 of 393 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southside Guest House
Southside Guest House
#53 of 393 in Edinburgh
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#38 of 393 in Edinburgh
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Address: 42 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 2BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $105 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing